We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, better than 4-star.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Residence in the Buda Castle

Save Saved
You added St. George Residence in the Buda Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
St. George Residence in the Buda Castle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortuna utca 4, Budapest H-1014, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 332 hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, better than 4-star.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A lovely hotel which is well situated for visiting the Buda part of Budapest. We liked the furniture and also in the smart and clean room (we had a silver suite), with plenty of draws & wardrobe space, and, unusually, lots of power sockets in useful locations for charging phones, cameras, etc. The small fridge was a good size: not tiny, and there was a good supply of crockery. The service by the staff was very good and helpful, advising us regarding taxis (we found Max Taxi to be very cheap) and spas: their recommendation of the St. Gellért Baths was very helpful and accurate. But there were some minor oddities: the supplied coffee was a "3-in-1" instant with coffee, creamer and sugar in one sachet, not useful if one doesn't take sugar! The tea was either fruit or Earl Grey, and no fresh milk nor creamer supplied, so black tea was the order of the day. There were more minor oddities too: the breakfast, though pleasant, wasn't up to the 5-star experiences I've had elsewhere, for example in Poland. The bar has not seating, so one has to sit in the breakfasting area of the restaurant. So I'd be hesitant to call this a 5-star hotel in terms of features, but a very good 4-star or 4.5 star.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25. The bedroom was curiously small, and I found the bed very uncomfortable (I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    60
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
129
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in January in a 'gold' suite. Rooms were lovely - extremely spacious and light, exceptionally clean, nicely furnished and decorated. All the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant was a little lacking in atmosphere (maybe as its so early in the season), but the quality of the food was good. Some very nice restaurants close by - 21 was great, and its sister restaurant Pierrott also looked like it was similarly good.

Room Tip: The gold suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was the highlight of our trip to Europe given we visited Budapest, Paris, and Barcelona.
We stayed in the silver suite. We were looking very hard at other hotels while in Budapest considering location, price, and conditions and this was the best decision we made. They didn't leave us thinking we could have found a better place. The rooms are huge and clean. Our trip was in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did not stay here but ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. However, we believe we were overcharged. We tried to put the charge on our credit card but they wouldn't accept a credit card even though they did the previous evening when we just got something to drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeResidence, Restaurant Manager at St. George Residence in the Buda Castle, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear F. Linda,

I am very sorry to read your complaint letter and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.
This post on the Tripadvisor was a surprise for me, because usually our guest leaves our restaurant satisfied and the other comments justify this statement too.
The guests are satisfied with the quality of the food and the service in our restaurant.
But this time we got this complaint from you, about the payment with credit card and we are very sad about it.
Just let me inform you about that we have had problems several times with the terminal in the period of October till December. The technique makes sometimes tricks with us.
Dear Linda, because of you are dissatisfied that you could not pay with credit card on your second visit in the restaurant , we would like to find out who can be responsible for this mistake.
Therefore we would like to please you to help for us with the details of the incident.
Could you be so kind to tell us the accurate date, when you visited our restaurant?
We will be very happy if we could find any solution for your problem and to compromise.
The most important thing for us is to make our guest happy and satisfied with our service.
We hope on your next visit you will be content with everything and we guarantee that such a problem won’t happen next time.
Thanks in advance for your cooperation.

Best regards,
Andras Kende
Restaurant Manager
Email: restaurant@stgeorgehotel.hu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Юхнов
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Hotel is very nice. Everything is perfect. Rooms a big and clear. it`s 2 floor building, so u won`t have a great view. There are many restaurants and shops near the hotel. And u can park your car free of charge near the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochota, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The suites are nice and spacious. A free bottle of white wine in the room was a nice surprise. Bedroom was small but quiet and cozy, with a comfortable bed. The hotel is in an old-fashion style, it has its charm but it is not a good choice for a short stay, especially for business people.
The reception staff seemed unprofessional and slow, but kind.
The hotel restaurant was expensive, empty and food and drinks were just average. Welcome drinks (vouchers received at check-in) were a nice trick to make people go there,

I stayed for a night there, I hoped for some nice restaurants and night life in the area, but it was quite deserted (Friday evening). - you need to go to the other side of the river to taste some night life. The Buda castle is indeed beautiful and the view from a nearby viewing point is breathtaking, but not worth spending the night in a hotel there.

Breakfast was above average, not a big choice but there were some hot dishes and a variety of vegetables.

The Hilton seamed much better but was not available at that time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel has great location in the Buda castle, downtown can be reached in like 20 – 25 minutes by foot.
Stayed 1 night only but I can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Little noisy at night – I guess it’s because of huge corridors and open spaces – but nothing bad to damage your sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. George Residence in the Buda Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence in the Buda Castle

Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel
Address: Fortuna utca 4, Budapest H-1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Budapest
#26 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#34 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#35 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence in the Buda Castle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your St. George Residence in the Buda Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Residence in the Buda Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.