We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charme and elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Residence in the Buda Castle

Save Saved
You added St. George Residence in the Buda Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. George Residence in the Buda Castle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortuna utca 4, Budapest H-1014, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Charme and elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

In Buda Castle district, close to the traffic area, a very charming and quiet solution
My husband and I have had a wonderful stay in this hotel for 2 nights during our trip in Hungary.
Our apartament, about 60-65 meeters, at second floor was very elegance, large and clean.
At the arriival we receive a welcome drink and a bottle of wine.
Breakfast was good but could be better for this catergory; the staff was friendly and professional.
Also, there was a reserve parking in front of the hotel.
I would recommende this hotel to anyone who wants a lovely and romantic stay in Budapest.
Great solution for a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    63
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
138
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We booked a silver room - be sure to ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. It's much quieter! Huge living area strangely missing a sofa. So no comfortable place to sit. Some rooms show sofas - so I would get one of those next time. The bedroom is quite small by comparison and the bathroom was nice and large, but bathtub only - no shower. Pretty much a full kitchen, so we shopped at the food store down the street and did our own breakfasts!! Don't hesitate. It's a great place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. We went in the winter which was gorgeous and not so crowded. Buda is definitely a lovely place to stay and the Hotel was beyond expectations. Large living area with high level furnishings. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We cannot say enough nice things about the place, absolutely amazing. We couldn't believe the value for money. We were expecting a room and got a huge apartment and it was beautifully furnished, immaculately clean and of course stunning location. Staff were brilliant and we had THE best time out of our whole trip here. Can't recommend it enough - an absolutely must stay place, we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Perhaps our expectations of this historic hotel within the castle walls were too high. To make it special we chose a gold room for two nights in April, this was probably a mistake. The hotel public spaces including court yard are quite nice, but the room was boring and lacking any interesting character (it resembled a new serviced apartment). The room was ridiculously large, but the size was poorly used - not a separate bedroom, just a bedroom alcove restricting access to the bed; Tiny kitchen, but vast expanse of bathroom floor (which is handy when the shower floods - a "construction problem" which apparently can't be fixed). We arrived at 2pm but the room wasn't ready so had lunch in the restuarant where the food was average. There is no lift and no porter so I carried my bags and my pregnant partners bags up to the room. The hotel is within the Buda castle walls with cobblestone streets and historic buildings. But it is like living inside a museum. All shops and resturants there catter for tourists (and look like they do). During the day it is tourists and at night it is a bit deserted (very picturesque but not much local life). We saw what we wanted to see in Buda in a day and then spent most of our time across the river in Pest which we loved. We became quite proficient using the metro and bus 16 to get from Pest to the hotel. So my recommendation would be to stay in Pest, but if you do want one night in the castle don't bother with the gold room.

Room Tip: Don't pay more for a gold room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Beautiful hotel in a historic, safe neighborhood. Fully restored. Super clean. Huge rooms. Nice kitchenettes. The Bronze suite living room is large and well appointed. The Silver suite living room is huge and ours had a separate study in addition to the bedroom and huge bathroom. Lovely neighborhood for strolling around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The best option to get from the Airport to the hotel is getting a Zone Taxi, it cost a fix price of only 25 Euros. This former palace is wonderfully maintained and the rooms maintains all its original magnificence. The hotel staff welcomed us with a free Hungarian white bottle of wine in the room.
The room was really spacious and full of natural light from the windows. Also we have a kitchen in suite with all we could possibly need to prepare our meals, although we did not use it, but could come handy should you need it.
The building is in the Castle area and although it has no views, it is close to many interesting building and historic city areas.
We like to walk and every day we just walk from the hotel to the city center that is about 20 minutes walk and where you past along the most beautiful views of the city both from the castle and when crossing the Danube by the Chains Bridge.
The breakfast is good with cheese, salami and some Hungarian pastries and the staff is warm and welcoming.
In all this is a hidden gem in Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. George Residence in the Buda Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence in the Buda Castle

Address: Fortuna utca 4, Budapest H-1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence in the Buda Castle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your St. George Residence in the Buda Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Residence in the Buda Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.