We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never try this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Monarchia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Monarchia Hotel to your Saves list
Old Monarchia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Vaci, 79, Budapest 1056, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 177 Budapest B&B and Inns
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never try this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Awful experience. First its not a hotel. The rooms will not be cleaned as expected in every morning. Bathroom area gets flooded. The restaurant in the hotel will make you feel cheated. All in all, never try this hotel.
If there is any good about this hotel is its location.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    6
    12
    40
See reviews for
7
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel itself was difficult to find, there were no signs outside. After walking up and down the street several times I spoke to a restaurant who directed me to the Old Monarchia Restaurant and the check in desk is inside. Room itself was good. The bathroom was not well designed but the location was amazing. Short walk to the main tourist attractions.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Good location, big room

No showercurtain causes flood in the bathrom floor.

Poor cleaning

No new towels after cleaning.

But the price and the location makes it worth the money

Many tv-channelns. CNN for example

Wi-fi little shaky

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Yes it was cheap...but many fails!
Room was just ok, in 3 days never got hot water in the morning always freezing cold, wifi never worked, toilet never completely flushed...even after flushimg 3 or 4 times.. there were always remains....its worth expend the extra money for a better one.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Galilei is more a guest house than a hotel. So there is no reception, but a restaurant directly at the hotel, and the nice people there take care of you.

We had our own large appartments, fully equipped with each three beds, bathroom, TV (only Hungarian program and CNN), table, chairs, wardrobes - and lots of space. First positive surprise: Altough described differently in their advertising, there is free Wifi in the rooms (the ad says, Wifi would only be available in the public area of this guesthose).

The Galilei guest house is located directly in the city center - only some hundred meters from the big Central Market Hall and the Danube. However, it's very quiet through day and night - no problems to sleep there.

Breakfast is available not until 10:00 o'clock in the restaurant nearby - a little late if you want to take some tours through Budapest which start earlier. But there are several restaurants nearby serving breakfast from 8.30 (e.g. Anna Cafe at Fovam Ter 6, only 200 meters from this guest house).

One disadvantage of our rooms: The showers do not have a curtain, which causes the water to spill all over the bathroom's floor and even in the hallway of the room :-(

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friend and I were supposed to check in today at the Hotel Galilei and stay for two nights. However, on arrival after a waiting time of over 2 hours, we were informed that there were no rooms left, that the hotel was overbooked and that we would have to find an alternative accommodation.

We never received any communication from the hotel advicing us of the overbooking. Furthermore, we did not received any apologies from the hotel and during our visit we were treated in the most disgraceful way from several members of staff, as if we were there to cause a problem, rather than customers that had just been victim of a serious disservice.

Because of the overbooking, we were left with nowhere to spend the night, in a foregn city, the worse possible nightmare for a tourist.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Can confirm what many others in here write: overall a bad "hotel".
The "reception" solution in the restaurant was horrible, the staff down there was rude and very slow and it was a bad start on the vacation to spend almost 1 hour in that hole before we where shown the rooms.

The rooms was in general in a bad condition, we had booked 3 rooms with room for 8 people in total and this is a list over some of the things that met us:

-Horrible beds, some without sheets(asked for sheets the first day, but didn't get them before the next day)
-Broken air-condition(the temperature outside was 4C, inside it was 18C)
-Showers with broken showerheads and only cold water
-No hairdryer
-Internet connection in only some of the rooms
-We went out of toilet paper and asked for more, but the maid said that they didn't have any so we had to go to a supermarket and buy some ourselves

The stay was very cheap and the location was great!, which was the reason we picked out this place to stay. We thought that "hey, we probably not gonna spend that much time in the rooms anyways so lets go for it", but I will recommend people to not book this place for your stay since the place was horrible and even if you're not spending much time in the rooms it might affect your vacation in a negative way

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#75 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#67 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#68 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#81 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
District V / Inner City
Peregrinus ELTE Hotel
Peregrinus ELTE Hotel
#135 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#141 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Monarchia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Monarchia Hotel

Address: Vaci, 79, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Monarchia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Monarchia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Monarchia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.