We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice days in a nice BB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Korall Pension

Save Saved
You added Villa Korall Pension to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Korall Pension
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Radoc u 19, Budapest 1118, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice days in a nice BB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spend 4 days in this BB. The stuff was very kind and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I prefer taxi, but once we went to city by bus. It took less than 30 min to arrive to the center. I'm sure, we are going to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
54
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in September while sightseeing in Budapest. The accommodations were fine except for all the steps and the location. The office and breakfast room was in the basement and our rooms were on the second floor and no elevator, so the walk up was really painful. I got so sore from the first walk up that it sort of ruined my trip for the next week or so. Then there was the distance from the town center and Budapest Castle. It was a 35-40 minute ride on the bus. We were told that buses were free for Senior Citizens, which we are, but then later told that it applied only to citizens of the European Union, which we are not. So it was confusing, to say the least, not to mention that we never saw anyone pay on the bus, or use tickets or tokens of any kind. We asked several times about paying for the bus but none of the drivers, or anybody else seemed to speak English. Riding the bus every day was stressful and something I would want to avoid if doing it again. I was also stressed about possibly taking the wrong bus and ending up on the wrong side of town. Otherwise, everything was good, the breakfasts were excellent, service good, the room small, but comfortable. Still, if I were to do it again, I would try to find a hotel closer to the town center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If looking for 5 star luxury in a central location, then Villa Korall is not for you. Otherwise it is great.

The rooms were spacious, spotless and comfortable. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

If there is a negative, it is the distance from the city centre. That said, there is a bus every 10 minutes from close to the hotel to the transport hub at Széll Kálmán tér (15 - 20 minutes journey) , and from there a short bus/tram/metro hop to just about anywhere in the city. The tourist 24/48/72 hour passes are very good value for money.

I would not hesitate in recommending Villa Korall, and would certainly stay there on any future trips to Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great little pension. Excellent customer service and excellent staff.
They provide a very calm atmosphere, and they are also taking care of cleanness and hygiene. The rooms and beddings are fragrant, I could experience this for 1st time after many- many holidays spent. They were fair and helpful during the days spent there. The city centre is accessible. If you wanted to spend your free time in a nice and wonderful place, then I could advise to visit Villa Korral.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Korall Pension. What can we say ; it was a very pleasant surprise to meet there friendly and helpful people. We had a room without a balcony but I think this was the only minus I can find for this place. The location is a little bit far from the center but you can use public transportation easily ( ask the guy on reception and use Google Maps).
So what we liked : 1. Location - even if it's far from center , it is quiet and has free and safe parking ; 2. Room - big enough , very clean , daily cleaning with towels changing , big and clean bathroom; 3. Breakfast ..... loved ; 4. All the best for the hosts .
For currency changing : there is an exchange house inside the supermarket near the bus station with good rates. Ask the guy from reception.
I am sure that we'll stay here the next time we visit Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful budget trip to Budapest at the start of this month. Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was a pleasure from start to finish. The guy on reception was really friendly and very helpful when asking about getting around/locations of things. Nothing was too much trouble and his friendly attitude really made the difference to the hotel.
They have lovely clean rooms which are cleaned to a high standard every day. I usually prefer a more modern decor from rooms but it wasn't outdated and the size and cleanliness made up for this anyway. I think you could have payed for air con but the fan was quite powerful and good enough for us even when it was hot.
The breakfast is all you would want at this price from a continental and at a suitable hour so you didn't have to get up too early which has been the case in other places I have stayed. Although on the outskirts of town it is easily accessible by a bus (that seemed to be free) that then takes you to a metro station so you can access anywhere really.
I would stay here again as there was nothing I could really fault!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by one of the helpfull staff and given lots of good info. We arrived early about 7am but were told we could go straight to our room if required. Room was spotlessly clean and well furnished and decorated. We had a balcony which was very pleasxent. Shower is powerfull with lots of hot water. The breakfast was a buffet style with different hams, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurt, eggs etc. As much as you wanted inc coffee/tea. I guess this place will always we busy with the "can do" attitude of the staff. This buisiness will always be a success while they do what they do.

Room Tip: Try to secure a south facing room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Korall Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Korall Pension

Address: Radoc u 19, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Korall Pension 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a pleasant pension with familiar atmosphere located in the quiet green belt area of Buda, Villa Korall Bed and Breakfast is situated just 15 minutes from the city centre, whilst also enjoying good access to the M1 and M7 motorways, convenient to city centre by car and by public transportation, an ideal place to discover the city or relax after a busy day.The establishment has 8 rooms, each equipped with bathroom, cable TV, mini bar, telephone and free Wi-Fi Internet. The staff speaks English, German, Italian, Romanian.Services include fax and photocopy utilities, safe, laundry service, organizing programs and excursions, guide and interpreter services, closed parking lot for cars, sale of postcards, stamps, bus tickets, phone cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Villa Korall Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Korall Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.