We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder it's number one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapital Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapital Inn
30 Aradi utca | 3/15, Budapest 1062, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 151 Budapest B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No wonder it's number one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Yes, it is extremely well located in a gorgeous old apartment building close to subways, restaurants, bars, clubs, museums, opera house, shopping etc.

Yes, the rooms are spacious, quiet, attractively decorated and spotlessly clean, with very comfortable beds and powerful, spacious showers (we had an en suite room).

Yes, the breakfast is great, with various fresh pastries, bread, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and a deliciously cheesy cooked-to-order omelet with bacon, mushroom or whatever combination you fancy.

And then there's Albert!

Never before have we encountered such hospitality. He didn't just recommend restaurants, he got on the phone and made our reservations for us. It wasn't the 'list of favorites' you get in many places - we chatted at length around the kitchen table about what we were after and as a result had some amazing meals.

This is just one small example though - every day he was there with a smile on his face looking for ways to make our stay wonderful. I think his guests all have such a good time because he possesses an unusual combination of knowledge; He is Hungarian born and bred and knows Budapest like the back of his hand, but his extensive travels and years living in the UK and the US mean he truly understands where guests are coming from, and then makes an effort to help steer everyone towards the Budapest experience that will appeal to them.

At the end of our eight days we were really sad to say goodbye to Albert - apart from being the ultimate host, he is a genuinely warm (and funny) person, and we are so very grateful to him for making our stay in this beautiful city such a memorable one. 'Puszi' Albert :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
235
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you're looking for a great, central place to stay in Budapest with a lovely, friendly, informative host (who also makes a wicked omelette!) then look no further-Kapital Inn is the place for you!
Budapest is a great city-loads to see and do.
You will probably need at least 4 days/5 nights to do it justice.
I know it's been said many times before but Kapital Inn is more like a cosy second home than a B&B and as for Albert, your host, all I can add is that if there were more "Alberts" around, the world would be a much better place!

Room Tip: Would recommend the deluxe room which has an en-suite bathroom with very spacious shower area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent our Christmas holiday in Vienna, Budapest and Prague. Budapest was hands down our favorite city and our stay at Kapital Inn is a large reason why. Staying at Kapital Inn and getting to know Albert is like visiting a friend; we feel like we experienced Budapest as a local and not as a tourist. Albert did everything to make our stay enjoyable including doing our laundry !! How awesome is that ! We started each morning with a fabulous omlette and reviewed our days plans with Albert. Kapital Inn is conveniently located to the subway and we found the subway map easy to follow - we never got lost. It was winter time and too cold to enjoy the lovely terrace off the dining area - - but - - we plan to return and look forward to relaxing on the terrace and visiting with Albert. Our stay could not have been better !!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms with an in-room bathroom/shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place IS Budapest. Classic with a modern twist. First of all, let me recommend Budapest as a fantastic city and the Kapital Inn is the perfect base to explore this magnificent gem. This apartment hotel is close to the centre, just off Andrassy Av. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with the freedom to roam and use the apartment amenities at your own pace. Your host, Albert, is most attentive, but does not smother you. Every restaurant, bar and point of interest recommended by Albert was spot on, with his sole motive to maximise your enjoyment not his profit. Im not known for my positivity, but this place is just beast.

Room Tip: All are excellent,just depends if you want on-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Thanks to Albert for a wonderful stay in Budapest. The B&B is great -- great rooms, fantastic omlettes for breakfast, really good location, really good host. Albert spent time with us telling us his sight-seeing recommendations. We basically let him plan our three days there and he didn't lead us astray! He 'forced' us to go to the baths, although we didn't take the plunge, but it was just such a good sight to view. Budapest, unlike a lot of capital cities was very good value for money. The food was very good, again due to good recommendations from Albert about where to go.

Room Tip: Choose one of the ensuite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I don't have anything to add that hasn't been mentioned in previous reviews other than to thank Albert for a wonderful stay in Budapest! The B&B is perfect -- perfect rooms, perfect breakfast, perfect location, perfect decor throughout, perfect host. I loved Budapest in large part thanks to the great stay at Kapital Inn. Be sure to spend time with Albert soaking in his restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations. I basically let him plan my entire holiday and he didn't lead me astray!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had never been to Budapest and after seeing Kapital Inn had almost exclusive excellent ratings, contacted Albert. He was the most patient and considerate business person I’ve come across. He gave me lots of advice, must have spent a great deal of time answering my questions, was incredibly flexible – nothing was a problem. Which was great for me, as I had not been to Budapest, and didn’t really know what I was after in many respects. I'm glad I spent the whole 5 days at Kapital Inn. Everything about the place is as per others’ reports. Top class. Oh yeah . . . and Albert insisted on carrying my heavy bag up the stairs, despite my pleading - hence the big pecs and biceps!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kapital Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapital Inn

Address: 30 Aradi utca | 3/15, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapital Inn is a boutique B&B located inside an elegant 19th century building in one of the finest neighborhoods in the heart of Budapest. The owner is a professionally trained Hungarian chef and former executive of an internationally renowned 5-star hotel. We own the entire top floor of this building and it includes a private 600 square foot roof-top terrace. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapital Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kapital Inn to your Saves list