We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel on outskirts of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Fashion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Atrium Fashion Hotel to your Saves list
Atrium Fashion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Csokonai Utca 14, Budapest 1081, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel on outskirts of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December while visiting the xmas markets. On arrival no one was manning the front desk...eventually a man appeared for a table in the restaurant to serve us. Room was basic and clean but smelt of drains. Our tv didn't work in the room but one call to reception and that was quickly rectified. Hotel is 10 min walk from town. Breakfast hot or cold choice. The other encounters we had with the staff were positive, hotel is just off the tour bus route too which is could for getting about the town and seeing all the sights. Good size bathroom despite the smell of sewage when entering the room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    329
    105
    31
    14
See reviews for
61
361
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, Gwent
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited April 2013 with two girlfriends for three nights. As there were three of us we wanted to be in the same room which did make it a bit cramped, I had the camp bed which wasnt too bad. I emailed the hotel in advance to make sure there were three singles in the room. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean. Tissues , hairdryer and shower gel/soap (all attached to the wall in the bathroom). kettle with tea and coffee but no biscuits and a TV which we didnt use. The safe is easy to use and found in the wardrobe.
The breakfast was adequate with half a dozen or so different pastries, four types of bread and three types of cereal. There was a cold meats and cheese selection and yoghurt and fresh fruit. There was a hot selection which had everything from spicy sausage to chilli! Tea, coffee, juices and water to drink. You could certainly fill up and then make do with some delicious cake in a cafe for lunch!
The staff were very helpful but not particularly smiley. They sorted out tickets for the tour bus and also the Spa and ordered a taxi for our return to the air port.
I emailed in advance to find out the taxi fare from the airport and they sorted out a taxi and a man with a placard at arrivals for aprox £22.
The hotel is in a central location very close to bus,tram and underground, however, for ladies travelling alone there is nowhere to eat in the immediate vacinity so you have to walk down some spooky streets or get a taxi. There are people sleeping rough nearby and I didnt like walking in this area after dark.

Room Tip: We had room 201 which was at the front of the hotel and had windows which opened onto the street. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very modern hotel in a great position of Budapest. 30 second walk to metro and tram stops with a 10 minute walk to the heart of the city. Very friendly staff always happy to help. Very tasty breakfast and well stocked bar for a drink in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in January, lovely hotel in a great location. So easy to use the trams and underground to get everywhere. Rooms were nicely done and very clean, staff were helpful and was nice to have a bar in the evening if you didn't feel like going out. Quiet hotel although if the bar was busy at night and you had a room over the atrium it could be a bit noisy on a lower floor. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Atrium Fasion Hotel in Budapest.

The location is good, only a short walk to the bus routes, underground and main areas. The area around the hotel was a bit run down with a few suspect characters, but this was simmilar even around the more expensive hotels.

The staff were a bit lackluster and were never very quick. Although the breakfast staff kept the buffet well stalked and cleared tables in the morning.

Clean hotel and decent size modern rooms with moder interior.

The room I stayed in had a very bad smell from the momment you walked in thouhg. It was a fusty drainage smell which as far as I could tell was coming from the bathroom although I couldnt locate exactly where.

Due to the inside of the hotel - the atrium - being were most windows looked onto our corner room had a frosted window that you couldnt see out of or open. Be sure to ask for a central, non corner room if possible.

Overall I was disappointed, but for the modest price I cant complain too much.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with an interior view. Corner rooms have no window just frosted glass and unab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights (March 29-April 1). Here is what we thought:
- good design to the hotel, lots of bright light in the atrium
- rooms are clean and spacious
- beds are comfortable
- good location, very close to pubs and restaurants. It is 2 blocks away from the stops for the hop on hop off bus tours. They gave us 20 percent discount for the Giraffe company

Cons:
- the free breakfast was okay, the hot items were lukewarm
- the free wifi cut in and out frequently
- some reception staff was more helpful than others
- on their website it says it's 900 m away from Keleti train station which is a lie. We emailed them and they said it was a 15 min walk. Thank goodness we took a taxi (note: regular charge is 2000 HF)
- the showers are built for anyone 5"3 or shorter and the drain was super slow, so gross. I had to hand hold the shower head the whole time, not fun at all
- worst of all the fire alarm went off 6am
Easter Sunday (burnt food in the kitchen). The staff was clueless about what to do! The breakfast guys continued to set up breakfast. One hotel guest went around with the manager to tell them what to do. For burnt food, it took over 20 minutes to turn the alarm off as we all huddled in the lobby. Good management would have gone the extra mile to apologize for the inconvenience, like a note in our room, an extension for breakfast, a small chocolate in our room, etc.

I would hesitantly recommend this hotel. Pay a few more dollars elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wife and I arrived at the hotel and got the shock of our lives. The room allocated to us was totally not what we had asked for. It was like being asked to live in a pigeon hole. The room had an awful smell and no proper ventilation. we were then told that they would shift us to another hotel as there were no more rooms to spare. We decided on doing so the next morning as the flight was taxing. The next morning we were confronted by the reception saying that they had organized a better room with windows and a bath tub for us as we had originally ordered. We decided to stay back. Again the ventilation sucked but this time we could open the windows to freshen the room. Bed covers were never changed in the total stay. Towels were of very poor quality. Hotel staff are very helpful and polite. No fault of theirs. The staff should be more trained to handle an emergency situation with more responsibility. Fire alarms should be treated with full respect or else it could cost human lives. Breakfast was the worst we have had ever. The same items every day for 8 days. I would never go there again and never recommend it to even my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atrium Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Fashion Hotel

Address: Csokonai Utca 14, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#66 Family Hotel in Budapest
#85 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atrium Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh is the keyword. Impressive design with the latest fashion in colour schemes and upholstery. Atrium Fashion Hotel represents an efficient and modern style among the chic 4 star hotels in Budapest. Built to blend a wide range of facilities and stylish interior design with a charming atmosphere, the hotel offers unique lodging experience in Budapest, suitable for business travellers, families or groups. The stylishly-decorated, bright couloured rooms feature LCD TV, WiFi access, safe, telephone, minibar, hair-dryer. Sound-proofed windows combined with our large and airy atrium provide an oasis of peace in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atrium Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Fashion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.