We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not regrets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Suites Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Regency Suites Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madach Imre ter 2, Budapest 1075, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Zusmarshausen, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not regrets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location: Very closed to the hot spots of Budapest; ideal for visitors, who wants to discover a city by foot, nice bars with an own style just next to the hotel, some steps (east direction) many other bars and pubs to hang out
Staff: very friendly and helpful, there was no question (and Iris had a lot) we did’nt get a reasonable feedback
Rooms: huge and clean, but have already seen better days; the bathroom was pretty new with a good comfort standard
Wifi: was working pretty fast, but not for iphone/ipad!!!!! Don’t know why, but this was confirmed by the hotel manager
Breakfast: Ok, but 3 stars only!

Whenever I will come back to Budapest the Regency will be my first choise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    200
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
81
186
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a bit surprised at all of the amazing reviews to be honest. We stayed here for three nights, and while it was okay, it was not what I would call four stars.

Pros: large rooms, excellent location, friendly staff, decent (simple) breakfast, good price, nice sauna. Free WiFi, though often very weak signal. Quiet.

Cons: they seemed to not want to replace things that ran out in the room...the was always only a bit of toilet paper left, no face tissues when the box ran out, etc. The rooms felt dated and cheap. The bed and the pillows in particular were awful, the duvet didn't cover the entire bed (and being tall thus didn't cover me). So it was hard to get a good night's rest.

So overall...it was good for what it was, especially given the price, but I'd never rank it four stars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

At first I would like to thank you for our great stay in your hotel !!
Breakfast and breakfast rooms were superb, the sauna in your hotel really great !!
Only remark we had, was that our douche didn't always give the 'kind of water' we needed to take a good shower (room 302)
But especially I would like to thank your receptionist Anita, who did a lot of work finding us a restaurant for Christmas Eve and she did a really EXCELLENT JOB !!!
So many many many thx Anita for giving me and my friend an excellent 'christmas eve' :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I recently had reason to stay at the regency suites hotel in budapest for business, and I was amazed at the great skills of both Anita and Tibor in reception. Nothing was too much or a problem for them as they pointed me in the correct direction for all my meetings within the capital . Not having been to the city before I was delighted with its location as I was able to walk to most of my meetings with perfect directions. Good rooms all facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel and exceptional staff to complete the package.

Eamon

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is in the center of Pest. It is 2 rooms, one bedroom, one livingroom, mini-kitchen, bathroom with a bathtub. Its a very clean hotell with all neccessery things in the room (like tea-boiler, tea, coffee, towels, shampoo, hairdryer,tv, free wifi). The staff was really nice and helpful, giving good advice. And the spoke english good. The breakfast was buffe, so eat how much you want and it was served between 7.30 - 11.00 am. The location of the hotel is perfect. Just crossing the street you could find many shops, that you buy clothes and souveniers. Also it was a big christmas-market that lead you to the river Donau. The walk took us 15 minutes to the river. Its not far to Chainbridge, took us ap. 30 minutes to walk slowly.
I recomend this hotel stronlgy :)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on top, there is a great view over city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good location a few hundred meters from Deak Ferenc ter, which is the largest trafic hub for local transportation in Budapest. All Metro lines stop at this hub and also a large number of trams and buses are passing Deak Ferenc.
The hotel promote all rooms are suites, which is correct. Very large rooms, I guess our room was about 30 m2, a bit dark due to many small windows, but overall very good.
Try to avoid rooms facing Asboth Utca (Asboth Street). Small blind street with 2 bars, where the noise from the people outside the bars for smoking etc. are very lout until late and the garbageman arrive with his truck at 5 in the morning.
Price OK, less than 100 USD per night including a large hot breakfast, Service in the restaurant was very good,
The service in the reception (during day time) was below average and so was the limo service from the hotel to the airport (arranged by the hotel and paid to the hotel). The driver was not saying a word and we where dropped off at the airport parking area and had to walk from here to the departure terminal, despite there was a drop off zone right outside the departure terminal.
Fortunately was it not raining.
However, despite our negative experiences in the reception and from the limo service, our overall experiences during our 3 day stay was positive and we will probably use the hotel again next time we visit Budapest.

Room Tip: Don't book rooms facing Asboth Utca
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becej, Serbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Regency suites hotel is perfect starting point for exploring Budapest's cultural heritage and history. It is located in central Pest, near most of cultural monuments. The old town Buda is also easy to get by subway. Station on Deak Ter is only 200 m away from hotel.
We arrived by car and we had problem to park it until we check in. There is a couple of parking places in front of hotel marked for hotel check in , but it was occupated all the time.Hotel parking is actually public parking two streets near by, gravel covered with few paved hills, whose probable function is to awaken you after a long journey. That two things are the only hotel minus.
Hotel suites are spacious with central air conditioning , cable TV and with small kitchen with microwave, small fridge and coffe maker. Beds are perfect for sleeping and bathroom is new and clean.
All receptionists are very friendly and always available for hotel guests.
Breakfast at the hotel was varied and tasty prepared, but I expected a little more Hungarian delicacies.
All in all, the hotel is fully in accordance with the European hotel industry, although it would be advisable to preserve the charm of the Hungarian. We will visit hotel again

Room Tip: Room on first floor are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Suites Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Suites Hotel Budapest

Address: Madach Imre ter 2, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Suites Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A suite hotel in the heart of the city with free wireless internet and a full buffet breakfast included in the rate. Our Sky Bar on the top floor has excellent views of the Basilica and the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regency Suites Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Suites Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.