We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel! Need to imprive directions...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aventura Boutique Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aventura Boutique Hostel to your Saves list
Aventura Boutique Hostel
12 Visegradi str., 1st floor/ 1st apt. | District 13, Budapest 1132, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #48 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hostel! Need to imprive directions...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Nice hostel!
Big problem with ridiculous directions on website "go out the train station and walk towards the river".
That doesnt say which station exit to take, and no matter which way you take, you dont see the river at all... Took me one hour carrying my backpack to find the hostel, 250 meters away the station...

No nightlife surrounding the hostel at all, you need to walk at least 15min.

Al wooden floors, you walk and ir cracks, you move on bed and it cracks, you breathe and it cracks!!

Hostel nice clean, with very helpful personnel. If you are lucky getting in quickly, then no critics.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
15
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed both in the African and Indian room. Both are nice but good to know that in the african one the mattress is put directly on the floor, still comfortable.
The hostel itself worth 4 stars but the fifth comes from the atmosphere both staff and backpackers are bringing there. The small size of the hostel (3 rooms) really make you feel in your friends' house.
The kitchen is often lively.
Good location, close to Sziget island, the Parliament and a metro station.
Breakfast normally cost 2 euros but you can manage to get some for free.
Bathrooms are good standards
Nothing not to like.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days in both the africa and space room. did not really get to meet the staff much but the facilities of the hostel are more than adequate. A well stocked kitchen with required kitchenware to self-cook some meals. People staying while I was there were also pretty cool! Laundry and showers are pretty decent. There is nothing not to like.

Room Tip: The best room is every room actually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed here for 6 days and I really enjoy my stay @ Aventura!! Staffs are friendly, helpful! I stayed in both Africa and Space Room. I love the layout of Africa Room, I also love the theme in Space Room! There is kitchen in this hostel. You can prepare your meal and meet new friends there as well!
The service is excellent! It is a cozy, comfortable hostel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Travellers,
The guest photo uploaded here about the "Space room" is not valid anymore. We did some facelifting on this room. Now it has a private shower and 4 beds instead of 5. It has some new "space" painting on the wall as well. Check out the new management photoes about the "Space room"!
Thank you!
Aventura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I am sitting in the hostel's kitchen right now. Agnes and Hedi are here too, and Agnes' soon Kornel :). They don't know I'm writing this review, but they'll find out soon :). All I wanted to say is that they are the BEST. Very friendly, very helpful staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed here recently, and arrived in the morning by train when Hédi was at the hostel. The plan was to rent the apartment (which is actually half a block from the hostel) but it was not available until the next day, so we decided to grin-and-bear-it for one night until we could check into the apartment. Here are some observations & comments from our stay:

- The staff is incredible. They are very warm, very accommodating & make it seem like nothing is an imposition while you are their guests. They are also delightful to chat with, and gave us some fantastic recommendations for food & bars.
- The hostel is not as new as it appears in the photos, but it's clean, has a warm look & feel, a tiny toilet (but decent size baths), and was pretty quiet & chill when we were there (however, it must be said that we were NOT there during peak tourist season). Unfortunately, since I have not stayed at any other hostels, I cannot really comment about how much better or worse this is than other places. But one of the members of our party was impressed with the quality of this "hostel" & said it was pretty nice, comparatively speaking.
- The apartment is also nice - spacious (bedroom is the smallest room), clean, and furnished with IKEA and old-ish furniture. The bed creaks pretty loudly, btw. The bathroom & kitchen are very clean (very important to some, so I take pains to point this out). At this moment, there seems to be some construction going on right next to the apartment, so if you're not early risers, it could tick you off.
- The free internet in both the hostel & the apartment are great - we did not experience spotty wi-fi at all.

Having gotten out of the way the necessary items which one is honor bound to warn others of in an honest review, I want to put down some things that will ensure that I will stay here again & again:

- The apartment is fantastically located, and the building seems pretty secure with quiet residents. Also, it's within easy distance of the Lehel tér market, which is an inexpensive & great market. And also close to a pretty big mall (which seems no different than any mall in any other country).
- To compensate for no washer/dryer in the apartment, the ladies will be good enough to do your laundry for you should you choose to take them up on that offer.
- The staff that work there go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. From having to move your reservation at the last minute for whatever reason, to making sure you don't get ripped off with cab companies by calling one for you, you are in good hands.
- They have a masseur come in for in-hostel or in-apartment massages if you like. I had to cancel mine due to other plans, but I'm scheduling around that massage next time I'm over there!

All in all, a great stay with a very warm staff & reasonable rents. I'd definitely rent this place again if when I'm back in Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Travellers,
The guest photoes uploaded here about our Art Apartment are not valid anymore. We did some facelifting on this apartment. It looks very cool now and very comfortable for 4 person plus a baby. Check out the new management photoes about the "Art Apartment"!
Thank you!
Aventura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Both Hédi, Agnes and their staff do know how to run a hostel for sure.

For three nights I slept in the Indian room, witch is very colorful decorated.
To replace the bunk beds without losing places to sleep, they made in half the room like a second floor. And because the rooms have a very high ceiling, that works out well. This is one of the things I like the most I think.

Under the bed there was a proper locker. But I did not have the feeling of using it. The hostel has an safe and friendly atmosphere. And whenever you needed something, they were always there to help you out!!
The breakfast they offer is well worth it. And if you feel like cooking your self, the kitchen had everything you need.

When you look out for a safe, clean and friendly hostel, you won't regret your stay at Aventure! I can highly recommend it!

So, Agnes and Hédi, thanks a lot and see you next time I'll visit Budapest! :-)

Dajo Brinkman.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aventura Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Boutique Hostel

Address: 12 Visegradi str., 1st floor/ 1st apt. | District 13, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Boutique Hostel offers you stylishly designed spacious themed rooms. Instead of bunk beds we have intimate lofts, with a nice feeling of more personal space. The 8 bedded "Africa" room shows off the adventurous ambience of Africa. The 6 bedded ,,India" room captivates with its warm, exotic atmosphere. The 4 bedded ,,Space" room is our only room with a private shower. Japan double room is the only private room. It comes with shared bathroom. Our In-hostel Massage service will make your hostel stay in Budapest even more relaxing. The fully equipped kitchen with a small loft is also our social area, a great place to meet the other travellers. We also offer three different type of breakfast, a continental breakfast, an egg breakfast in the cafe under the hostel and a very local sausage breakfast at the butcher in the building. Aventura's 24 hour staff can provide real experiences by helping you to discover Budapest's full cultural heritage and vibrant art life. We offer many kind of tours, free walking tours, tickets to the thermal baths, bike and bus tours, pub crawls, caving tours, etc. We have three apartments. Family Apartment is a two bedroom hostel available for max 4 person and a baby. The Apartment Rouge is a one bedroom apartment near the hostel. The "Retro Apartment" is also a two bedroom fully equipped apartment one metro stop from the hostel, right in the middle of Budapest downtown. It is in fact a real home with the atmosphere of the 60s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Aventura Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hostel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventura Boutique Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.