We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average "No Frills" Hotel - Nothing special, no major complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Budapest Danube

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Budapest Danube to your Saves list
Novotel Budapest Danube
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem Rakpart 33 34, Budapest 1027, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Average "No Frills" Hotel - Nothing special, no major complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week - as my company put me in it since it is a few blocks from our office. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As for the location- as all the other reviewers mentioned- the view is beautiful- but i dont think i would pay the 30 euro a nite to have the view from my room. The surrounding area is not so great in terms of restaurants/bars- there was a good restaurant two blocks down but not much in walking distance- which to me is a big turn off for a hotel. To get to Pest and the city centre only took about 8-10 minutes by taxi- and one evening it was nice out and we walked back which took about 20 minutes (hard to say bc we were taking so many pictures of the beautiful city!)

In terms of the rooms- they were very average. I was in a superior room- the size was big- but quite sterile. The bathroom was too small there was barely any room on the sink for my toiletries. The shower only had the half door so a couple days water got all over my floor. Also the room was always really hot- which was ok when you open the window at nite.

While the hotel was fine and close to work, I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are looking to be in a busy/happening area- I would stay on the Pest side.

Room Tip: If your going for the view- make sure you know it is 30 euros more a nite for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I was very happy to read your comment about the staff. I just wish you had given us a chance to guide you to more restaurants/bars or even Mammut shoppng centre, that is 10 minutes away and have pleanty of bars/restaurants. On the other hand as you wrote Pest the touristy side of Budapest is also minutes away by the Metro or even on foot. Our location is more quiet and elegent. I look forward to providing you with an even better service next time. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    385
    70
    20
    4
See reviews for
200
252
51
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really convenient to public transport, shuttle from the airport available - paying, great view over the Danube towards the Hungarian Parliament, friently and competent staff, great buffet breakfast. In all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest, it is great you have had a good stay at Novotel Danube. My Team and I are delighted and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from our short stay in Budapest.
We planned to visit this wonderfull city with a couple of friends, and decided to stay at the Novotel Danube Hotel.
There are a lot of very nice hotels in Budapest but the Novotel is the best. The view is amazing, we could admire the view on the Danube and the parliament, the room was very confortable, clean, modern and well equipped.
We took also the breakfast every morning and really enjoy the quality and the choice of food.
And also, the service was nice too, we asked for 2 towels to go to the Széchenyi Baths, and the housekeeper brought them without any extra charge, with a big smile. We'd like budapest and probably will return in spring, and will stay at the Novotel danube again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest, fantastic that you have enjoyed your stay that much with us. Also great to hear you are planing to return to Budapest. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon, kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in Novotel Budapest Danube. Perfect room, perfect bed / sleep quality, quiet and superb view. Breakfast was wonderfull. I felt very well during all my stay in the hotel. I strongly recommend this hotel and will sure come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time and provide us with your feedback. It is always a pleasure to recive positive comments. Great to hear you are planning to come back. See you soon, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012 with my girlfriend. We had booked a standard double room (i.e. without a view of the Parliament Building), but when we checked in we found out the manager had upgraded us to a room looking out over the Danube and Parliament Building, at no extra cost.

The location isn't that central, as there's not much around the hotel, but there's a metro stop nearby which gets you to the main tourist areas very quickly. And the "inconvenience" is more than made up for by the absolutely spectacular view of the Parliament Building, by day and night.

Our double room had air conditioning (it was the hottest week of the year, and over 40C that week!), a flat screen TV, a cable to plug into your mp3 player to play your music over the speaker system in the room, a desk, and a sofa. It was a comfortable size, not too big and not too small.

I can't comment on the hotel breakfast, because we didn't eat there as it's very expensive. You probably get a wide choice of food, but we were happy with croissants or a light breakfast and coffee at one of the nearby cafés.

The bathroom was also a good size, although the shower has a glass/plastic divider that extends only halfway across one side of the room with no door for the other side, meaning that the water splashes across the floor in the bathroom. This is only a minor issue, as it dries relatively quickly and can be cleaned up with the bath towel provided. The mirror has been treated so that there is always a square in the middle which doesn't steam up when you shower - something that my girlfriend definitely appreciated!

The room was cleaned every day, and although the carpet in the room looked a little old, cleanliness was generally excellent. This hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days in Budapest, and offers good value for money, especially if you can take advantage of one of the occasional sales that the Accor Group has.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time and provide us with your feedback. This was good to read you have had a great stay with us. Special thanks for pointing out that the best deals can be booked on novotel.com. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September, in part because of the elevator, the parliament view, and the fitness center. These would be among the Pros, as well as lovely breakfasts, helpful staff,( were able to give my husband great directions to get back to train station and take the train to a town where his phone had been found) clean, if basic, rooms, and best of all, proximity to the Bethyany Ter Metro stop. The hotel appears to be a favorite of tour groups. The Cons to this hotel have mainly to do with location. The area has some lovely churches, the funicular, and of course the walk along the river, but seems economically depressed. ( Boarded up storefronts, what appears to be some kind of medical shelter) I would not have felt safe walking alone in the evening. In our group of 4 we took the Metro everywhere, so easy to use- we all agreed that staying on the Pest side of the river would have made more sense and been more fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I am happy about the facts you pointed out and please note that Budapest in general is very safe and particulary Buda side where we are with embassies and the Ministry of Foreign affairs. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back, kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is situated closely to "Batthyany Ter" metro station (red line M2), in the Buda residential area, next to the Donau river and has a spectacular view on the Parlement building. Perfect starting point for a trip in Budapest. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Rooms were spacious, very clean, and, if you are at the right side of the hotel, with a view. There was a minibar available in the room. Toilet is separate. Free WiFi has good reception and bandwidth. Only downside for me: I don't like carpet floors.

Price/quality of the hotel room is ok. This is not my first Novotel hotel visit: Novotel seems to have (more or less) the same furniture and bathroom equipment in their hotels around Europe. Always look out for promotional offerings via partner-sites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review. I am glad you have had a good stay with Novotel Danube and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Budapest Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Danube

Address: Bem Rakpart 33 34, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Budapest
#34 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#34 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Danube 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Danube is the perfect hotel for a holiday or short break in Budapest. This 4 star hotel on the Buda side of the city, between Margaret Bridge and Chain Bridge, overlooks the Danube and the Parliament. Walk just 10 minutes to the stunning World Heritage Buda Castle or a weekend of fantastic shopping in the cosmopolitan city centre. Enjoy the hotel restaurant and bar and unwind in our gym and sauna. The hotel is fully accessible for guests with limited mobility. Onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Budapest Danube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Danube Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Danube
Budapest Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Budapest Danube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.