We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on Danube river bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Budapest Danube

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Budapest Danube to your Saves list
Novotel Budapest Danube
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem Rakpart 33 34, Budapest 1027, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay on Danube river bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Location of this hotel is great - on the Buda side a few meters from metro M2 station at Batthyány tér and a few minutes walk from the trams on Margit bridge.
The rooms are very comfortable and modern and are kept very clean.
Bathroom is large in size, modern and clean. Wireless internet is included and worked well.
Hotel staff are very helpful with directions and booking taxis.
Breakfast was very good - a mix of pastries, hot and cold dishes and vegetables. Service at the restaurant was OK and the view to the Parliament building is certainly a way to start the day.

Only small drawback is the size of the TV which is very small and the fact the wired internet did not work.

Overall - highly recommended with excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get room with a view to the Parliament building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest, a huge Thank You for taking the time and provide us with your feedback. I am glad overall you were happy with Novotel Danube. I will look into the Internet issue you mentioned. Hope to welcome you back soon, kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    430
    78
    20
    4
See reviews for
229
287
55
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was in Budapest for 5 nights from in early November and stayed at Novotel Danube. I stayed in a room facing the inner courtyard which was a very good size, very quiet and kept in great condition. The staff here are very helpful and the breakfast buffet on offer is high quality with a great mix. I had dinner in the hotel also on a couple of occasions and food and service are both of very of high standard. Beautiful view during breakfast or dinner from the restaurant area straight across the Danube to the Parliment, which is always nice to have.
The location of the hotel is superb in my opinion and I walked pretty much everywhere in the city from here. Very close to metro station also if needed, and some great sights very close by also.
All in all would recommend highly to anyone thinking of spending a few days in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Noel, Thanks a million for your nice words. We apreciate your feedback and would like to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz In Rome
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed for 3 nights in a room facing the inner court yard. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, though smaller than similar rooms we stayed in other Novotel. The breakfast was tasty and had a good variety of food. The staff was efficient, helpful and friendly. The children loved the Xbox games. The internet connection was good.

Pest and castle hill are about 20 and 10 minutes walk away respectively.

We would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time and post a review. It was good to read you were satisfied with Novotel Budapest Danube. Hope to welcome you back soon, kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An excellent hotel, located centrally along the Danube river, with amazing views overlooking Parliament. Very close to the metro station (Red Line/Line 2), making the hotel an ideal place to stay for accessing pretty much most of the top sights (Castle Hill, Buda Hills, Danube Bridges, Thermal Baths - The Kiraly baths being the closest, being one or two streets away, and of course Parliament and St. Stephen's Basilica). All the staff are friendly and provide a good level of customer service. As for the breakfast, there is a great choice ranging from continental to English cooked, not to mention the fresh fruit and pastries. The times for breakfast are also good, being from 6.30 to 10.30 (approx). The rooms are furnished and equipped to a modern style, and are cleaned to a high standard - We were lucky to have a view of Margaret bridge, which is particularly great to see lit up at night. Overall, a very pleasant stay at Budapest Danube, and would definitely recommend. Well worth it's 4 star rating. Tom

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Tom, thank you so much for taking the time and leave a review. Myself and the Team are delighted you have had a good stay at Novotel Budapest Danube. See you soon, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Rooms are very good, perfect for few business days in Budapest.
The hotel is in opposite of Hungary parliament, near to Danube river
Good services and friendly staff. There are average rating for restaurant and breakfast.
You must pay for hotel parking- take in consideration these when you calculate the price for the hotel reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. Hope to welcome you back soon, kind regrads, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Hotel location was very good as was the Hotel, its staff. Our only complaint being that we could not cool our room, so a good nights sleep was out of the question.
We also thought that the Hotel's preferred taxi service was expensive compared to City Taxis or 8-888-8888!

The Hotel's location was wonderful for the Metro system, Tram service for the funicular to the castle.
Must visits - Hospital in the Rock and The House of Terror.

Take good walking shoes.

Excellent restaurants in Franz Liszt square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and we have noted your comments. Hope to welcome you back soon, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We got a very good room with a perfect view of the Donau river and the parlament building taken out of a postcard picture. The room was big and spacy and it had a shower/bathtub so nice for relaxing baths. Since it was a big room it was easy to relax and see some movies as this was included in the executive suite package we got. The breakfast was not very good because of bad/dry/crusty bread, overcooked bacon/sausages. We also tried a lunch menu and was not impressed compared to all the very very very good places to eat in Budapest. Just bear ind mind that this is on the Buda side of the river so there is a 30 minutes walk to the Pest side where all the shopping areas are primary located.

Room Tip: The execute package is recommended for the movie package and a good discount on taxi fares. Just rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest, I am glad overall you have had a good stay at Novotel Danube. Thank you for your comments and we will work on the points raised to serve you even better next time. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Budapest Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Danube

Address: Bem Rakpart 33 34, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#34 Business Hotel in Budapest
#35 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#37 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Danube 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Danube is the perfect hotel for a holiday or short break in Budapest. This 4 star hotel on the Buda side of the city, between Margaret Bridge and Chain Bridge, overlooks the Danube and the Parliament. Walk just 10 minutes to the stunning World Heritage Buda Castle or a weekend of fantastic shopping in the cosmopolitan city centre. Enjoy the hotel restaurant and bar and unwind in our gym and sauna. The hotel is fully accessible for guests with limited mobility. Onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Budapest Danube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Danube Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Danube
Budapest Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Budapest Danube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.