We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong with this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Court Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Court Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dob utca 63, Budapest 1074, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I recently stayed here for two nights & was pleasantly surprised.
This hotel is very good value. The silver suites are nicely equipped (even a clothes washer / dryer) You needn't pay more for a good hotel in Budapest. The spa was good although not as fancy as other very expensive hotels. The exercise equipment was good. Staff were helpful. SPAR grocery store very close by. Can't hink of anything negative about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    230
    66
    4
    7
See reviews for
81
365
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We loved this hotel. The staff was superb. The facilities are incredible.
We were in a Silver Suite and the kitchen was great. It saved us a great deal of money on meals that we could prepare "at home." There is a great supermarket just two blocks away. The pool was superb as was the jacuzzi. They even have a 24 hour PC that is available (with a printer) you can use to contact friends or check in for a flight or whatever. The location is excellent --very close to the M1 Millenium Line and to Trams. Make sure you get the front desk to order a txi to pick you up at airport and make sure you have them get you a taxi to the airport when you are finished with your stay. This will save you money. We would not saty anywhere else in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We booked a Silver suite at the Queen's Court and Residence through Hotels.com for a bargain and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are very spacious, there is a large living room area and a separate bedroom (both have a plasma TV), a spotless bathroom and a big fully-equipped kitchen. OK, maybe it's not as glamorously decorated as other 5 star hotels, but we found it to be just perfect, especially considering the affordable price. There is free internet in the lobby and a spa with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym. What more could you ask for?
The location is excellent, half way between the Keleti railway station and the centre of the city. Everything is in walking distance, you can't beat that. The immediate neighbourhood looks a bit tired though, but that's hardly the hotel's fault.
The only problem with the hotel is that the restaurant is too small and gets full really quickly. As there was only one waiter working in the evening, we had to wait almost an hour for our food. But the prices were good and the ambiance was nice, so that didn't spoil our holiday.
I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone, unless they're too persnickety and are used to staying at more expensive 5 star hotels. They might get disappointed. I personally thought the hotel was fantastic and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Good location, within walking distance of most attractions. Safe to walk around at night as well. The fitness room and pool are great too. Rooms are lovely, tastefully decorated and very clean. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in January 2009. This hotel is centrally located, only 15 minutes walk from the Western rail station and about the same to the Danube. It also just a few blocks away from Kiraly Utca with its nice range of bars, restuarants and shops.

I had a Silver Suite and it was exactly as shown in the pictures, very well equipped with full kitchen facilities including oven, dishwasher and full size fridge. Rooms were spotless and housekeeping did a great job every day, although they are so discrete I never saw them once during my four day stay.

The silver suite has plenty of room and the bathroom is also larger than an average hotel bathroom - very powerful shower, lots of towels and again maintainted to an exceptionally high standard.

There is a nice swimming pool, sauna and fitness area which although i didnt use, looked clean, modern and well equipped.

The main problem with this hotel was the staff. They never smiled, barely spoke and generally came across as if you being there was an inconvenience. Fortunatley I didnt have to deal with the staff too much.

This hotel markets itself as a five star property. However you should be aware that it does not come close what you would expect from a five star star property in western Europe.

Overall, rooms are fantastic, location is excellent - highly recommended and will definatley stay again when I return.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We were accually informed by the members of the staff working in the breakfast area that breakfast was included in our price and that the receipt slip that I had to sign on the third day of the three we stayed for, was 'just for administration'. What bull! When we checked out the hotel manager treated us like idiots for questioning the bill that was presented for us - a bill where we had to pay for breakfast! He showed us the other - unsigned - receipt slips for the other mornings, nevermind that we had gotten other information previously from his own staff.

We were treated with a hostility by the hotel manager that is unprecedented! He admitted that we of course should have signed all the slips but didn't make an effort to explain or appologize or compensate the mistake done by him and his staff, he just talked down to us in a really condescenting way.

I' ve stayed at many many hotels, mostly in Europe, but also in other places - I have never ever been treated so badly! So hostile and unprofessional. Could I do it again I would never had booked The Queen Court Hotel hotel, we left angry and hurt.

Do not book this hotel because if you question anything they're saying you will be treated like an idiot!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The hotel manager's KGB manors
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serioustraveller007, Manager at Queen's Court Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, February 10, 2009
It is truly an unexceptional behaviour, and we are very much sorry for this. This GM is not working for the Hotel anymore.
It is really a shame that all the other experiences of the guest went wrong because of the manor of the former GM who seemed to be very unprofessional in many other ways as well. Please come to the Queen's Court again, where you can enjoy the five star services again. We got rid of this bad person and now everything is in the right way again.
Our hotel management is sorry for the inconveninces and we guarantee that this will never ever happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Would highly recommend this hotel... we stayed over the new year period. Budapest was sooooo cold - the hotel was a warm cosy haven! Went with another couple and we booked 2 silver suites and although both slightly different they were excellent. Separate kitchen living area, cosy bedroom and lovely bathroom. Husband used the pool and sauna facility and said it was small but very enjoyable. The place is spotless and staff are very helpful... we didnt eat in the hotel as its in such a good location it was handy to pop out in the mornings and grab a breakfast at a more reasonable price!

Location wise the hotel is on a quiet side street - 5 minute walk (turn left out of the hotel then right and keep walking for a few minutes) and you are in a lively street full of lovely bars and restaurants. This street brings you out onto Andrassy where the Opera is and many more restaurants and shops. If you turn right out of the hotel you can catch the tram which will do a loop of the city if you wanted to see it all from a seat!

Would stay there again if I was going back....

  • Liked — Cosy and warm
  • Disliked — Price of breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#57 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#60 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Court Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Court Hotel & Residence

Address: Dob utca 63, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Budapest
#38 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#44 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#45 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen's Court Hotel & Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Queen's Court Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Court Hotel And Residence
Queens Court Hotel Residence
Queens Court Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Court Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.