We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Connection Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Connection Guesthouse to your Saves list
Connection Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Kiraly u. 41 | Doorbell 24, Budapest 1072 , Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

In the middle of district 6 and 7, where it's all happening in Budapest.
Amidst many popular ruin pubs (a must go when you visit Budapest!).
On walking distance of everything worth visiting in this city.
(We've lived in Budapest for nearly 2 years, in the same building as Connection Guesthouse, so I know what I'm talking about :-)

Very clean place.
Extremely friendly, helpful and 'fun to be with' staff.
Great value for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the court yard side are quieter. Especially in the weekend there's quite a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    38
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
38
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cancun
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Connection Guest house - great location, no more than 10 minutes walk from Deak Ferenc Square metro, and on the edge of the Jewish Quarter, with lots of bars and restaurants on hand.
Don't be put off by the entrance to the building which houses the guest-house, which is through a very non-descript door on Kiraly St, and up a couple of flights of ugly stairs, but once you get to the first floor, it all comes right. The guesthouse is really the converted first floor of a building. It´s cosy, but clean, efficiently run and with friendly staff. We had room 9 to the rear of the building, which apparently was a plus, as Kiraly St is very lively at night, (at least at the weekend, when we were there) so it can be noisy. Our room was a kind of mini-loft, with a sitting area with sofa and TV, and bathroom downstairs, and the sleepting area upstairs (the bed was very comfortable). There was a kettle and mugs in the room too, as well as a mini-bar at good prices. Wifi was available throughout.
Breakfast (Eur6 p/p, not included in the room price), was good and plentiful, and Lazlo prepared eggs and coffee for us, which was a nice touch.

Budapest is a walkable city, although it pays to plan your target areas, and the Connection guest house is well located and at a good price. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the guest-house, and not facing Kiraly Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have just stayed here for the second time. As someone has already written, don't be fooled by the run down exterior - that's quite a usual ex-communist country thing! Inside is stylish and spotlessly clean. The boys are so welcoming and friendly, and the convivial atmosphere spreads to the guests. Breakfast is at a communal table, continental style with a selection of hams and salamis, cheese, fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc. and they will freshly cook your eggs however you want them.

The rooms are immaculate and the showers are good. The back rooms are silent and the front rooms have thick double-glazing so the noise from the street and bars do not really bother you.

They provide a airport transfer service for €20. Well worth it as the guest house isn't the easiest place to find for the first time.

There is free wi-fi and nothing is too much trouble for them. They'll call you a taxi if you need, which is also good as there are some cowboy outfits in Budapest who can really rip you off. The location is excellent - right in the centre of Pest, near many bars and restaurants and just a short walk to the metro and bus stops.

I really cannot recommend this guest house enough. It will always be my first choice when I go to Budapest.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Service with a capital S
Unbelievable low prices
Perfect staff
Elegant rooms
Reasons enough for me to come back

THE people at Connection guesthouse make you feel at home from THE minute you enter their door !!!

In THE middle of Budapest

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteed1
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked this guest house for my first trip to Budapest and was so happy that I was able to stay here.

From the airport pick up, to the room, to the breakfasts, I was so very comfortable here and it really made my trip that much more enjoyeable.

I had Room number 8, facing Kiraly Street and a few bars, but the noise never really bothered me. The windows are very thick and if you close them, you won't be able to hear a sound. The room was huge and very well equipped and comfortable. They have a nice minibar with reasonable pricing as well.

The guesthouse is full of old charm and it's very easy to relax here. The breakfast was very good and nice way to chat with other visitors. Service was excellent and everyone who works here went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay.

I really loved the location. It's about a 15 minute walk to the city center, but the neighborhood itself is a great way to get to know the city. I got a much better feel for the city because it was easy to walk around and see how locals live.

I cannot reccommend this place highly enough (As well as Budapest itself). One of the few places I have been that I would stay again in a heart beat. Great value for what you pay. Much better than most of the Brand name hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving, we were slightly concerned by the slightly run down look of the exterior - don't be fooled. Once inside it's a lovely, homely, modern and friendly place!

Helpful and friendly staff, nice room, free wifi and nice breakfast (although you have to pay little extra for it)

Overall, a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Overall, really excellent experience here. It's in the trendier part of the city and alot of the tours I did were in walking distance to the guesthouse. Close to Andrassy street which has alot of nice restaurants. Also close to alot of the gay venues. Good thing about this place is that you are allowed to have overnight guests but they have to give their ID to be photocopied at reception is a a pretty good deal (and safer for you). Good gay club is Alter Ego. I heard that Action Bar and Coxx are sex clubs. Not a huge gay scene but decent. Room was really nice...super clean and brand new looking shower. Don't be fooled by the outside which looks rundown...very modern and homely inside. Walking up the steps in the building makes you feel like a local that owns an authentic Hungarian apartment. Only negative was that there was no AC but a little fan. Apparently, the weather was extraordinarily hotter than usual so I picked bad days to go.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room not directly facing Kiraly street...very noisy at night no matter what day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Connection Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connection Guesthouse

Address: Kiraly u. 41 | Doorbell 24, Budapest 1072 , Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Connection Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay friendly accommodation in the heart of Budapest, in walking distance to everything worth visiting. Services include breakfast, private bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, free internet, 24 hrs reception, safety box and many more. All major credit cards accepted. All taxes included, no hidden extra fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Connection Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Connection Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.