We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, average, boring 4 stars hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   So utca 6, Budapest H-1056, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honest, average, boring 4 stars hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

As a costumer you can review this hotel very easily... it's average... and a little bit boring...

All the expectations of a normal 4 stars hotel are met.
Good air conditioning. Quite good bed. Quiet room.
Clean enough. Shower tub. Minibar with reasonable prices.
And there are electrical outlets next to the bed (so rare unfortunately)!!!
Quite well located, 15 minutes walk from the main square, but very close to the main market and from the lines 3 and 4 (new line) of the metro.

One small flaw... The room is horribly small. If you are two with a luggage each, I don't really know where you can open them... The desk is not usable for working.

Ah, and I was supposed to have a small chocolate and a welcome drink but they were nowhere to be found.

Usually I don't take the breakfast in the tariff. I'm not much of a breakfast person. But when it is included I take it, even just to have a look...
Quite good selection of items. Hot and cold dishes... Average/poor quality...
And the breakfast room is way too small for the hotel and get easily overcrowded. I really don't like to hear and share conversations with strangers in the morning.

In general a good value for money hotel but you will not remember it. If for you a hotel is not just a place where to sleep, but part of your travel experience, look somewhere else.
Otherwise you will be more then please with this hotel, especially remembering that you are not paying much for it....

Room Tip: Only take a "relax" (executive) room if you are interested in poor coffee machine/tea make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    415
    132
    25
    24
See reviews for
71
505
58
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed in Boutique Hotel Budapest three nights at the beginning of June 2014.

The location of the hotel is excellent, next to Liberty Bridge, Váci utca and Central Market Hall, and around 400 meters from Kálvin tér metro station (metro line M3).

The room I had was good, clean basic hotel room, nothing special but it had everything I needed. Soundproofing could be better so hope that you don’t have noisy neighbours. Some people are complaining about the view from the room, but the hotel is close to everything, so just go out to look the city!

I had booked the “Relax room” option in order to have earlier check in and later check out (10 am / 6 pm). Otherwise the room is basically the same as the normal room, but you will get coffee and tea making facilities and a small piece of chocolate.

On the last day of my stay, when I came back to my room at 1 pm my key card did not work anymore. When I went to the reception, they already knew about that and apologised before I said anything. After that a housekeeper was about to enter the room even if I had the Do not disturb –sign at the door. As I had paid extra for the late check out, they should have paid more attention to the fact that I am going to stay in the room longer. Still the room price was very good for a four star hotel.

The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room was a bit small, so it was usually quite crowded. I also had a good three course lunch at Araz Bistro with less that 10 euros.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stay at this hotel in weekend for 2 nights. It`s a nice hotel, the location is very good. The price we paid was ok, 110 Euro/night but we noticed that the price of a room at the reception or for an last moment booking is very high, around 400 euro/for a double, regular room. It isn`t worth that much. We book a regular room, not executive, was a nice room with a kind of flat TV. We had always problems when we booked a boutique hotel with the door of the bathroom but in this hotel the door is ok, woden door not a glass door. The pillows are very hard. We ask for a room at higher floors, with the street view, was ok, not to noisy from outside. The room was small but we knew that when we booked. The room isn`t sound isolated from the others room so we heard our neighbours very well.
As a plus, the receptionists were very pleasent and helpfull with us, they even gave us nice umbrellas when it was raining. If you go there by car you must make a reservation for the parking, we forgot to to that, the parking cost 20 euros, but we manage to find every day a free parking for the days of the weekend.

Room Tip: Room at higher floors with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at Boutique Hotel Budapest recently for two nights.

The hotel is in an amazing location on the Pest side of Budapest. We arrived to Budapest by train and took the M4 line to Kalvin Ter then walked the last 5 minutes. It was really quick, cheap and simple! There are lots of bars, restaurants and tourist attractions within 10/15 minute walk.

Our bedroom was quite small, especially as we had two large suitcases but we only paid £50 a night so can't really complain. It was nicely decorated, bed was comfortable and there was TV with English speaking channels. Bathroom was also lovely and modern.

Breakfast was included in our rate. There was a good selection of hot food and the usual continental food and we didn't have any problems with table service. In fact, there were lots of empty tables when we went downstairs at around 9.15am.

Staff were helpful and pleasant at the hotel and they arranged a taxi for us when we had to depart early.

The only thing stopping me giving the hotel 5 stars was due to an issue on the 2nd day. We discovered our large towels had been removed and replaced with all small towels. When I called to ask for large towels I was told the hotel had had a problem with their laundry service and had no large towels. I find this quite unacceptable for a hotel that is supposed to be 4 stars. The staff member offered to send up more small towels, what was I meant to do with this, stitch them all together?!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it was a lovely boutique hotel, great value, nice breakfast and excellent location! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Valuable proposal, good breakfast with natural juices & good choice of food.
Spacious room with nice attic windows. Very good location near the historical center, central market & Vaci shopping street.

Room Tip: we like attic rooms, but keep in mind, that they have full height only in the part of the room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Located about 80 metres from the river and within the arc that holds the main tourist spots in Pest, this place was a real find. Buda was just across the adjacent bridge. Staff, particularly reception staff, were tirelessly helpful, obtaining tickets for museums and trams and giving all kinds of directions. Breakfast was varied and plentiful (although it did get crowded one day after 9). Bar served drinks and coffees and a variety of teas. I didn't eat dinner in the restaurant as there are so many other tempting places nearby. Rooms were very clean with nice sheets and a variety of pillows. Good shower in a modern bathroom. Slight quibble was that there was not quite enough room for two suitcases in the room, in these cabin luggage days, but we only slept there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and were immediately impressed upon arrival. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms immaculate and was in a superb location - just off Vaci Utca! I highly recommend this hotel as it is close to the shopping precinct, thermal baths and a tram/train ride away from main attractions. If we ever make our way back to Budapest, we will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Book on-line, find the best rate. We paid 164 EURO for 2 nights that included breakfast and WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#80 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#66 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#87 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#75 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Budapest

Address: So utca 6, Budapest H-1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Budapest Budapest**** is probably the best design hotel in Budapest. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!! The hotel is located in the heart of Budapest, a few meters from Vaci utca, in the midst of the city's best bars, restaurants, most exclusive shops, a few steps from the Central Market Hall, Gellert Thermal Bath and the Danube Cruise Terminal. All 74 rooms reflect the very popular, modern yet elegant style of international boutique hotels. All rooms were renovated during spring 2011 and now feature hardwood floor/parquette and design wallpaper. The newly opened ARAZ Bistro provides full (hot/cold) buffet breakfast in the morning, delicious, international lunch and dinner during daytime and evenings with friendly prices, and cocktails after dark. Underground parking is available, must be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.