We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for a cage....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   So utca 6, Budapest H-1056, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Zakynthos, Greece
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very expensive for a cage....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

In a good place, without noise, you find a room with double bed, without a area to...walk!!! A very small room, a very bad breakfast with typical food... I follow the choice to take my breakfast out, in other places.
The walls were "not existings"!!! You can hear any noise from other rooms, from other floors!
I will never visit it again, of course!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    358
    122
    18
    23
See reviews for
63
445
52
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have to say that this hotel is very convenient for the river. We picked it because we were going on a river cruise plus the good reviews. We were only staying one night

It was spotlessly clean and the reception staff were excellent. I expected the rooms to be small because of the other reviews and they really are small. I could not wait to get out of it in the morning but then I am a little claustrophobic. The beds were really comfortable and the linen was good. The bathroom although small was really nice.

Had no problem with the thin walls or noise from outside. We were on the top floor and the rooms next to us were vacant.

We had a delayed flight to Budapest and did not arrive at the hotel until 8.30pm. Because we were so tired we decided to eat in the restaurant. The staff were very nice but the food was only just about on the side of ok'ish. Probably would have said something but we were just exhausted. We would not have eaten there a second night had we been staying longer.

Breakfast in the morning was nothing short of chaos. The dining room and the bar area which they use was completely full. People were trying to eat from coffee tables in the lobby area. The area where you got your food was so narrow because the tables were so near to it. No space at all. The staff seemed overwhelmed and were not replenishing the food. Tea and coffee were a help yourself affair but no cups available, no breakfast tea, just earl grey and fruit bags. I cannot cope without a proper cup of tea in the morning

I tried to get myself something to eat and ended up with sliced white bread, something equivalent to flora and some cheese and ham. I have to say all was of poor quality and I could not eat it. I managed to get a croissant in the end. Worst breakfast we have ever had in a hotel.

Anyway we went over the road to the market and got a really lovely sandwich. There are lots of food outlets there on the top floor. Just in case anyone has the same experience.

I have given the hotel three stars because of the cleanliness, the comfort of the beds and the staff. I have given five stars for sleep quality because that was our experience on the night we were there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Mistakes made with room, got double bed, not twin as requested. Said would give us bigger room with extra single. If that was bigger, doesn't say too much for regular size, couldn't move between the beds and the walls!!
Walls/floors are paper-thin as reported by previous reviewers; you can hear every little thing, very disturbing!!!! Slept less in this hotel than anywhere before.
Party on the Saturday night went on ridiculously late - then returning customers to rooms, continued the noise.
No coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Mini bar is ridiculous amount
Wi-fi unsecure so watch out for any problems, I have discovered fraud on my account since returning home.
One positive is location - if you can accept other problems!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is excellently located very near Liberty Bridge and the Central Market. Reception staff were very helpful and booked up a visit to Parliament and advised us on good restaurants.
Breakfast was very good with a cooked option.
Room was small and very clean and had an excellent double shower.
Very well located for catching Metro and trams, though we found many sights within easy walking distance.
Tram no. 2 travels beside the river as far as Margaret Bridge, stopping at various points along the route including Parliament building, look for the steps down to the underground stop just before the Liberty Bridge on the Pest side. The entrance is not well signed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very impressed by this hotel and its great location. Staff were friendly and helpful, spoke good English and were smartly dressed. Only slight criticism was that my room on the 1st floor was very dark being surrounded by tall walls on all sides - even at midday it felt as if it was the middle of the night. I am not sure whether Hungarian hotels have a no-smoking policy in the rooms but mine smelt strongly of cigarettes when first entering. Strangely a box of matches and an ashtray were provided on a shelf almost directly underneath the smoke detector??!!!
As many other reviewers have commented, I never realised the thinness of the walls until one evening there were some new arrivals nearby. I could hear every word despite (fortunately) not being able to understand the language so maybe I would not choose to stay in the hotel when busy in high season.
Anyway, overall I really enjoyed my stay at the Zara and it more than met my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeaSzepe, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear BigglesBeds,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experiences with others. I am happy to hear that despite the few criticism, the overall impression of our hotel was still a positive one. It was great to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for highlighting our staff’s excellent service and central location. Many thanks again for recommending us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boutique Hotel Budapest****.

Best regards,
Tímea Szépe
Front Office Manager
H-1056 Budapest, Só u. 6.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjotorp, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This central located hotel is a medium interesting Boutique hotel. The best thing is the location, to be honest. Good price, though. Breakfast okej with some local interesting dishes.
They have built a lobby bar now, pretty nice place to relax in.
I would go back, but next time in Budapest I would go for one of the classics!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeaSzepe, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Eva H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted to read that you concerned our location ideal. Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future!

Best regards,
Tímea Szépe
Front Office Manager
H-1056 Budapest, Só u. 6.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The room is very minimalistic, and a bit small with a child.
The staff was great and very helpful.
The restaurant in the hotel was great, as we ordered a meal in our room ( as the baby was asleep).
The location is great, right across the great market, a step from vaci ucha.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeaSzepe, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Omer G,

Many thanks for your review on behalf of our team. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for highlighting our staff’s helpfulness attitude, our delicious cuisine and great location. We hope that you will come back to Boutique Hotel Budapest**** in the near future.

Best regards,
Tímea Szépe
Front Office Manager
H-1056 Budapest, Só u. 6.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Budapest

Address: So utca 6, Budapest H-1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Budapest Budapest**** is probably the best design hotel in Budapest. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!! The hotel is located in the heart of Budapest, a few meters from Vaci utca, in the midst of the city's best bars, restaurants, most exclusive shops, a few steps from the Central Market Hall, Gellert Thermal Bath and the Danube Cruise Terminal. All 74 rooms reflect the very popular, modern yet elegant style of international boutique hotels. All rooms were renovated during spring 2011 and now feature hardwood floor/parquette and design wallpaper. The newly opened ARAZ Bistro provides full (hot/cold) buffet breakfast in the morning, delicious, international lunch and dinner during daytime and evenings with friendly prices, and cocktails after dark. Underground parking is available, must be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.