We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel) (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel looks so good on paper. Fantastic building, spectacular lobby, historical café/restaurant, and a big reputation (and price tag). Yet we were happy to leave after two disappointing nights.

Staff weren’t particularly helpful. Location wise, it's quite a dodgy area. There are a lot of bars with men staring at you when you walk past. Our room was fine. It looked pretty but after a while you started to notice things. Scratches, stains, leaking shower etc.

We rang to enquire about booking a table at the restaurant downstairs and were just told it was closed without any explenation.

It was nice when it was over. I won't miss Budapest or the Boscolo!

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    418
    102
    39
    24
See reviews for
255
1,016
78
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Unavalible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My Boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and were no less than impressed. The hotel is spotless, staff clearly work very hard and are very helpful also! Fabulous service.
The spa is also wonderful after a day of sightseeing, a great way to wind down.
Quite central to everything, many tourist attractions and restaurants being within walking distance but the transport systems are very well developed and super easy to get around so it's simple to get from A to B.
I couldn't fault the hotel in any way, we were very satisfied!

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I cannot express how fantastic this hotel is, walking into the hotel was like walking into a Venetian Palace with all the beautiful lights in the main room. We were helped with our bags as soon as we got and the front desk got us booked into our rooms really quickly with no problems at all. The room itself was lovely, big King sized bed and the bathroom was what you need in a bathroom :)
What makes this hotel extra special is the friendly staff, they were all so friendly, from the receptionist to the concierge and the waiters, we were treated like royalty which we are not use to.
The breakfast spread that they have for guests is just amazing, you have a selection of fruit, cereals, hot food and cold food, it was a feast in the morning.
The location of the hotel is about 20 minutes walk towards the main center so be prepared for that, we love waking to we had absolutely no issues with the distance.
This hotel is known for the New York Cafe, we only went once and to be honest the food wasn't that amazing, the real Hungarian food is out in the City, but the cafe was lovely as obviously it was in our hotel but we just wanted to experience the real Hungarian food.
Overall this hotel was one of our favorites and if we come to Budapest again we would definitely come back here to stay. I highly recommend it to all other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is seriously indescribable. Upon arrival they upgraded us to the New York suite, possibly their nicest one.. for no particular reason other than the sheer kindness of their hearts. If it wasn't enough that the place will make your jaw drop upon arrival, they also treat you like you are the most important person to ever stay there. My only problem with the Boscolo Budapest was that it was so incredible, I had a hard time making myself want to leave the hotel to go explore the city. Hands down, this is the greatest hotel Experience I've ever had.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Being a Marriott Autograph hotel, Hotel Boscolo is a beautiful, luxurious, and, very clean hotel, not located in a touristy part of town, though it shares a building with the famous New York Cafe. The staff at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful during our two nights. My one concern was the difficulty of using the combination bath and shower. Though a gorgeous set up, it was exceptionally difficult to safely access, being quite slippery. My husband actually did slip. I would suggest they place some sort of traction on the bath/ floor.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The nineteen century architecture of this hotel is breath taking. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a 'Junior Suite' which was stunning in it's space, decoration and facilities. The hotel is also home to The New York Café and The Salon fine dining restaurant. The latter is definitely worth splashing out on. Just a word of warning. You are likely to be so impressed that you will want to leave a healthy tip for the very attentive and friendly staff but the bill will include a service charge of 27%
If you want a modern hotel overlooking the Danube then try the Continental, Marriott or Four seasons. However, if you prefer something a little special then The Boscolo is the one.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very fine hotel, grand, centrally located. The staff is amazing - very friendly and helpful. Easy access to public transpo.

The best thing is that on our last day we had to check out very early to catch a very early train - we were surprised to receive two "picnic" bags with sandwiches, fruit, and beverages for our 6+ hrs train ride. We did not ask for this and certainly did not expect it -- just amazingly thoughtful. Thank you Boscolo Budapest!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,846 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary New York Palace is the rethinking of the original edifice built in 1894 by the creative ideas of Maurizio Papiri and Ádám Tihanyi D. The building has an eclectic style relying on the Italian renaissance and baroque however modern contemporary interior design has gained ground in the formation of inner spaces creating one of the most dignified hotels within the Boscolo Group. The opulent splendour of New York Palace can be recognized not only in forms but materials as well. The most accented part of the impressive building is the ground floor Café with its 16 devilish fauns and - "El Ashmodai" the ancient figure of coffee and meditation - holding the lantern in such style and propagating the spirituality of the New York Café. All marbles, textiles and furnishings for the Hotel come from the original home of style and design: Italy. Inner spaces are decorated with bronze statues the ceiling with the marvellous original panel paintings of Gusztáv Mannhemer and Ferenc Eisenhut in the halls. Available for guests: 24 hours room service, luxury chauffeur service, baby-sitter service, rent a car, internet access, secretary service, business centre. In the accelerated world of today there is a need for such a place where one can rest & relax and enjoy the beneficial result of various special treatments. The outside world can be totally excluded whilst in the Spa and guests can indulge themselves in treatments promising "eternal life" with the help of professional masseurs and therapists. Situated on the first floor of the hotel, the five conference rooms and our Ball Room are holding the most up-to-date of audio-visual equipment. Appropriate to arrange any kind of, meeting, conference, training program, cocktail parties or business dinner... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.