We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate base in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #16 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First rate base in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We enjoyed our week in the Boscolo, which soon became home from home. Days spent exploring beautiful Budapest were made even better by the quality offered by the hotel: it's superbly appointed, the rooms are spacious and attractive, and although the hotel is on a busy boulevard, once you enter the spacious (and justly oft-photographed) atrium, all is peace and quiet. The staff are at least professional and often more, the breakfast spread (in no less than the New York Cafe) are probably unbeatable, and downstairs is a very smart Spa - we enjoyed several treatments there, and can attest to the very high standards maintained there. Some reviews have suggested that the Boscolo us a little away from the main sites - that's a plus for me, and with a metro station over the road (and with central Budapest being easy to get around of foot) you are never far from anything. Couple of minus points (and they don't really impact on the overall experience) - less piano music in the foyer would be good, and there are some design quirks in the rooms that could be thought out better - towel rails would help, for example. But don't let that put you off the boscolo - we will be back in Budapest before long and we wouldn't consider looking elsewhere - it's a magnificent hotel in a magnificent city.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a room with an accessible shower - ours was fabulous, but a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'RobJP'

Thank you very much for staying with us at Boscolo Budapest and I do appreciate your kind feedback.
I'm glad to see that overall Boscolo Budapest lived up to your expectations and we could provide a service that eased your stay in Budapest. It's also nice to see that our hotel facilities - especially our SPA - proved to be helpful and could give a plus to your experience. Finally let me thank you your constructive remarks as well, we will keep them in mind to be able to develop.

Certainly we would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    345
    70
    34
    22
See reviews for
202
806
65
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Early November we enjoyed 4 nights here. Our room was large and comfortable. Service was excellent without being in your face. Location was good with public transport and hop on hop off at the door. Breakfast was a special treat. Our one minor problem was sorted promptly and efficiently. We would certainly stay again and highly reccomend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'MockerkinEd'

Thank you very much for your balanced feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm glad to see that you had a nice time with us and I'm delighted to see that our hotel met your expectations.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Boscolo Budapest. Very friendly staff, great spa area and located in the city centre. You will probably find cheaper options for spa outside Boscolo, but it is very convenient just walking in your robe to tje spa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Vaued Guest 'Rockesokker',

Thank you very much for staying with us at Boscolo Budapest and thank you very much for your really kind feedback. I hope we can welcome you back next time as well.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. And the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We highly recommend a stay at this hotel. We have been for a 4 night stay in Budapest with 4 friends and had a lovely time. I like tea and coffee making facilities in my room which is the only thing missing on arrival. When i was asked at reception if there is anything that can be improved at the hotel I said about the this and by the time we got back from a day out, they had been delivered to my room and topped up every day. Wonderful.
The spa facilities at the hotel are free and beautiful. The hotel breakfast is everything you could want, including sparking wine and bucksfiz. (Which was a lovely start to our day). The stop for the hop-on-hop-off sight seeing bus is just a few meters from the hotel door and the hotel is in a really good position for walking about. Also we recommend going to the Cafe Bouchon restaurant for an evening meal. It's a taxi drive from the hotel but well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Clm1960',

Thank you for your precious time spent on providing your nice feedback about your stay with us at Boscolo Budapest. It's my pleasure to see that overall you and your friends had an enjoyable experience in our hotel. I hope we will have the chance to welcome back in Boscolo.

With kind regards,
Kinag ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kisjulya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great hotel, one of the best we stayed at. Great value for the money. Locations is little out of the center but metro is very close and taxi is very inexpensive. Rooms are large and beautiful. Bathrooms are huge and clean. We asked for a quiet room and got exactly what we asked for, no problems. Reception staff is super friendly and helpful.
One thing I was totally unhappy about were that they use very expensive taxi service at the hotel. We asked for a cab to go the airport and were accommodated with a nice Mercedes that cost us double of what we paid from the airport to the hotel. He did not even bother to turn on the meter. So if they would adjust this little unpleasant situation would be perfect.
Can't say anything about breakfast because we did not eat at the restaurant. There are plenty of little bakeries and street cafes where you can get pretty decent cup of coffee and some pretty good pastries that reminded me of my mom's cooking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'kisjulya',

Thank you for staying in Boscolo Budapest Autograph Collection, your kind words are highly appreaciated! I am happy to see that you were satisfied with your room and our front desk team lived up to your expectations.
Regarding the problem with our taxi service I would like to assure you that we will investigate the mentioned disservice and than we will take the neccessary action to avoide similar situations in the future.

With kind regards,
Kinga Engelbrecht - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

24 euros from the airport, takes about 25 mins. Wonderful hotel to arrive at. Entrance,lobby and New York cafe area all very special. Rooms large and great bathroom. Windows open, overlooking courtyard or road. Pillows a bit hard, but we forgot to ask for better ones. Reception staff very helpful, and nothing was a problem. The tour bus stops right outside. Not far to walk any where, into the center about 20 mins walk. Walk to the opera house is about 10 mins. A lot of good restaurants near by.Trams run just outside.
Spa area is lovely, pool not very big, one person can swim up and down. Don't wear slippers from the room as spa area gets wet and very slippery, both nearly slipped over. If you fancy a massage make sure to book early as they get very busy. A great city to go to and hotel well worth staying at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'eliza1005',

Thank you for choosing Boscolo Budapest for your stay during your city break in Budapest! It was nice to read that you enjoyed our hotel and you found our location in a convemient distance from the most famous sights of the city.
We are expecting you upon your next visit in Budapest!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

very good 5 star hotel in central budapest, great food and friendly and proactive service, stunning public areas and the new york cafe. Well appointed, if a little gaunt, bedrooms - facilities and size were great, just that the rooms looked a little under furnished and would benefit from more imaginative wall decor, even a few paintings / prints . very much enjoyed a 3 day stay there and would return. Breakfast was included and was one of the best buffets we have tried in many years of travel around the world. Great value for money.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms in the annex (silver lift ) or internal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'mackenzie',

Thank you for your kind feedback about your recent stay in Boscolo Budapest Autograph Collection. I am delighted to read that our hotel and services lived up to your expectations and I respect your comment about the room decor.
Your return to our property is more than welcome anytime!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#8 Family Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#13 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest 5 star luxury hotel Boscolo is located on Grand Boulevard, in the Budapest city center. Perfect for business travel or a relaxing weekend in Budapest, with the most luxurious and spacious rooms among 5 star hotels in Budapest. All Budapest attractions are within easy reach on foot (Budapest Opera House, Szechenyi Bath, Andrassy Boulevard) or with underground and tram just meters from the hotel (Buda Castle, Danube River, Budapest Parliament). The Neoclassical Palace, built in 19th century feature compelling Italian furniture and fabrics, highest quality of marbles, Murano chandeliers and silk wallpaper. The hotel's heart is the world famous New York Cafe with its wonderful frescoes and gilded stucco columns. The Salon fine dining restaurant offers a fantastic gourmet experience while the elegant Bar provides refreshing drinks and live piano music. After a day and enjoying the Budapest weather (we hope!), there's no better place to relax than the unique Boscolo Spa with wide selection of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.