We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very avg experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #16 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
SF
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very avg experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We checked out of the Four Seasons to check in to the Boscolo Budapest for our last night. It was a big mistake! The room service is inefficient and certainly not pleasant, but the housekeeping is even more abysmal! The beautiful cafe has barely passable food and service. The maintenance of the rooms is not up to speed either [lamps don't work, plugs are just dangling out of their sockets}. The ac did not cool well. The doormen refuse to let you have the cab you have called for ... its nuts! Architecturally it is worth visiting, but the rooms are large but have no views [it sits on a busy intersection].
The superb experience of the Four Seasons was diluted with the very mediocre quality of this Hotel's services. Yes, it has free internet!
Would I recommend this Hotel? Not to stay in, but certainly to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the entrance ... if you want a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Gourmetfoodie',

Thank you for your comment. I'm really sorry you had to leave disappointed but I appreciate your valued feedback. I would kindly like to assure you the inconveniences you experienced during your stay are not usual and I hope you may consider them as one off and not reflective to the quality service we try to provide for our guests.

I remain at your disposal may I be at your further assistance.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    345
    70
    34
    22
See reviews for
202
806
65
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was like being in a palace. we did not want to leave. We stayed in the junior suite, with a huge bathroom, tiled from floor to ceiling with beautiful marble. Bedroom and sitting area was gigantic, with separate dressing area and office. Staff were exceptional, food outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'TangoParrott",

Thank you for your very nice feedback regarding your stay at Boscolo Budapest. I'm glad that our Junior Suite exceeded your expectations and we are delighted to welcome you back anytime.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

There is no parking, you need to go park in the street or one in the paying ones, which is not so close.
In our room the toilet was broken(did not flush)we needed it to wait to a plumber to come and see it. I don't understand why they didn't fix it before our arrival?
The pros are: the room was very nice, the breakfast amazing( it had all the good italian stuff, like mozzarella etc.).
The building has an atrium layout and it is truly beautiful!
In overal it was a nice stay(after the plumber fixed things up)! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Diana K',

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I'm glad that overall you had a nice experience with us at Boscolo Budapest. I would kindly like to call your attention that Boscolo Budapest has its own 3 level garage and the rate of daily parking includes vallet parking service for our hotel guests. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the bathroom, I hope upon your return you will enjoy an excellent stay.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Boscolo Budapest and were thoroughly delighted with our stay. The staff are all friendly and attentive and happy to go out of their way to help out, especially Arpi on reception. The hotel itself is wonderful - from the moment you walk into the foyer, which is stunning, to the dining and breakfast rooms. Our bedroom was large with an equally large bed, so plenty of space to stretch out and relax. This was our first time in Budapest, which is a beautiful city with plenty to see and do, and with the metro station being a 30 second walk from the hotel, getting around to see the sights was easy. We feel that the Boscolo experience added hugely to our overall holiday enjoyment. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend both Budapest and the Boscolo to everyone. Could not fault our stay. Thanks again. All Boscolo staff are a credit to the hotel and the Boscolo is a credit to Budapest.

Room Tip: Would recommend the bed and breakfast option, as there's plenty of delicious choices, washed dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Ron T',

Thank you very much for your precious time spent on providing your really kind feedback about your stay at Boscolo Budapest. I'm delighted to see that you had a great experience with us and I'm also happy to see that by going above and beyond our staff could give an additional value to your holiday. It's really kind from you considering us as a credit to Budapest and certainly we are glad to welcome you back upon your return to Budapest.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with my mum to stay in this hotel for our birthdays. We arrived to a beautiful chocolate and strawberry plate with a big happy birthday next to it and that's where the experience began. Staff were wonderful, food amazing and the hotel itself gorgeous! The only pitfall would be for those looking for a spa suitable for the size of the hotel and unfortunately this is not (pool is not for those with kids as is small) but the beauty treatment was lovely.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Nic W',

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Boscolo Budapest. It was our pleasure to welcome you on such a nice occassion as celebrating your birthdays. I'm glad to see that overall you had a nice experience with us and certainly we would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and myself recently did a citytrip in Budapest. We stayed in the Boscolo Luxury Residence (part of the Boscolo hotel) as recommended by our daughter (who previously stayed there). The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. They really go the extra mile without being too "pushy". The friendliness was also genuine and not at all fake. We stayed a total of 6 days and thus met quite a few of the staff. All of them were excellent.
Of course the city itself is a beauty. Literally! Never been in a city that's so clean actually. The hotel is located close to (a couple of meters) one of the underground stations (for the red line) which makes travelling very convenient.
Breakfast at the Luxury Residence was not very "big" (not a lot of choice), but decent. You can get breakfast at the "mother" hotel as well, but you'll pay double. Actually, in Budapest, you should really go out to one of the cafés or bakeries and have breakfast there. Not only is it delicious, but also extremely cheap.
Our room (a suite actually) was located at a very busy street. Even at night, it seemed to be very busy and you hear it (about the only negative comment I can think of).

Room Tip: try to get a room that doesn't have the bedroom at the Rakoczi Utca if you are a "light&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'RafkeMagic'

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I'm delighted that your daughter's recommendation proved to be good. I appreciate your kind words considering our services and I hope we will have the option to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay here for two nights, but it was amazing. The interior of the building and the dinner in New York Café was wonderful. I felt myself as if I was going back some hundred years in time, and I was a lord! :) The service was super but not too fast, the meals were tasty!The location of the hotel is at a central part of Budapest, easy to get to sights or any other meeting points in Budapest!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Michael B',

Thank you for your really kind feedback about your stay at Boscolo Budapest, it is our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#8 Family Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#13 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest 5 star luxury hotel Boscolo is located on Grand Boulevard, in the Budapest city center. Perfect for business travel or a relaxing weekend in Budapest, with the most luxurious and spacious rooms among 5 star hotels in Budapest. All Budapest attractions are within easy reach on foot (Budapest Opera House, Szechenyi Bath, Andrassy Boulevard) or with underground and tram just meters from the hotel (Buda Castle, Danube River, Budapest Parliament). The Neoclassical Palace, built in 19th century feature compelling Italian furniture and fabrics, highest quality of marbles, Murano chandeliers and silk wallpaper. The hotel's heart is the world famous New York Cafe with its wonderful frescoes and gilded stucco columns. The Salon fine dining restaurant offers a fantastic gourmet experience while the elegant Bar provides refreshing drinks and live piano music. After a day and enjoying the Budapest weather (we hope!), there's no better place to relax than the unique Boscolo Spa with wide selection of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.