We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Boscolo Hotels are some of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in, they are a feast for the eyes. The desk staff were very accommodating & helpful in an eastern eauropean way so dont expect southern charm & hospitality! We had an unfortunate experience with a big water leak in the shower so the desk staff promptly moved us to a beautiful suite with 6 piece marble bath. Some might drag down the rating due to the water issue but the staff did the right thing to make up for the inconvenience of a room move. The rooms are spacious & nicely appointed and the rooms are as they look on line (no bait & switch with the pics). The restaurant is a must see but stay for at least a drink in the adjacent lounge to take in the grander!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have nice boulevard views & are in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    922
    277
    62
    31
    21
See reviews for
153
645
56
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was quite difficult to choose a hotel in Budapest. After having a good deal we decided to go for Boscolo. Not a bad choice but definitely not the best either.

They have very good parking facilities which we appreciate a lot. Your car will be safe here.

When you arrive your first experience is the impressive lobby or atrium if you like. It really is that! We saw florists spending hours making gorgeous floral arrangements in the lobby. The staff was attentive but not particularly welcoming.

The room was in brown tones which we do dot unfortunately like. And there was an odd chandelier which dominated the room. The room was very spacious though. The bathroom was impressive and made of natural stone. Good shower.

The breakfast was a little bit disappointing but the restaurant itself is like a piece of art. You do not find too many choices there but enough for most.

It was good but we would not go there again. Must be better choices to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'MixuFinland',

Thank you very much for staying with us at Boscolo Budapest and thank you for providing your feedback.
I'm delighted that most of our facilitiies were at your satisfaction but I'm sorry to see that the color combination we have in our rooms has't won over you.
I'm also sorry to see that you are not planning to return to our hotel but I would kindly like to assure you that it would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back anytime.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna.austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

excellent hotel with big rooms in central budapest. very friendly and helpful service. the only little critic could be that some smaller things need renovation, but this really depends on the room. the spa is a little "over designed". but all together a good place to stay in budapest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'viennafilm',

Thank you very much for staying with us at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection and thank you for your time spent on providing your kind feedback.
I'm delighted to see that overall you had a nice experience with us and I appreciate your feedback, I belive upon your next visit we will be able to provide an excellent experience.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great hotel with a beautifull old fashioned type of architecture. The location of this hotel is great, within walking distance to the centre of town. Lot's of fun sites around the hotel with many open air musicians. Easy to get lost in all the little streets, so it's wise to have some markers. The rooms werebig, clean and well serviced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Absolutly beautiful hotel, extremely friendly staff, large room (superior room), impressive architecture.
Probably the best hotel I've been to.
Location is pretty good, about a 15min walk into the center of town.
The restaurant (New York Café) is very impressive, excellent food at very good prices.
The staff is very friendly; all speak English and are very service minded.
My girlfriend visited the spa for a massage and was very pleased with the treatment.
We had breakfast included which I recommend. Could have been a little bit more varieties, but over all very good.
All in all, it’s a great hotel that I would recommend anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed with my friend in the boscolo new york palace hotel for four nights. It was recommended to me by friends of mine who stayed there last year. I can honestly say I have never experienced anywhere what I did in this hotel! From when we arrived we were greeted warmly at reception despite out late arrival! When You walk into the hotel you are transported to a fairytale setting! Every individual working there made out stay an unforgettable one! Location is very good with tram stops nearby! The facilities are Magnificat, we both had massages in the spa, book early to avoid disappointment as they were almost fully booked! We used the gym whilst it's small it had everything needed! The concierge was super helpful and arranged a city tour for us which was fantastic, picked up and dropped off at the hotel! The breakfast was fantastic so much to offer!! Everything was amazing and it really made our trip! Beautiful hotel for a beautiful city! I will definately return to this hotel! Thanks to the hotel again!! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I came to this hotel for a business meeting. Stayed 2 nights and all seemed to be OK, but after we have checked out my credit card was charged again at this hotel and then a copy of it was used at different location throughout the world.
Of course the hotel did not want to know anything about it and getting the overcharged money took more than a month - various excuses: the offices were closed, they were in Italy, etc...
Finally the company that organized our stay at this miserable place reimbursed me the money! After a month there was no reaction from the hotel!
Food is just as the food should NOT be like, simply no taste.

Room Tip: be careful with your credit card - they will try to cheat you on the credit card for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Jaroslaw S',

Thank you very much for staying with us at Boscolo Budapest.
Please accept my most sincere apologizes for the issues you experienced but it I would be delighted to discuss it with you as unfortunately we were given other information.
I would kindly like to assure you that Boscolo Budapest handles personal information and credit card details as the top priority confidential information and delivers to no third party at all.

May I be at your further assistance please feel free to contact us via guest.relation@budapest.boscolo.com

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest 5 star luxury hotel Boscolo is located on Grand Boulevard, in the Budapest city center. Perfect for business travel or a relaxing weekend in Budapest, with the most luxurious and spacious rooms among 5 star hotels in Budapest. All Budapest attractions are within easy reach on foot (Budapest Opera House, Szechenyi Bath, Andrassy Boulevard) or with underground and tram just meters from the hotel (Buda Castle, Danube River, Budapest Parliament). The Neoclassical Palace, built in 19th century feature compelling Italian furniture and fabrics, highest quality of marbles, Murano chandeliers and silk wallpaper. The hotel's heart is the world famous New York Cafe with its wonderful frescoes and gilded stucco columns. The Salon fine dining restaurant offers a fantastic gourmet experience while the elegant Bar provides refreshing drinks and live piano music. After a day and enjoying the Budapest weather (we hope!), there's no better place to relax than the unique Boscolo Spa with wide selection of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.