We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel) (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband took me to Budapest for our 40th wedding anniversary and we stayed at the Boscolo, this hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are all so polite and helpful and if you have a problem it is no trouble and dealt with straight away. The dining area is like somthing you would see in a palace with paintings and gold ornate figures everywhere, the breakfast was really nice with loads of good choices from continental to scambled eggs, bacon and sauages with fresh fruit etc!! they also have champagne if you fancy some with your breakfast which was nice because we could toast our anniversary in style on the day. The one thing I would say is that in the room they do leave you complimentary tea and coffee, but the tea is earl gray or fruit tea which neither my husband or myself like so it would be a good idea if they left you some breakfast tea in your room and maybe a few more milk cartons as after a hectic day you just want to come back to a nice cup of tea. If every I get the chance I would definately stay there again. I will be 60 next year so if I drop enough hints to my husband you never know he may take me back!!!! One tip if you are staying more than 3 days do get yourself a 72 hour pass as you can use it on all the transport and it is well worth the money as we did loads of sightseeing

Room Tip: The room we had was lovely and to be honest there was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    437
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
280
1,055
78
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Boscolo Budapest is a stunning hotel that lives up to its reputation. The building itself is absolutely stunning both inside and out. If you are looking for a unique experience in a city of stuning architecture you can really live it at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, modern and fitted with huge bathrooms with "rain showers" that have the propensity to make you want to stay in there all night!
The New York Palace Bistro on the ground floor is like stepping back in time. It's beautiful gilded walls and frescoed ceilings are out of this world. The downside to this beauty is the price. It appears to be a "destination venue" for other visitors to Budapest so it is quite expensive considering it is the sole eating venue for hotel guests. The satff are not overly fast on their feet either.

The hotel staff are helpful, professional and well mannered and the spa is a great way to unwind.

If this hotel has any downside, it is the vast internal courtyard space that is empty. This could be used to provide a great venue for guests to relax with coffees and newspaper on chaise lounges etc.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate for a second in recommending this hotel. With this hotel, you are in the centre of everything and get to experience a beautiful turn of the century style that epitomises Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for three nights, mainly because it looked like a wedding cake from the photos. Inside it was equally tasty. The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful. The New York Cafe is stunning and a great place to have breakfast. We got upgraded to a superior room, I'm not sure why, I have Marriott Rewards membership, so maybe that paid off. The room was huge, lovely firm king size bed and the blackest of black out curtains. My only complaint is that the spa wasn't the most relaxing if spaces. It's quite small (though looks fabulous) and more than a few people gets quite crowded. The hotel is walking distance from the metro, trams and buses. Getting around Budapest is really easy and it's a beautiful city so makes sure you choose a beautiful hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at The Boscolo Budapest . Wonderful hotel in every sense. Make sure you experience the Fine Dining restaurant ,we went on two evenings and food and service out of this world on both occasions. Deserves to be given a Michelin star rate. The building is beautiful,our room was a good size and extremely comfortable. On reading another review on trip adviser I took with me a small travel kettle as the person had said this facility was not provided in the room..This information was incorrect. Our room had a kettle with a variety of teas and coffees provided. The spa was a great bonus,we used it for steam room, sauna and relaxing each evening. Only downside was that we tried to book treatments but they were fully booked while we were there. My advice would be to book as soon as you arrive (we left it until the 2nd day !)
Breakfast was excellent,felt very special having champagne every morning. Good choice of food.

Now for the other mention in the title!

We were unfortunate to have been taken in by a scam on our first evening of our holiday .
It was 7.15pm, we were walking along when a smart young man asked if we could tell him where the railway station was as he was having difficulty in reading his hotel map. We have helped many people in the past so nothing unusual. Then another man came up to us,said he was an undercover police officer,showed us his police badge which had his photo on it. He had quite an aggressive manner and said that they were checking on counterfeit notes that had been exchanged on the street,thought we had been exchanging money and demanded to see I d and money. The first man got his I d out and the money from his wallet. The policeman examined these and gave them back to him. He then checked my husbands money and gave it back to him.
He then looked at my money, which was all English notes,we were going to exchange them that evening as rates are much better than at home. He gave it back to me but then said he had to recheck,he was quite aggressive and to be honest I was quite intimidated by him. On handing me my cash back I straight away realised he had kept some ,I immediately shouted at him to give me back my money,my husband grabbed him,shouted for help and he did give me back some of the money before he ran off with my husband chasing him.He had got away with £100 of my money. We cannot believe how stupid we were to be taken in ,so I am writing this to warn other people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A grand yet modern hotel, with a lobby that takes your breath away. The service was similarly superb, and this standard continued into the room. We paid £80 per night and for that price it really wouldn't be fair to mark it less than 5 stars.

If I were being pedantic I'd ask why a 5* hotel doesn't have tea and coffee facilities in the room, and why at breakfast there's cereal but no bowls and only plum jam... but at £80 then I'll take those hits!

The location isn't dead centre Budapest, but with such excellent public transport links you can get to the Danube about 10 minutes after leaving your room using the metro stop 100 metres from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful building - however it is a bit incongruous in the surrounding area which isn't that great compared to the likes of the Gresham or Sofitel. Budapest is easy enough to navigate round by foot, tram or metro - and the area next to the hotel has a few ruin pubs close by if you are interested in that - some good restaurants to, you just need to seek them out using the TA recommendations.

Interior of the building is just as beautiful. My room was absolutely enormous, however looked onto a nothing courtyard. Room was clean, very well equipped, everything worked. Bed was enormous and super comfy. Staff are friendly.

I think I read a review below that said the Spa was rubbish, which is not true. It is an interesting labyrinthine design. Sauna - good. Steam room - needs to be hotter. Different showers and plunge pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'ArtemisLDN',

Thank you very much for your precious time spent on providing your kind feedback regarding your stay with us.
I'm glad to see that overall you had a nice stay with us and I'm really happy to see that our hotel and staff lived up to your expectations.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife surprised me for my 30th with three nights at the Boscolo. It was magnificent. The hotel is extremely luxurious and the food delicious. Champagne was included with breakfast, which was a real treat, along with the birthday cake found in our room from the hotel. We had a one year old baby with us and the staff were always smiling and accomodating to our every need. The spar was brilliant after sight seeing all day. This is the place to stay if visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 5,025 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#21 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary New York Palace is the rethinking of the original edifice built in 1894 by the creative ideas of Maurizio Papiri and Ádám Tihanyi D. The building has an eclectic style relying on the Italian renaissance and baroque however modern contemporary interior design has gained ground in the formation of inner spaces creating one of the most dignified hotels within the Boscolo Group. The opulent splendour of New York Palace can be recognized not only in forms but materials as well. The most accented part of the impressive building is the ground floor Café with its 16 devilish fauns and - "El Ashmodai" the ancient figure of coffee and meditation - holding the lantern in such style and propagating the spirituality of the New York Café. All marbles, textiles and furnishings for the Hotel come from the original home of style and design: Italy. Inner spaces are decorated with bronze statues the ceiling with the marvellous original panel paintings of Gusztáv Mannhemer and Ferenc Eisenhut in the halls. Available for guests: 24 hours room service, luxury chauffeur service, baby-sitter service, rent a car, internet access, secretary service, business centre. In the accelerated world of today there is a need for such a place where one can rest & relax and enjoy the beneficial result of various special treatments. The outside world can be totally excluded whilst in the Spa and guests can indulge themselves in treatments promising "eternal life" with the help of professional masseurs and therapists. Situated on the first floor of the hotel, the five conference rooms and our Ball Room are holding the most up-to-date of audio-visual equipment. Appropriate to arrange any kind of, meeting, conference, training program, cocktail parties or business dinner... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.