We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel) (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

...we thought it was going to be perfect and it wasn't.

Some of the furniture in the room should not have been there as it had visible wear and tear (chipped chair, stained desk). The ceiling in the bathroom had a big stain from a previous leak upstairs. We wanted to have some tea in the business centre but there were no clean cups or tea when we visited.

Now that I've got the negatives out of the way, let's focus more on the positives!

First of all the building is an amazing masterpiece of architecture! I can honestly say it was the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at. Every single time I walked into the main atrium, I couldn't help myself to take a picture. It is mesmerizingly beautiful.

We stayed four nights in a superior room, which had its own private balcony overlooking the boulevard. Fantastic view! The bed was really comfy but the real gem of the room was the massive bathroom. We loved the oversized bathtub!

The spa was good, although it only has a pool which has a bit of a jacuzzi at one end. On the other side of the wellness area there is a steam room and sauna. We only went once as we enjoyed our bathtub so much more. 4/5

The breakfast is served in the beautiful New York Cafe and there is so much to choose from. I loved waking up each morning and have breakfast in such a beautiful room. 5/5

When it comes to ratings I was hesitating between a 4 and a 5. I decided to give a 4 this time because of the problems we had. On the positive side though, at the end of our stay the hotel acknowledged the problems and offered us a free upgrade to a Junior Suite on our next visit.

Hopefully we can take advantage of the offer next year on our return to Budapest.

Room Tip: Superior room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    418
    102
    40
    24
See reviews for
256
1,017
78
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It's a fabulous building encasing a hotel. Having stayed at a Boscolo before I was eager to stay here on my first trip to Budapest. First impressions not great, I was not greeted outside and helped with my luggage. I was only approached by a member of staff after I was in the pre- reception area. Check in very fairly smooth. I was not shown to my room and upon disembarking from the lift it was not obvious were my room was located, there were staff milling around but no one offered to help. As there is only one sign showing location of rooms and then there seemed to be lots of rooms off passageways, signage could be a bit better. Mmmm not sure what the job of the concierge is - gave us a few directions and maps but had to go to the front desk to arrange a restaurant reservation - who were excellent and very helpful. Rooms lovely, bed great, breakfast pretty good lots of homemade produce had a great waiter each time. Ate at the stunning New York Cafe a couple times - highly recommended. Also had a meal at the New York Salon, this is fine dining and is expensive but well worth it for a special occasion, service faultless. This is not a good looking location but there are travel systems available right on the doorstep to take you to the Banks of the Danube, Bascilica etc. I enjoyed the walk to these places. Not sure this establishment warrants 5 stars. If you want five star service go to Italy they know how to do it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "donmat1964",

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for your precious time spent on providing your valued feedback.
First and foremost please accept my most sincere apologizes for the inconveniences you experienced upon your arrival by our not being able to provide our standards. I hope you may consider this issue as one off and not representative of our services in general we provide for our guests.
I would kindly like to assure you that we checked the reasons causing the lack of excellent service and we made new efforts to avoid such situations in the future.
I appreciate your feedback regarding the signage, I hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back and we can provide a service fully exceeding your expectations.
I do appreciate your kind comment regarding our Salon restaurant and your kind recommending our New York Cafe.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Check in took over 20 minutes, with just 1 clerk checking people in, this was at 7pm in the evening. Had a superior room and it was anything but superior. Very old, dated and poorly maintained. Had room service, which was of poor quality, badly cooked and very badly presented. Ordered an iron for the room (Despite website stating an iron is in each room, there wasn't), the iron never arrived. Check out the following morning was just as bad, 15 minutes standing in line. I did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on that.
Following my stay I was asked for feedback, which I gave to the Guest Relation's Email address stated - no response. I followed up with a later mail, also no response. It would appear that this hotel does not take complaints seriously.

I have stayed frequently in Budapest and around the world and this is the first time I have felt strongly enough about poor service and quality to write a review. I would recommend that if you want a good, well run, friendly, clean, modern hotel, stay in the Marriot Courtyard or the Radisson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "Redmolusk",

Thank you for your valued feedback as it gives us great lead on fields in need for improvement.
First and foremost please accept my most sincere apologizes for the service not living up to our standards and the inconvenience this may caused.
I'm also sorry for the poor follow up as we take our guests' feedback seriously and we'll find out the reasons and circumstances causing this negative experience for you.

It would be our highest honor to win your trust in Boscolo Budapest back and please feel free to contact me directly if I may be at your further assistance.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is close to the center of Pest and near all subway and tram hubs. The building was beautifully renovated and the cafe / restaurant area looks like an Italian baroque palace with a history. Very large rooms, helpful staff, delicious breakfast. The spa was also a pleasant a relaxing experience (although it was similar to the spa experience you would get in a luxury hotel - going to the real Budapest baths is more authentic and unforgettable).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had the chance to spend a day at the Beautiful Boscolo Hotel in Budapest. The lobby is stunning, and the service very welcoming the minute you walk in. I got advice about things to see and do in Budapest, and other hotels within the chain that are good to visit as well. Although my room was not ready when I arrived, I was treated to a visit to the associated New York Cafe. This was one of the highlights of my trip. It is glamorous, and makes you feel like you have gone back in time. I liked both the feel of it, as well as the food itself, and ended up eating there twice more during my stay! It is nice to know that it now also has the backing of a major, reliable hotel chain, Marriott. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautifully restored building. No one comes into lobby and not take a photos. Rooms are large attractive decorated. Location is near all major transportation sites. Having a good restaurant is a plus. Recommend spending at least several days if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The building is spectacular and is probably the second best luxury hotel in Budapest after the (very expensive) Gresham Palace. Transport links are superb with a tram stop outside, a metro line 50 metres away, and a mainline train station a 10 minute walk (or 1 metro stop).

The staff at reception and the concierge service deserve full marks. After checking out early we had a final day in Budapest before our evening flight home. We returned to the hotel a little later than planned and our luggage and taxi was waiting for us, all arranged by Concierge.

Our waiter in the famous New York cafe on the ground floor was a little impatient but the cake and coffee made up for it! The food menu for lunch and dinner was slightly overpriced in the hotel. But in comparison the breakfast room service menu was in fact great value.

Bedrooms are Very spacious, bigger than most apartments. I didn't have an opportunity to visit the pool but I understand from my partner that it was small.

This great building and fantastic location deserve high marks and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,849 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary New York Palace is the rethinking of the original edifice built in 1894 by the creative ideas of Maurizio Papiri and Ádám Tihanyi D. The building has an eclectic style relying on the Italian renaissance and baroque however modern contemporary interior design has gained ground in the formation of inner spaces creating one of the most dignified hotels within the Boscolo Group. The opulent splendour of New York Palace can be recognized not only in forms but materials as well. The most accented part of the impressive building is the ground floor Café with its 16 devilish fauns and - "El Ashmodai" the ancient figure of coffee and meditation - holding the lantern in such style and propagating the spirituality of the New York Café. All marbles, textiles and furnishings for the Hotel come from the original home of style and design: Italy. Inner spaces are decorated with bronze statues the ceiling with the marvellous original panel paintings of Gusztáv Mannhemer and Ferenc Eisenhut in the halls. Available for guests: 24 hours room service, luxury chauffeur service, baby-sitter service, rent a car, internet access, secretary service, business centre. In the accelerated world of today there is a need for such a place where one can rest & relax and enjoy the beneficial result of various special treatments. The outside world can be totally excluded whilst in the Spa and guests can indulge themselves in treatments promising "eternal life" with the help of professional masseurs and therapists. Situated on the first floor of the hotel, the five conference rooms and our Ball Room are holding the most up-to-date of audio-visual equipment. Appropriate to arrange any kind of, meeting, conference, training program, cocktail parties or business dinner... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.