We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please bring me a Marriott bed...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel) (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #20 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Kirkland, Quebec
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Please bring me a Marriott bed...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Boscolo is beautiful, historical, romantic...but in some aspects not so practical. The efforts from the very helpful, friendly and dedicated do not overcome some of the simple flaws that could easily be fixed to make the stay worthy of a perect note.

1. Check-in (Excellent): We did not wait, the bellboy litterally ran to take our luggage, the desk attendant spoke great english, smiled and offered to help in any way he could. We also got upgraded to a junior suite without asking anything. Note 5/5

2. Room layout and Cleanliness: (Excellent), the rooms are spacious, clean and well-maintained. They must have been renovated recently. Everything worked well. Note 5/5

3. Bed: (Lousy): Imagine, you expect a Marriott bed and you get something very average. It is the standard you expect from a 4 stars in central Europe. It is not that it is so bad, it is just bad for a Marriott (the bed quality is a prime reason for choosing a name brand). Note 2/5

4. PIllows: (Average) Nothing to report. 4 Ordinary pillows. Note 3/5

5. Soundproofness: I don't know if we were lucky but we did not hear street noises or anything from other rooms (other than the construction in the room next door during the day) Will give the benefit of the doubt. Note 4/5

6. Bathroom: (Average) It is beautiful marble everywhere. The shower has a great cool design but does not fill its intended purpose efficiently, on top of it, expect the pacific ocean on the floor after you are done.Note 3/5

7. Amenities: (Good) Comfortable bathrobe, slippers, products...were provided and in good condition. Note 4/5

8. Location: It is not bad but, while you are not too far (a hop on the subway, taxi ride or 30 min. walk) you are also not too close to the sights. The other Marriott is a better location as is the Kempinski. Note 3/5

9. Restaurant/Spa: The Cafe is magnificent. We only had coffee there and service was so-so. Choice of restaurant very limited. SPA is ok but was clearly an aftertought during renovation. You can find better in Budapest Note 3/5

10. Price: Price of the room was comparable to other similar hotels in Budapest for that date. Note 4/5

A beautiful hotel with very good, smiling and efficient staff but a few things need to be addressed to be convinced to choose it again when traveling to Budapest...especially awaiting the Marriott bed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    418
    101
    39
    24
See reviews for
255
1,013
78
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had lunch at the New York Cafe years ago but had no idea
It was surrounded by a palatial bldg. that had been restored to its
Original luster. Marriott acquired it and added the Boscola inspired
Structure to its Autograph collection. As with Marriotts other autograph
Hotels..this is a beauty. Large rooms, bath's, free wifi, lovely Italian
amenities, Nespresso machines, jacuzzi tubs..separate showers..dual
Sinks, large closets. Don't worry about view here..it's not on Danube.
Good metros to all parts of city. Great neighborhood of cafes incl. Italian

Room Tip: High floor..quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvette.randquist@victoriakliniken.com
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loved the hotel and the New York cafe :-) The location could have been a little better . Nice and friendly staff ! Very nice rooms, clean and nice design.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel conveniently located.
The lobby is stunning, especially at night.
Service was friendly and helpful.
Rooms are well appointed and feel cozy.
The food at New York Cafe inside the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced for such a grand venue. Breakfast is served there too and was also good.
I wanted to try a treatment at the spa but it was fully booked so you might want to book in advance. I tried the gym, pool and hammam which were very good (although th gym equipments are limited). Great ambiance, feels like a grotto.
Altogether a very good hotel with good value for money.

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel conveniently located. Service was friendly and helpful. Rooms are well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel was perfect. The staff was helpful, and nice. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. It was in a nice location for tourist attractions. I definitely recommend this hotel. You can usually trust any hotel affiliated with Marriott.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

First morning: The television woke me up at 7 am, even though I had not set any wake-up time.
Second morning: The television woke me up at 7 am, even though I had not set any wake-up time. Later, at checkout, they tried to charge me for pay-TV, which I certainly had not used.

This is not a serious hotel - be aware and avoid it!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Boscolo in June 2012 as the first leg of our trip. We started in Budapest and then went on to several stops in Croatia. We could not have been more pleased with this excellent property and it was by far the best property we encountered on our trip.

First and foremost, the staff is outstanding. From the moment we arrived at the check-in desk, they were extremely helpful, polite, and offered great advice on what to do and see while we were in Budapest.

The property is also amazing. This was my first Autograph collection experience and I was very pleased. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the NY Cafe attached is quite breathtaking- which is where the hotel's breakfast is served. The rooms are huge and well kept and modern. The bed was so comfortable- I didn't want to get out of it!

The location is very good as well. They have a hop-on hop-off stop right outside the hotel, which was very convenient. The rest of the time we walked everywhere we wanted to go in 15 minutes. We didn't take a taxi the entire time we were there.

Definitely stay here! You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 334 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,843 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 334 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary New York Palace is the rethinking of the original edifice built in 1894 by the creative ideas of Maurizio Papiri and Ádám Tihanyi D. The building has an eclectic style relying on the Italian renaissance and baroque however modern contemporary interior design has gained ground in the formation of inner spaces creating one of the most dignified hotels within the Boscolo Group. The opulent splendour of New York Palace can be recognized not only in forms but materials as well. The most accented part of the impressive building is the ground floor Café with its 16 devilish fauns and - "El Ashmodai" the ancient figure of coffee and meditation - holding the lantern in such style and propagating the spirituality of the New York Café. All marbles, textiles and furnishings for the Hotel come from the original home of style and design: Italy. Inner spaces are decorated with bronze statues the ceiling with the marvellous original panel paintings of Gusztáv Mannhemer and Ferenc Eisenhut in the halls. Available for guests: 24 hours room service, luxury chauffeur service, baby-sitter service, rent a car, internet access, secretary service, business centre. In the accelerated world of today there is a need for such a place where one can rest & relax and enjoy the beneficial result of various special treatments. The outside world can be totally excluded whilst in the Spa and guests can indulge themselves in treatments promising "eternal life" with the help of professional masseurs and therapists. Situated on the first floor of the hotel, the five conference rooms and our Ball Room are holding the most up-to-date of audio-visual equipment. Appropriate to arrange any kind of, meeting, conference, training program, cocktail parties or business dinner... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.