We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historical Journey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holocaust Memorial Center

Holocaust Memorial Center
Pava St. 39, Budapest 1094, Hungary
+36 1 455 3333
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$19*
and up
Ranked #33 of 422 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Holocaust Memorial Center is a national institution established by the Government in 1999. In 2002, it decided to construct the building of the Center in Pava Street, outside of the traditional Jewish quarter, further emphasizing its national character.The Holocaust Memorial Center is one of the few institutions in the world, established by the state, that focuses entirely on Holocaust research and education.The visitors are welcomed into a unique space that was named as the most impressive in Budapest, beside the city's panorama itself by Frank Owen Gehry, one of the leading architects in our time. The modern building is organically linked to the Pava Street Synagogue, an authentic venue that once used to be the second largest site for Jewish worship in Budapest.The Institution is a center for scientific research education and culture. It welcomes visitors with interactive permanent and special periodic exhibitions, experience-based museum pedagogical programs and cultural performances. Guided tours are available in five languages and special, thematically focused tours are offered regularly. A bookshop and a cozy coffee shop contribute to a memorable visit.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Historical Journey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a very stark and down to earth story of the atrocities mankind can incur upon others. No matter what side of the divide you come from, you should visit this museum just to understand not only the bad things humans can do but also how mankind can and does survive these horrible things. It is truly remarkable

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    189
    49
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A Must Visit. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Gives you a glance from the past... a totally different perspective of beautiful hungary; the progress that it been through since & the destructive racist/antisemitic human nature in overall, this time in Europe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Visited the exhibition and synagogue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

For some reason I seemed to have missed some of the sights seen in the picture here. But no regrets, the exhibition was excellent and I never had known so much about Nazi's and their obsession to spread the Aryan race. I really felt for the victims and the visit makes me rethink my own views on certain sections of the society. I would also say that the Jews have done a good job in researching and educating people on their plight during those times. I think my own people (Hindu's) need to gather evidence of the various Hindu genocides that happened during the era of Islamic invasions. The holocaust of Hindu kush & more recently the plight of Kashmiri pandits needs to reach the world. Also the holocaust of Sikhs, Tibeteans and Muslims in certain cases needs to be researched and shown to people. The idea is to stop killings based on religion, looks, sexual preferences etc.

I urge everyone visiting Budapest to take time out and visit this memorial center to build a better mankind.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This memorial centre is very well presented and certainly not for the faint hearted. it documents the extermination of the Hungarian Jews in a thought provoking manner and confirms man's inhumanity to man. The visit takes approx. 2 hours and it is advisable to bring a bottle of water with you, especially in hot weather, as the air was quite heavy.
While outside the city centre, the place is close to the Metro station - Corvin Negyed. If you have an interest in the past, don't miss visiting this memorial to so many Hungarians.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour and Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a profoundly moving memorial and we were fortunate to have a very passionate guide. A must see. A horrific story and one that must not be forgotten.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Memorial Center also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Holocaust Memorial Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holocaust Memorial Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.