We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location, but a troublesome experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parlament

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parlament to your Saves list
Hotel Parlament
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Kintbury, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fine location, but a troublesome experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I travelled to Budapest for my 40th with some friends. On arrival, my travelling partner and I were given a large room but with a single double bed instead of twin beds as requested. The problem was sorted, but it took a while. The room we eventually got was much smaller, however it was clean and quiet as it faced the 'back' of the hotel.

I have stayed in many hotels and endured many experiences but I was annoyed about three things in particular:
1) The bathroom door was semi-transparent with a one inch gap around it! D'oh! Who designs something like this??? NOT a very private affair no matter how well you know your travelling partner!! The shower floor also flooded after a while resulting in standing in a few inches of (soapy) water.
2) The floor was made of wood and the bed had wheels so it moved everytime I did!
3) The lounge, bar & library areas are smoking zones which I found very unpleasant. I appreciate that Hungarian smoking rules are not strict as they are in the UK, but I honestly couldn't take it and had to leave the rooms.

All in all, a mediocre experience which was a shame as the city itself is stunning - very romantic and full of fantastic sights. The hotel's location is a little tucked away in back streets, but central enough to the river and Metro. I'm not sure I would ever go back to this hotel.

Hints: Avoid the nearby local Irish pub. What a dump! Be sure to use a map as the inner city street design can be confusing, especially at night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear "holmography",

First and foremost thank you for having chosen our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament for your city break in Budapest! I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with our central location, spotless and quiet hotel room and of course that you have found Budapest an astonishing city.
I regret to learn that our services have not met your expectations in certain aspects and let me apologize to you for all the mentioned inconveniences. I do hope though that all these hassles did not frustrate you to enjoy your birthday in Hungary. Furthermore I would like to inform you that your experiences and reflections are highly important for us to know in order to better serve our guests needs. We very much appreciate your comment and will certainly do our best to improve our products and services.
On behalf of our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament I sincerely hope that we will have the chance in the not too distant future to prove that we can serve our guests on a high quality level.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    285
    31
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
599
47
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Hotel was recommended based on great overnight rate.
From check in to check out it was wonderful. Front desk staff were knowledgeable, kind and very very helpful. They even helped some lost travelers find their nearby hotel. Concierge- Gergely was very helpful with tour and restaurant advice. Location was super, Room was outstanding. Quiet, clean, comfortable and stylish. 24 hour self service coffee - better than Starbucks (sorry). Hot breakfast included was excellent. A fine small boutique hotel and a super experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louvain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

I recommend this hotel to everyone.
Very good and friendly servive, clean rooms and a nice accomodation.
You can find there a very good sleep quality!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear "Daniel068Louvain",

Thank you for taking the time and recommend our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament for the travelers’ community here on TripAdvisor!
It was our pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and I was delighted to read that we could make your stay pleasant and that you were contended with our team's service minded attitude, comfortable hotel rooms and nice breakfast service.
We truly hope that we will have the chance to host you again in our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

After nearly a day of travel from the opposite side of the earth, we were welcomed at BW Hotel Parlament with impeccable service and class. Our suite was meticulously clean and comfortable, the breakfast was some of the best food we had during our stay, and the hotel staff were exceptionally helpful. Everything was exactly as described in our email communications. Thank you so much for a wonderful welcome to the city!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear "AnotherMarketMaven",

First and foremost thank you again for your kind attention taken in our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament and for having choosen us for your stay in our lovely city. It was great to be heard that your were satisfied with our spotless hotel rooms, rich buffet breakfast but from all the compliments I was glad to read that our staff provided exceptional service throughout your stay and could make your holiday enjoyable.
We are all sincerely hope that we can welcome you back in our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

you could see it´s been renovated recently - all new and beatifully decorated! cosy, smallish hotel with very friendly staff. and breakfast was better than expected. worth all the money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear "esaias67",

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor! I was delighted to read your short but to the point comment of our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament. I am glad that you were contented with our décor and style, buffet breakfast service and I am especially relieved that you drew attention to our Hotel Parlament team's courtesness and friendliness.
Your positive feedback is highly valued and I can guarantee that we use this information to do everything to create a pleasant stay and memorable experience for each of our guests.
We genuinely hope to welcome you back in our Best Western Premier Hotel Paralament in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed four nights at this hotel. The location is good, it is relatively close to a subway station and the Parliament. The staff were very helpful and efficient and gave us all the information and advice we needed. We ask for a room to the rear and we slept peacefully. The room was small but comfortable. The only problem was the mattress cover that is cumbersome and on the 2nd night we retire. From there we slept without problems. Breakfast is nice and the coffee and other hot drinks are available throughout the day. The internet is free. We recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to spend some days to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear Ms. Teresa Abreu,

Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Your feedback and reflections are very much appreciated and I can assure you that we use these information to do everything to create an enjoyable experience for each and every guest of ours.
I was glad to read that the hotel's central location, its rooms, nice buffet breakfast along with the complimentary services like Internet usage and 'Happy Hours' at the Lounge Bar during the day have met your expectations and would happily recommend us to your fellow travellers.
It was especially great to be informed again about our team's competent and service minded attitude. We are aiming to provide extraordinary guest service to our guests and make their stay memorable.

We all do hope that we will have the chance to host you in our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament sometime in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Courteous and friendly staff - eager to help with all requests, be that at Reception, Bar or Housekeeping.

Twin Room was spotless and well presented throughout 4 night stay, just roomy enough for a pleasant stay without being cramped.

Free Broadband internet - NO Wifi so take a ethernet cable, although reception are happy to loan leads and UK / US convertors at no charge !

Hotel is 600 metres from Parliment so quite central - with good transport links and a smattering of local shops selling snacks etc.
A short walk provides a wealth of Restaurants and Bars and the usual nightlife is just a short Taxi ride away.

I travel through out Europe and experience many Hotel's, I have stayed in Budapest many times and will return to the Hotel Parlament as my first Choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear Mr. Jared Underwood,

First and foremost thank you for taking the time and recommend our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament for the travellers community here on TripAdvisor!
I was delighted to read that our central location, our rooms' cleanliness and comfortness and the comlimentary services such as Internet usage have met your expectations. In particular I am happy to hear that our team's helpful and welcoming attitude made your stay more enjoyiable and you would gladly return to our hotel for your next visit to Budapest.
We sincerely all hope that we can have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back in our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parlament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parlament

Address: Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parlament 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parlament is a delicate four stars boutique hotel in the city centre of Budapest, close to the Houses of Parliament, the river Danube and the biggest shopping mall of the city.Easy to reach with two metro lines which stations are five minutes walking from the hotel. The hotel provides complimentary internet usage for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Parlament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parlament, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.