We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good city hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parlament

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parlament to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Parlament
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct deal -10%
Ranked #9 of 331 hotels in Budapest
ZH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very good city hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this hotel for the Chrismtas period, and surprisingly to me it ended up to be quite full (judging by the full breakfast room). We saw it was a fairly new hotel, pictures looked good and the price was right. So amidst the big competition nowadays in the hotel market of Budapest, we opted for this hotel. Rooms were nice and spacious, looked brand new. I am not a very good sleeper, so my only negative remark is, that the cleaners on the corridor woke me up. But that just might be my problem, my husband was not disturbed by it. The breakfast was excellent, with a service not seen too often in Hungary. They were always checking what needed refilling and was quickly completed if necessary. The front desk people were also friendly. The hotel is not really "next" to the Parlament as the name might suggest, but an easy walk away. The street is quiet and I still think it is well located to the shopping streets and bar area of Pest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear „MataHari_OnTheRun”
First and foremost I would like to thank you for choosing our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament for your Christmas gateway in Budapest!
Thank you very much for your kind reflections on our hotel and services. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with our hotel’s rooms and its upkeep. Although the hotel is in its 7th year we are very keen on improving our product to be competitive in the “hotel market of Budapest”. We enjoyed reading that you have liked our breakfast offer and that the service provided by our breakfast staff have met your expectations. We do appreciate that you have recognized our front desk staff’s friendly attitude as well.
Thank you for highlighting our hotel’s central location. I am glad that you could take advantage of our location while exploring Budapest.
Thank you again for your feedback!
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Hotel Parlament in the not too distant future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    254
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
85
522
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good location in a quiet street within a 5 minute walk from the metro station and the city centre of Pest. Don't be fooled by the small entrance, because behind it there is a modern spacious hotel with a very friendly staff. Large choice at breakfast, stylish rooms with everything you need and a small but very nice wellness room (free of charge). In walking distance of lots of restaurants and bars and a supermarket for all your needs (Aldi, but probably not as you know it). The only downside we can think of is the bathroom door, which doesn't offer much (audible) privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear „Joris B”,

thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Parlament for your recent stay in Budapest! I am pleased to read that you have been satisfied with your stay with us and our services have met your expectations. Thank you very much for your great feedback on our stylish interior design, our large breakfast offer and our complimentary wellness services. We very much appreciate your compliments on our helpful ad friendly personnel; we hope that we could contribute to an enjoyable and memorable stay of yours while staying in Budapest! We are looking forward to welcome you back again when your travel plans bring you back to our lovely capital.

With best regards,

Tamas Merenyi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My granson and I had just finished a trip down the Danube River. We were tired and ready to get to our hotel. I was surprised to find the charming and upscale hotel. I expect Best Western to be a certain level but this one is brand new. One of the things most important to me is how the staff treats not only me but other people I observe them dealing with. All the staff were great, but I would like to mention Ibolya by name as she went out of her way to assist us with every request. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a quiet, nice hotel. The only drawback was there were very few nice restaurants within a few blocks. It's ok to walk when the weather is nice, but when it's cold and snowy, take a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear „DLowery1”,

thank you very much for staying with us at our Hotel Parlament during your Danube river trip. I am glad to read your valuable feedback and compliments on our „charming and upscale” Hotel and on our services offered. Thank you very much for highlighting our friendly and service minded staff, especially Ibolya our trainee at the front desk. I am more than happy to read that she could have been at your assistance during your stay with us. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in our Hotel and Budapest in the future, sometime in a warmer season.

With kind regards,

Tamas Merenyi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Myself and two of my friends stayed in this hotel in November 2012 after reading recommendations on TA. We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location - about 5 mins walk from the Parliament building. We walked everywhere on the Pest side of the city which took no more than about 25-30 minutes.

The staff were what made our trip so good. They were always on hand for advice on places to go, good restaurants etc and made reservations for us and booked taxi's. Nothing was too much trouble and they were extremely knowledgeable. It was a surprise trip for my friend's birthday and they surprised her with a handwritten card and a bottle of chilled prosecco which was a lovely touch. We also organised a transfer from the airport which was competitively priced and made getting to the hotel so much easier.

We had two rooms on the same floor. Both were modern and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was gorgeous! Little toiletries are provided, and each room has a safe and there is free Wifi.

Breakfast was varied - continental cold meats & cheese as well as cooked bacon, eggs and grilled tomatoes. There was a range of bread and pastries, as well as cereal, yoghurt, fresh juice, tea and coffee. There was even prosecco if you wanted it! Alike many people who have written a review - the only downside was the space available. The tables were set up to seat two so it was often hard finding a space when there were three of us, and it did get very busy at certain times. I think at weekends they should think about extending the breakfast time slightly. One of the days we stayed they did have an additional room open which alleviated the problem but it was shut on the second day.

Budapest is a lovely city and I would certainly recommend staying at this hotel to any of my friend or family that visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear „ms_sunshine”,

thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Parlament! We are all very pleased to read that after reading our reviews here on TripAdvisor you were satisfied with your choice and our services have met your expectations while staying with us. I am glad to recon that you could have taken advantage of our central location and you could get around easily and explore our city by walking everywhere. It was our pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel for such a great occasion like your friend’s birthday. I am happy to hear that we could please you with our little surprise upon your arrival. We very much do appreciate your compliments on our helpful and knowledgeable front desk staff, I am always proud to read that we could make your stay in Budapest easier and more enjoyable. I am pleased about your compliments on the cleanness of our Hotel, our stylish guest rooms and our rich breakfast offer as well. Thank you very much for your recommendations on the breakfast times, we use every comment and feedback for improvement to make our guests stay even more comfortable and enjoyable.
Thank you once again for your great and valuable feedback and for recommending us to friends and family. It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back in the future as well, when you plan to visit our charming capital again.

Best regards,

Tamas Merenyi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is great all round. The staff were extremely helpful, helping us to find our way around and booking trips and restaurants for us. We went for 4 days in December 2012 as a little extra honeymoon which I mentioned to the hotel via email beforehand. They upgraded our room and left champagne, chocolates and a card for us! How lovely was that. The room was lovely and clean and breakfast was spot on, lots of choice and very fresh. The cocktail lounge was fab, having a weekly special cocktail on the menu at a discount and the barman was very effiecient and kind. The hotel in is a great location. The hotel also has 2 laptops in the lobby for free guest use which was great for checking into our flight and printing off our boarding cards.A 10 minute walk to Vorosmarty square where the main Christmas market was and close to there is where you meet for trips etc. We had a lovely time and if we ever go back to Budapest, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 301- had a lovely balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

In our entire East Europe itinerary, this hotel left an indelible impression for us because of the fabulous service it provided. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful as we had lots of questions each day about dining places, transportation, places of interest etc. The questions were patiently and politely answered each time at the front desk and not brushed away like we experienced at other hotels on this trip. On the morning that we left at an ungodly hour of 5am, the hotel staff even packed a breakfast pack for us which was really substantial. That we never received from any other hotels too whenever we had to leave early and could not make the breakfast time. Best Western Premiere, you've got my vote as a great hotel to stay in Budapest which I'll recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

An excellent base for exploring Budapest - The Parliament and St Stephen's Bascilia are just a short walk away; the trolleybus runs outside, and there are metro and tram stops in the vicinity.
The hotel is modern, clean and efficient. Breakfast was good, although very busy. We were also able to check in early which was an added benefit.
The jacuzzi in the basement was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Parlament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parlament

Address: Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parlament 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parlament is a delicate four stars boutique hotel in the city centre of Budapest, close to the Houses of Parliament, the river Danube and the biggest shopping mall of the city.Easy to reach with two metro lines which stations are five minutes walking from the hotel. The hotel provides complimentary internet usage for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Parlament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parlament, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.