We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parlament

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parlament to your Saves list
Hotel Parlament
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic service Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

In our entire East Europe itinerary, this hotel left an indelible impression for us because of the fabulous service it provided. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful as we had lots of questions each day about dining places, transportation, places of interest etc. The questions were patiently and politely answered each time at the front desk and not brushed away like we experienced at other hotels on this trip. On the morning that we left at an ungodly hour of 5am, the hotel staff even packed a breakfast pack for us which was really substantial. That we never received from any other hotels too whenever we had to leave early and could not make the breakfast time. Best Western Premiere, you've got my vote as a great hotel to stay in Budapest which I'll recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    280
    31
    3
    0
See reviews for
96
585
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

An excellent base for exploring Budapest - The Parliament and St Stephen's Bascilia are just a short walk away; the trolleybus runs outside, and there are metro and tram stops in the vicinity.
The hotel is modern, clean and efficient. Breakfast was good, although very busy. We were also able to check in early which was an added benefit.
The jacuzzi in the basement was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Found it and select it from booking, was just a perfect choice. 100 meters from a metro station (arany), very near to major sights (parlament, St'Stephen, Chain Bridge etc). The staff always wish to help you, free wifi, free coffee and tea all the day as sauna and jacuzzi. Big and clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My first time at the Hotel Parlament and there was a mixture of positive and negative worthy of pointing out. Let's start with the negative points.

- Glass bathroom door that is not even flush around the door frames, thus not providing hardly any privacy. In addition, the bathroom sits directly facing the beds reducing what little privacy you may have had. Designers probably thought this is artsy but it's not convenient at all and potentially dangerous. (We made sure to leave the door propped open at night, lest one of us walked into the glass door.)

- Hard as rock pillows

- Hard beds (although not as hard as Courtyard Marriott Budapest or Marmara)

- No LED clock on TV or anywhere in the room (most newer hotels, certainly 4 star hotels have this)

- No night light ... if all the lights are turned out at night, it's like being in a cave; you can't even see to get to the bathroom, and any light you leave on is too bright for sleeping, including the bathroom because it's directly across from the beds.

- No easy-to-access info in the room on how to call the reception desk

- TV remote was extremely difficult to use ... not sure if the one in our room was defective or if they are all like that. In any case, it made our stay more frustrating having to struggle with the remote.

- Internet in the lobby was ridiculously and infuriatingly slow... their computers are ancient, at least 10 years old, and using old browsers.

The positive:

- Room and hotel in general is immaculate

- Very friendly staff, easy check-in and check-out

- Very nice breakfast buffet with hot and cold food, nice variety, and very good coffee

- Room is modern but very small

- Free internet in the lobby (but extremely slow)

- Free coffee and beverages until 5 pm in the lounge

- Safe, mini bar with fridge, and small LCD TV in room

- Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Nyugati train station, West End shopping center, restaurants, cafes, and a short walk to Parlament

A nice little hotel but personally, I'll probably stay elsewhere next time mostly because of the hard beds and pillows, as well as the inconvenience with the bathroom door and the location of the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear „penz1952”,
thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Parlament for your recent stay in Budapest. We do appreciate your valuable and detailed feedback about your experiences during your stay with us, however please allow me to respond to some of your issues:
- I am deeply sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards of the style, character and safety of our guest rooms. Our hotel has a modern, interior design in the style of minimal-art beauty for this reason the design is different from a classical-styled property.
The location of the bathroom is different in all guest rooms, I am truly sorry that we did not know about your displeasure during your stay because in that case we would have shown you a different room with great pleasure.
I am disappointed to read your opinion about the room „it is like being in a cave” because of the missing night light in the room. We do have a mobile „reading light” next to the bed each side and all of the lights in the room have separated switches of course.
- I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the comfort of our bed and with the pillows. When opening the hotel we were choosing the most preferred mattresses to make sure our guests’ comfort. Regarding the pillows we do offer more pieces and different kinds as well upon request. I am honestly sorry that you did not report this issue to our colleagues at the reception desk, I am sure we would have offered you the most appropriate pillows.

- We regret not to have any LED clock on the TV but we do offer technical equipment upon request like small desktop clocks, table lamps, internet cable and even laptops to provide our best to make our guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.


- All of our services are listed in our Guest Directory which can be found on the desktop in our guest rooms. I am sorry to note that you could not find the desired information on how to call reception (nr 1), however it is listed in the directory as well.

- Regarding the TV remote controller I am afraid that the battery was dead. We control them in each room after every check out but not every day. Unfortunately this was not reported by you during your stay therefore we could not solve this problem either.


- Last but not least let me kindly respond to the issues with the WIFI and the computers in our business corner. Let me kindly inform you that our Hotel opened in 2006 and we replaced the two computers in our internet corner three years ago. They might not be the newest models but for sure not ten years old. Furthermore one and a half year ago we have set up two iPads in our breakfast room as well to blandish our business guests. These can also be used on a complimentary basis. However we are just about modernizing our business corner and computers again during the upcoming weeks. The internet/ WIFI is free available free of charge for all of our guests and as this service is very popular naturally it can make it sometimes slower and wobbling. We are already working on solving this problem so that all of our guests can enjoy our high speed internet equally.
I am pleased to read about your positive experiences as well. I am happy that you have been satisfied with our rich breakfast offer, you could take advantage of our central location and you enjoyed our complimentary services. I am glad that the services provided by our friendly personnel have also met your expectations although at the same time I feel sorry that we could not provide you with more of our services.
I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your experiences and opinion with us here on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to know how satisfied our guests were and how efficient we meet our guests’ needs. Please be ensured that we do take your comments seriously and will use them for future improvement.
I truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future on your next visit in our lovely capital to have the opportunity to provide you with a better, high class service and a more enjoyable stay in our Hotel Parlament. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally in the future under +36 1 374 6000 anytime.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Could not fault this hotel, it was in a good location, spotlessly clean, very good price and the reception staff were the most helpful we have ever encountered. As there was a group 10 of us we thought there might be a problem getting a table for 10 each evening, but we neednt have worried as the hotel would recommend and book our restaurants for us and they were all great and very reasonably priced.

The breakfast each morning was plentiful and varied from hot cooked food to cereals and pastries etc, it could get rather busy in the breakfast room each morning but you didn't have to wait long for a table.

There was free hot drinks and bottled water etc available all day until 5pm in the bar area which made up for having no kettle in the rooms.

The Christmas markets were great and there was lots of lovely gifts and foods to buy. Budapest is a beautiful city but when we went at the beginning of December it was very very cold. The hotel suggested that the best time to visit is May or September, but obviously you wouldnt get the Xmas market!

The hotel is about 30 mins from the airport and a taxi cost abiut £23.

Overall a great weekend break.

Room Tip: All r All the rooms appeared equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very happy with services provided by the hotel. After spending 12 hours on the train from Ukraine to Budapest, the last thing I needed was to deal with screw ups at the hotel. Starting with the check in, everything was handled in a professional, yet courteous, manner. Breakfast is included, wifi is free, lounge offers free coffee & tea. Attention is given to minor details which means somebody thought of them ahead of time. The level of the customer service is by far exceeds the average level in most of the places I traveled to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear „dzl87”,
thank you very much for your kind and valuable feedback! I am pleased to read that you have been satisfied with our services from the first moment you arrived to our Hotel Parlament! We very much do appreciate your compliments on our team and your recognition on high level of customer care we provide to our guests. In our opinion this part of hospitality makes the real difference! Thank you very much for your patronage and for sharing your experiences about your recent stay with others here on Tripadvisor. We all wish you a Merry Christmas and hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future again.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location- 5min walk to good restaurants and tourist sites (St Stephan's Basilica etc)
It is quite a compact hotel with good/ average sized rooms. Very clean and modern.
The beds are ok comfort wise but not fixed so do slide about a bit in the night (pillows lost down the back)
Breakfast is good- variety of fruit, hams, cheese, yoghurt and cooked food- could do with some cereal and spreads for toast though.
They have a nice little bar and during the day you can help yourself to free coffee and snacs up there.
Staff are helpful.
All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear „BecBacon”,
thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Parlament for your recent stay in Budapest! We are pleased to hear that in overall you have been satisfied with your stay with us and you enjoyed our rich breakfast offer, our complimentary services and the central location of our hotel. I am happy to see that our modern rooms have met your approval and I hope that our personnel could have been at your assistance during your stay as well. Thank you very much again for your valuable feedback! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit to our lovely capital.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parlament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parlament

Address: Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#12 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parlament 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parlament is a delicate four stars boutique hotel in the city centre of Budapest, close to the Houses of Parliament, the river Danube and the biggest shopping mall of the city.Easy to reach with two metro lines which stations are five minutes walking from the hotel. The hotel provides complimentary internet usage for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Parlament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parlament, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.