We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain hotel where you can park the car!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queen Mary Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Mary Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kertesz Str 34, Budapest 1073, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bargain hotel where you can park the car!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Choose this hotel based on price, location and availability of parking, we were staying in Heviz and wanted an overnight in Budapest to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a good triple room, clean but smelt of smoke as i had not asked for a non smoking room not realising that there was this optiom, however with wimdows and aircon it did smell a lot better! Filled the mini bar fridge with hungarian champagne from the local spar! Breakfast ok! But a total bargain and with 24 hour parking for about £6! When staying in a city where all you need is a place to lay your head this place ticks the boxes!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    26
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

You just can't beat the price for the location, which is why we stayed here. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, and the facilities in the room were nice. The rooms have AC. The elevator goes to the 4th floor, so if you are on floor five, you have to walk up a flight, no biggie. The breakfast was average with scrambled eggs and sausage, as well as bread/rolls, meats and chesses, yogurt, cereal, and juices. There is no wifi, but they will give you an ethernet cord, so if you need internet, make sure you have that set up (otherwise, internet cafes are abundant in Budapest, I recommend Discover Budapest behing the National Opera House). I felt reception and breakfast staff were polite and helpful, contrary to some other reviews. I would like to see the luggage storage system improved - we had to leave our bags out in the open after checkout/before check in (arrived by night train), didn't seem secure at all, but we didn't have any problems.

If you are a budget traveller, a great deal with no frills here!

Room Tip: Request 4th floor or below if you don't want to walk up stairs to the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I considered this hotel because the location was great and the price was affordable. Boy did I make a mistake! The staff members were very rude and not helpful! I was extremely suprised when I came into the hotel the first day and at the front desk I was given the towel that I used because it had a makeup stain! The smell in the room was bad. They claimed that they needed to use a spray to get rid of the bugs on the carpet. I was disgusted to put my belongings on the chairs or shelves. I slept there one night because I was so tired from traveling. The next day I checked out and I lost money because I booked for three nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived at Hotel 1.30am for a 2 night stay. Very friendly lady on reception. The room was spotlessly clean and very quiet had a great sleep. Breakfast was perfect as I dont have cooked at home. Considering the price of accom I wasnt expecting a free breakfast. Great location. yes we will stay here again .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pécs
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The male staff by the breakfast was very impolite: breakfast is from 7 until 10 am. At 10 o'clock he closed the door, was no more entry allowed and was very nervous and spoke rudely with us. Terribble! Ther were many people from abroad: it is very wrong for the famous of our contry.
Please the hotel, send this man for a hotel-staff- training, because, he needs to explain, how to care about travellers.
The woman at the recepcions-desk was very polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We spent here 4 nights in July 2011, when we transferred from a different hotel that we didn't liked
We had a runny sink all the days, we talked with the manager, but they said that the sink is not running, but each time we used it, we had the floor wet. We asked for a different room with a normal sink, but they didn't had any more rooms available.
The breakfast was normal, with not so many options from where to pick, the coffee was very light but in the end an average breakfast included in the room price.
The bedsheets, not the cleanest in the world; for internet we had to give a warranty of 20 euros for the cable, and when we left we received the warranty back.
There is a parking very close to the hotel, and you can reach almost anywhere from the location.
All in all, for the money spent here, it was an average stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

There are several reviews commenting on the cleanliness of the hotel. I do not agree. I was sure that the bed had not been changed from the last occupants. My daughter told me on our way home that she had found hairs in both beds but because it was late when went to bed had not liked to say anything to me. However, we both covered our pillows with towels to sleep on. The carpet was dirty with stains on it. I put our hand towels on the shelf in the bathroom when we went out only to find them thrown on the floor on our return. Regarding the towels, they were so hard and scratchy they would make good exfoliating mits! I would not stay there again despite it's good location.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#168 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#162 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Hotel Corvin
#128 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitta Hotel Superior Budapest
#157 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#143 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Csaszar Hotel
#136 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Mary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Mary Hotel

Address: Kertesz Str 34, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Mary Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Queen Mary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Mary Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.