We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price/quality ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bara Junior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bara Junior Hotel to your Saves list
Bara Junior Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Hegyalja UT 34-36, Budapest 1118, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinkovci
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed there on sep17th one night only. The room is small but clean, i was alone and i found it okay to me, and its quite far from the reception.In my room Tv didnt work. Breakfast is ok, acceptable. Staff friendly. Hotel is good for short stay, but next time i think i should go to other one because here i didnt feel welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we spent only one night in hotel bc we had plain to catch in the morning so for this purpose hotel is ok. room is so far from the reception with long corridors and spiral stairs so you got feeling that you must throw pieces of bread so you can find your way out:)
room is basic and clean, breakfast was good

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The good thig is the price but from the Desk to your room is quite log distance and the rooms are small and preety poor. But forone or two nights in Budapest is ok.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Although Bara Junior is near the bus stop and close to the city centre, and it must be taken into consideration that it's not a four star hotel. I personally felt my room was not up to scratch the bed was a rock hard converted sofa and the light was on it's last hinge. The staff were however friendly and helpful plus the breakfast was at a reasonable standard, but it is very much a budget hotel.

  • Liked — The staff were friendly
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable bed and lack of lift for four flights of stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Bara Junior is a two star hotel, the rooms are basic but clean, the bathroom was small but with all you needed and it was clean.
It is a good budget hotel for Budapest, the bus stop for Pest is next to the thotel and it is only a 5-minute ride by bus.
The breakfast was good, with wide choice, delicious muesli and different typical Hungarian cakes to try.
A good stay overall

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

Bara Junior is a two star hotel with basic rooms that are spotlessly clean. The shower room was small but adequate. Furniture was all new as were the towels. For a short break in Budapest this hotel was perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel's position was good - a few yards from the bus stop into the centre of Pest. We purchased tickets from the reception desk. Drinks at the bar were extremely cheap and certainly much cheaper than we paid anywhere else in Budapest. Breakfast was OK, the juice could have been less watered down but the rest of the breakfast was adequate. We really enjoyed our city break and value was really good.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bara Junior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bara Junior Hotel

Address: Hegyalja UT 34-36, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bara Junior Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bara Junior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bara Junior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.