We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Cotton House to your Saves list
Cotton House
Jokai str 26, Budapest 1066, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Excellent location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros; For the price you pay excellent little hotel-Clean room big bed. Staff also very friendly and happy to give advice/information, able to borrow a travel adaptor off them. Also a computer avalaible to check.emails etc. FANTASTIC location as well. Cons; rooms dated, can be noisey if have room on street-plus found room too hot. Breakfast good but didn't always top items up when ran out eg no more bacon even though there was one hour of breakfast left!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    26
    15
    3
See reviews for
6
66
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gex, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It seemed to be nice in Internet BUT... it's not indeed...

When we entered the room (№7) on the ground floor I saw the big crack in the door. It made me thinking about noise (we were only for one night so as we had to do a big road by car the next day). And it was the case. In the evening I had to put on the floor my coat, jeans and bag not to hear the neighbors walking in the corridor. But the worst was after 22:00... Actually you hear everything around you: scream of someone making love, noise of TV cause another room didn't want to hear the screams from the first.
Thanks to the staff of the hotel we had another room on the first floor (№11). It was more quiet but this time it was the noise from the street (the cars)...

The breakfast gives you opportunity to discover the club below. You can eat starting from 7:30. We came at 8. Having taken your breakfast we saw the staff only putting the sausages on "fire". I can't say that I'm impressed by this breakfast.

The biggest plus of this hotel is the staff on the reception. They were really helpful and professional!!!

Parking is Ok. It's in 50 m from the hotel. You pay nearly 10 euro for one day (with discount card of the hotel)...

And location... It's not far from the railway station and nearly 20 minutes walking to the center. So it's ok.

As a summary - I will never come back there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place was built 1928 or there about, the club with is below ground level has a great bar and entertainment & Casio tables. It is placed among cafe & tea houses which are so different. The hotel part is 11 years old and done in old style, with very high ceilings, beautiful wooden floors. I had a spa bathroom which was romantic with lots of mirrors, all very comfortable. A delight.
Each room is after a "star" and the hotel itself is so quant & very cute. T.V. Is bad on English only news channel. FiWi is great. And exercise room is good with sauna, I had it all to myself.
It is on the Pest side so lots to see in walking distance, if you have a car than discount parking, which you would need as parking police everywhere. The breakfast is good hot & cold. A treat to stay and reasonable at €45 plus a night.

Room Tip: If you cheapest,there is 2 with no window (opposite the gym) then price with a shower and the top is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Staff were extremely helpful. Take a torch if you want to read in bed as the lighting is poor. Very clean toilet and sink. Shower in need of retiling. Clean comfortable bed. Room could be cleaner in corners. No windows in restaurant which doubles as club at night. Overall location very central.. would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel is themed after entertainers of the "big band era" and the time of the big Broadway musicals (think Fred Astaire). We stayed in the Louis Armstrong room. It is an older, high rise hotel on the corner of two streets. Parking lot is conveniently half-way down the street from the hotel. The "antiques" used to enhance the theme were quite interesting and gave the place a "speak-easy" type feel. Rooms were okay, as was the breakfast. Staff at the main desk were fantastic. Located witihin walking distance to many attractions. Felt the "red" hop-on-hop-off bus two day ticket was worth while. You can buy tickets at front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

first of al i like to apologise for my bad english.
the hotel was very nice but there were things that weren't practical. if you wanted to shower you needed to hold the hose with your hands above your head, the bed made a lot of noise.
the room was not clean. you could see cob webs ( spider webs) above your bed.
my vault did not work so i wend to the desk staff and they gave me another key but it also did not work. They didn't wanted to help me. at the end of the week my 370€ ipod got propably stolen in the hotel.
there are also good sides. it is cheap en very close to the centre of the city and the food is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I'll start my review by saying that the front desk staff at this hotel is excellent...and the location is really close to everything..the breakfast was more than adequate,and served in a beautiful old vaulted basement room...this is an old hotel that someone carefully renovated in the 1990's,I think..the problem is that it isn't being kept up and nothing works like it should,the public areas need a good cleaning as well, although the rooms were clean,and quite charming with high ceilings vintage looking lighting..when we were there,the elevator wasn't working,the shower flooded and the toilet was hit or miss....I was a little disapointed,as I expected all of the charm without the all too obvious flaws...the price was right,and I would love to see this charming hotel maintained a little better...it would be perfect then!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton House

Address: Jokai str 26, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton House has 23 rooms all of which reflect the style of the '20s and '30s and are furnished with period furniture, while also meeting today's requirements. The rooms are named after famous personalities: Louis Armstrong, Frank Sinatra, Al Capone, Fred Astaire, Ginger Rogers, Ella Fitzgerald, Charlie Chaplin, Bing Crosby, Marilyn Monroe, Tom Jones, Elvis Presley, Liza Minnelli, Humphrey Bogart, Ernest Hemingway, Duke Ellington, Ray Charles, Edith Piaf, Audrey Hepburn, James Dean, Don Corleone, Grace Kelly, Greta Garbo and Johnny Cash. The double and twin rooms have different type of bathrooms: shower, bath tub or jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Cotton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton House Hotel Budapest
Cotton Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.