We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botel Hotel Lisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Botel Hotel Lisa to your Saves list
Botel Hotel Lisa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parti setany 1, Budapest 1212, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relatively decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is pretty far away from the city center, but it's OK for 1-2 nights' stay. It's clean and decent & you can have an OK breakfast in their restaurant, so you can get back on your feet and be off to wander the streets again :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
9
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Botel helped make our trip extra special. It's cheap as chips and has everything you will need for your stay except for air con. Entertainment at night lasted until the small hours and was first class. Live music from Swedish rockers to football songs and at no extra cost. I would recommend sitting out on the veranda and watching the sun going down and coming up as you continue with the beer and party theme.

One tip is watch out for the decking as it will get you.

I can't wait to return to the best BOTEL on the planet.

Room Tip: Stay out them as your missing the party if your inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Awkward location for visiting Budapest (the bus runs regularly). But the boat is on a lovely, quiet canal. Very relaxing. Staff is wonderful and the restaurant provides great food.We loved having a drink on the deck and watching the sunset.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms facing the canal are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I stayed at Botel Lisa for six nights in July 09. It is easy enough to get to places of interest (Vaci Utca, Chain bridge, Fisherman’s Bastion) by taking a bus and either one or two streetcars which run frequently enough. Having said that, it still takes approximately one hour which makes for a tiring day, given that if one is taking public transport, it makes it difficult to go back to the hotel to unwind for a couple of hours in the afternoon and then go back out again. I booked this hotel because it was within my budget; however I discovered that there are a few places in the centre that are suitable for those on a budget. As one reviewer mentioned, the food served in the restaurant for dinner is good. As well, sitting on the deck with a drink is a lovely way to unwind after walking around all day. Two things that drove me a bit crazy while I was there: 1) the windows in my room couldn’t open and people smoked in their rooms which vented into my room and 2) the sound is terrible – anyone walking by or walking overhead sounded like a herd of elephants! One other small thing is that the towels were thin and frayed to within an inch of their lives!! Though it had many shabby elements, I have to say that there were no issues with the cleanliness of the hotel. As a solo female traveller, I felt relatively safe here; however I always made sure to come home before it got dark as I didn’t trust the area around the hotel to be safe after dark. The only reason I didn’t change hotels while I was there was because I had paid up front for this hotel and didn’t want to lose the money. Overall, I’m glad I experienced it but I wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I stayed in this hotel many many times. However many people claim the opposite, it isn't far from the town centre at all: 7km. But the Budapest traffic can be horrible. If you know your way, it is quite easy to find, just follow the Duna border all the time. The kitchen is good, I tried about everything and never had a dissapointment. If you talk to the chef on beforehand, specially when your with a group, you can ask what ever you fancy and he'll prepare it. When they expanded the hotel, still everything was running quite well. Parking problem is non-existant here, something you can't say from Budapest.
All those year János (John) was taking care of the hotel and reception and doing this very well.
Bad thing was when they changed the tap from Kaiser beer to the Stella, as a Belgian you're not coming to Hungary to drink Stella and Leffe!
So, stick to the Hungarain wines and schnapps.
Egeszségadra, Geoff Benoy/ Belgium.

  • Liked — Relaxed athmosphere
  • Disliked — Too small fridge
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We arrived there at midnight and if it wasn't for my sat nav I may have given up about 300 metres away. The last 300 metres is a little off-putting as you seem to be just heading on to a railway siding under a road bridge. But a right turn and a few hundred metres got us there. We liked it there. A no fuss man at reception gave us the room keys and tv control. Nice and quite there. Larger breakfast room than expected and also a great breakfast. A bit far from city centre, but it really suited us for a stopover after arriving at Ferrihegy airport.

  • Liked — Cheap and quite
  • Disliked — Perhaps loacation.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esslingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

we've booked for a double room for 2 nights on the 25th and 27th of July 2008. The first problem that struck us was the location of the hotel. It took us 3 hours to get to the hotel from the Keleti train station. We didn't take an taxi since we have found the direction to the hotel on the internet but it was totally wrong! to top it all, it was 8 o'clock in the night when we reached Budapest.

With the help of a English-speaking Hungarian and two other tourist from Germany, we finally made it to the hotel, just to find out the the hotel is overbooked and that they have no room for us. The same happened to 3 other groups of tourist who came after us.

We were then transported to another hotel in some housing area where the room is of huge difference from the one we've booked, a small little bed room with 2 single bed. It was dirty and definitely uncomfortable to sleep in. The manager did not even bothered to apologize for the whole incident and just leave us there after taking us to the new hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Aquamarina Boat Hotel
Aquamarina Boat Hotel
#164 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Boat Hotel Fortuna
#138 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Hotel Luna
#214 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Oswaldo
#151 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Canada Hotel
#178 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#155 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Hotel Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Hotel Lisa

Address: Parti setany 1, Budapest 1212, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Hotel Lisa 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botel Hotel Lisa is a three-star hotel which is a popular choice for visitors. Located in a green island and offers the best accommodation and services for you to enjoy your stay in Budapest and extensive cultural, culinary and sporting activities in the area. Mantained rooms to detail, a wide range of services and quality catering for all tastes make up the offer of this gorgeous three-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Botel Hotel Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel Hotel Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.