We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Budapest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalvin Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kalvin Apartments to your Saves list
Kalvin Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Ulloi Str. 11-13. | at Kalvin Square, Budapest 1091, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Værløse
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent four night in Kalvin Apartments in August 2013, and we had a great experience. Our room was big, clean, and simply had everything that we needed, including a fully-equipped kitchenette. The owner of the apartments was extremely helpful both before and during our stay. Although the neighbourhood is not one of Budapest's best, it is central, and most things are at a walking distance. Also, the price was very good for everything that we got. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Apartment very clean, comfortably equipped and was more spacious than in description on booking.com (5th floor to right , with separated kitchen). Good bed. Contact with the owner and his colleague was perfect (e-mails, sms) – we received a helpful information before we arrived; lack of a reception wasn’t a problem. We haven’t AC, but although 30° C on the outside, the room wasn’t too hot (but there is a possibility to have AC, there is some info on their private website – I advise it if you can’t sleep with closed window, the street is noisy enough but double glazing block it almost completely). The old archway (and the both staircases) are like a film scenery. Location great, restaurants just 2 minutes walk in next streets (Raday, Baross).
And only the floor (in my room) needs a renovation (but was very clean)

Room Tip: The room 5th floor to right is more spacious than in description on booking.com , with separated kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed in Kalvin Apartments in december 2012 for 7 nights and it was realy, realy GREAT!
Location is amazing.Just 3 minutes walk from tram and subway. There are also couple supermarkets very close by for all your daily needs.Even though it is on the very busy street, becouse of good isolation, it is very quiet and there is no any noise. Main Budapest Market Hall is 10 minutes walk away.Also great number of restaurant and cafe is just 2 minutes walk in next street (Raday Utca). General area is fantastic,safe and full of historic and tourist sites.

Apartment was very clean (trust me we have looked everywhere) but it is SPOTTLESS!
Kitchen is very well equipted and there is everything you need.Bathroom is also very good and very clean.

Owner speeks excelent english and was very helpfull.He also gave us his direct mobile phone where we could reach him 24 hours a day.

We recomend Kelvin Apartments and wil surely be coming back in 2013!

In our view this is realy great find and excelent place to stay and explore beautiful Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just goes to show that you can't go by appearances! Outside shabby, lift shaft likewise, but the room!!! Once inside, it is clean, spacious and very well equipped. I even found a box of plasters for a blister! Hair dryer, shoe cleaning kit, tea towels, washing up liquid. All there. District central and felt safe. Close to nearest Metro. We will certainly use it again. Only con is that its a 3 night minimum.

Room Tip: Ask the caretaker. His English is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and have no hesitation in recommending these apartments. The building is old but the apartments on the 4th floor are immaculate, spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Everthing you need is provided including a full range of cooking utensils, crockery etc. The room is spacious with plenty of storage space, dining table and chairs and really comfortable beds. We worried that it might be noisy as it overlooks a busy road, but the double glazing cut out all the noise.

The situation is good - close to the Metro station and within easy walk of lots of interesting places. Local shops and restaurants were excellent.

It was good value at 49 Euros per night. We received several pages of helpful information from the English speaking owner before we arrived and he was there to greet us when we arrived and helped us by looking up train times for our onward journey.

The only minor criticism is the entrance and lift which are both extremely scruffy but after a while you do not notice these. We visit Budapest regularly and this is by far the best place we have stayed and we wish we had found it sooner. We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This apartment was well located, very close to the Great market hall (Nagy Vasarcsarnok) so ideal for picking up fruit/veg and meats from butcher, to cook in your own kitchen. It beats finding a cafe everytime you want to eat. The room was spotless, and pleasantly decorated. The host/owner was very helpful. Location, 5 min walk to Kalvin Ter metro. Brilliant

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I don't usually write reviews, but I think this one is warranted. I did not have very high expectations coming in, but I was very pleasantly surprised when I first saw the apartment. Though not very large, it was very clean, extremely functional, and the owners are very helpful. The bed is large and more than adequate for two people, and the kitchenette was great for keeping some snacks, drinks, and easy food on hand. There was also a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers, a clothing iron, and ironing board. I opted for a room without AC, but the owners were kind enough to provide me with a fan, and the window opened up allowing for good air circulation, which helps tremendously. The street that the window overlooked is somewhat of a busy street, but it wasn't obnoxiously noisy in my opinion, and the window in our room did have soundproofing. The location was quite good, with a metro station literally 3 minutes away by foot. The Great Market is just a few blocks away, which allowed us to stop by and get fresh fruit in the morning and there was a fantastic coffee house, Cafe Alibi, just a few blocks away. I will definitely book here again the next time I come to Budapest!!

Just one note of caution, this apartment may not be appropriate for people who are handicapped or overweight. There is an elevator in the building, but I'm not sure the facilities meet U.S. wheelchair standards. The shower was not very large, so it may be difficult for larger people to use the restroom facilities in the apartment.

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Kalvin House
#72 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#68 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hipster Hostel
#99 of 557 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Paprika Apartments In City Center
Rainbow Hostel
#250 of 557 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalvin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalvin Apartments

Address: Ulloi Str. 11-13. | at Kalvin Square, Budapest 1091, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalvin Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering 1-room studio apartments with kitchenette and free wifi internet connection in Budapest centre for short and mid-term rental. Main tourist sights and business locations of Budapest are within reach. The neighboring area (Raday Street in Ferencvaros) is famous for its cafes, shops and restaurants. Air-conditioned apartments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kalvin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalvin Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.