We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Hasselhostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added David Hasselhostel to your Saves list
David Hasselhostel
O Utca 27, Budapest 1066, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hostel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Not sure why people are saying the hostel is no good, when I was there, it was fantastic. The people, the atmosphere, rooms, showers and all were good. I had zero things to complain about. You could party if you wanted or take it easy, it was never too loud. I seriously enjoyed my stay and would go back in a heart beat. It's also in a really good location, and the staff know plenty of stuff and are always organizing events throughout the week. And if you can get the cheap yet delicious dinners, do it!

Room Tip: room 9 is quiet if you're looking for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    8
    12
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
3
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Reading through the positive reviews just now has inspired me to write an honest review about the hostel.

The hostel itself is rundown, basic and has the delightful odour of fish. However these are not the most negative things about my stay there.

Customer service is appalling - staff are lazy, obnoxious and really do not know a lot about the City. They also are rude and apparently think that it is ok, to come into a locked female only room, in the middle of the night because they "want to party".

Cleanliness - is non existent, I lost something underneath my bed, when I went to retrieve it, it was covered in dust and hair. The showers were mouldy and the bathroom floor was flooded every day. They also have issues with the drains.

Looking at the reviews of the other people, I thought the negative reviews might have just indicated that people were a little bit uptight and there for could not really enjoy hostel living. It simply is not the case, I travelled with a group of friends, we partied every night and I still could not wait to leave the god forsaken place.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked this hostel because it had good reviews, after coming here we can basically assume that they are all fake as there is so many things wrong with this hostel.

If you want to go to a frat house style hostel where all anyone is interested in is drinking and feel dirty the whole time you are there then stay here but if you want a bunch of reasons why this place was hell for us read on.

Security

Absolutely ridiculous!!!! We had a swipe card for the door to get up into another door that led to two separate rooms, however the first door never locked and the staff were well aware about this because when they come up with us they just pushed the door. The door to our room didn't even have a lock so basically anyone that lived in the apartment complex or just followed someone in off the street could come into our room. They provide lockers that were falling apart but my suitcase couldn't fit inside it so i had to leave it in the room and just pray that there were no thieves around that could easily take it. You don need to walk past reception to get to our room its on the other side of the building up the stairs whilst reception was down the stairs so it was so easy for someone to come in grab your stuff and walk out with no one even seeing.

Facilities

Shocking!!! Beds were made of foam, yes that's right like a sponge you would wash your dishes with, so ridiculously uncomfortable and the sheets for the bed stunk and were hung on the balcony to dry before you get them. They were still wet when we received ours. The showers don't lock there is no lock on any door in the showers and the shower is so small i could barely fit inside, as i said above anyone could just walk into our 'room' and anyone could just walk into our shower as well. My girlfriend felt extremely uncomfortable with this and i felt even worse cause the shower curtains had mold all over them. Kitchen was ok but dishes were still pretty dirty. I lent on a wall outside and a piece of the wall just fell off in my hand, so the building was also in really bad condition.

Staff
The worst part about this hostel. The staff are just all backpackers that are living there for free rent and obviously don't give a crap about Budapest or anything that resembles customer service. The owner of this place needs to come and visit the hostel and realize that he has allowed a bunch of Australian and English frat boys turn his hostel into a frat house. All anyone cared about was drinking games and getting drunk and finding girls to get with (even the ones that had girlfriends working in the hostel). When we tried to sit anywhere in the common area all the staff were either passed out on the lounges or had their legs spread over a lounge and had no intention of moving. Examples of bad customer service was when i went to reception and a A4 peice of paper said 'Muniching Durries BRB' (A really bad Australian way of saying ill be right back im having a cigarette) or when we came back from a day and our 8 share room had turned into a 10 share room. Yes they just changed the size of our room for no reason. They bought a extra bunk into our room and decided to put it in our room for some reason. We went to reception and told them what had happened and our response was 'Yeah... And?' this was the point when we decided enough was enough and got out of there.

I hope the manager looks at this and realizes how pathetically he is currently running this hostel because in the 7 months i spent backpacking around Europe this was the worst run hostel i have seen and with the worst facilities, i can only recommend people that just wanna go and drink all day and night to stay here but for everyone else there is much better hostels in Budapest that are the same price.

Dont let the fact they have a cute dog make you book this hostel!

Room Tip: Stay away from all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

There are a few positives;the common area in the basement is pretty nice,we had a fun night out with some of the staff,it was relatively clean,Avery the beagle is sweet and the location is very convinient however none of this outweighs the negatives.

The rooms are very basic and lack the simple,inexpensive touches that would make life a lot easier,for example hooks to hang coats and towels on,a mirror and sufficient plug sockets in the room.The privacy curtains around the beds are a good touch however 2 of the beds in our room didn't have them.

They offer a very cheap cooked meal every evening.We booked and paid for our meal one morning and came back to the hostel that evening,tired and hungry after a long day of sight seeing to find that they had either forgotten about or couldn't be bothered to make our meal. This is the point when we started to question the professionalism of the staff.Well,that and seeing two of the staff all over each other behind the reception desk whilst we tried to eat breakfast! Possibly the same two who woke us up in the middle of one night having a blazing row and definitely the same girl who was crying in the kitchen whilst we were playing a few drinking games in the common room.It was like living in a real life soap opera!!

The rooms are accessed by a wrist watch style key fob which at first seemed a good idea until I realised that the fobs open every door in the hostel.We found this out because we decided to have a night off from partying to try and catch up on a bit of sleep,only to have a male member of staff barge into our female room at 2am!We got another wake up call at 5am when the owner decided to let himself and the dog into our room.All of the other negatives we could have tolerated however,to me,the most important thing is to feel safe and secure and like you have privacy in your room but we didn't even have this luxury here.After we complained the next morning the staff members did apologise and said that they didn't remember it because they were so drunk but it was too little to late.

Had the staff been more professional and respected the fact that we were paying customers,I may have rated it as average because it was basic however the low cost reflects this.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The title says it all! Best people, best care, best parties and best everything. You will make no mistake by choosing this hostel. Unless you are dull and boring old man. Simply book it and see for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
León, Leon, Nicaragua
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

So I managered to book a 8 bed men's dorm for only £125 czh ( 4.5 euro)per night and pre paid for the breakfast for 110 per day. This is the best breakfast I've even seen at a hostel let alone in a good hotel! Its all you can eat so go early and eat twice plus make sandwiches to go ;) it does lack a common room and kitchen but the bar and breakfast make up for this. Beds do tremble a bit but you will sleep well on them. Not so central but public transport is cheap and good plus walking from the centre is interesting

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I read a lot of positive opinions before choosing the hostel and right now, after my stay there, I can understand some of them, but I wouldn't choose this place again.

Location:
very good, close to the city centre, easy to get from the airport also (but then again, which place isn't in this wonderful city?;)) We walked everywhere, no need for a bus/metro. There are many clubs/bars/restaurants around. Unfortunately the biggest advantage is at the same time the biggest drawback. The loudest club is exactly on the opposite and it makes it impossible to sleep through the night (at least in the rooms on the side of the street), unless you are one of the lucky ones who can fall asleep at any time and any circumstances. Closing the windows doesn't help (they don't even close properly) and the party lasts until the morning, on weekdays as well. Earplugs for normal/light sleepers - obligatory!

Breakfast:
included, but... I'd prefer to have an option of paying less and making it on my own - like this it's just not worth it. There are only two options, cereal or bread with jam. Served by the staff from the reception, which is not the best idea cause obviously they get busy with other things. There is also dinner served in the evening - very cheap but I didn't manage to try.

Safety:
you get a magnetic "watch" to open the main door and the door inside the building, to the corridor leading to two rooms (which can't be locked unfortunately). You can use a locker, if you don't have your own paddlock, you can take it for deposit from the reception.

Commodities:
you get bedding and a towel, there's wi-fi, you can relax in the common room, play some games. Beds have little curtains, which are great for a bit of privacy and make it easier to sleep (if you manage at all ;))

Staff:
helpful, makes you feel welcome, but seems a bit disorganized. Cool if you visit friends, but not really professional.

Cleanliness etc:
okay, showers are nice (and they have hooks and extra curtain inside, very useful!) Smell in the bathroom is not good, I think it's related to the state of the building though: it's very old and looks neglected. In general I don't expect anything from the rooms - comfortable bed is enough - but the building itself is not attractive at all.

In general, if you want to party and don't care much for the comfort - why not. In my opinion though one can find a better quality for the same price.

Room Tip: If it's possible, ask for a room NOT from the side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Hi 5 Hostel
Hi 5 Hostel
#230 of 556 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Red Fox Hostel
Red Fox Hostel
#306 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#94 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friends Hostel Budapest
#38 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Instant Groove! Party Hostel
#85 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
HoBar - the hostel bar
#158 of 556 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Hasselhostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Hasselhostel

Address: O Utca 27, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not a regular party hostel. We are a Party Hoffstel. We have great beds, tidy bathrooms, amazing staff from all over the world, loads of drinking games for you to discover, and daily events that are there to make you have an epic time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your David Hasselhostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Hasselhostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.