We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Hostel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Friends Hostel Budapest to your Saves list
Friends Hostel Budapest
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Terez korut 4, 2nd floor | 6th District, Budapest 1066 , Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Best hostel ever, very friendly staff, nice and clean, fun guests. I've been travelling for 6 months and this was the best hostel I've been!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    53
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
40
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tal-El Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

It was a good location, but when we got there in the evening they were booked up despite our reservations and despite that they saw the reservations on their computer along with our time of arrival (5pm). Your decision, but that sucked.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshostel1, Owner at Friends Hostel Budapest, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Mr. Andrew Perlow,
Your review is outrageous! You told only the first part of the story.
You forgot to tell, that we DID PROVIDE the room for you, in a higher comfort
Level room (you booked a room with shared bathroom, but we provided an ensuite room with own bath) in the 5th floor of our building (that place belongs to my partner and advertised as Eitan's guesthouse), we are on the 2nd floor of the SAME building, and we are Friends hostel.
The room (ensuite double) you got costs 30% more, what you paid (shared double).
I really can't understand people like you. Instead of saying thank you ruining other's business?
Very nice. Really appreciated.
Best regards,
Miklos Fogarasi / owner of Friends hostel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

It was my first time to stay at a hostel and this hostel was a nice surprise. The hostel is easy to find. The location is great, near by the metro and tram station Oktogon. Shopping opportunities and restaurants are around the corner. I booked in a dorm. When I arrived, the staff told me I could stay in a twin room alone, without extra charge!
The hostel is clean and nice. There is a fan in the room. At night it's sometimes a litte bit noisy, but if you close the windows, it will be quiet, however you don't get any fresh air. Free Wifi is available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I booked through hostelworld.com, which was a mistake due to over capacity in the hostel. First of all, we were told check in was 11, we arrived at 11:15, and had to wait 45 minutes for the man to come let us in. Once in, we were told they didn't see my reservations so we were taken to their partner hostel, which was much nicer and larger. The bathrooms were shared but very clean. We booked a double bed private ensuite & got a 4 bed shared dorm room, which thankfully we were the only ones staying in the room & were only charged for the two of us. Very quite, mostly older people were staying in this hostel. Shared kitchen with all provided utensils, plates, etc. Very lovely and quaint hostel, in a pretty central location...the street it is on is quite run down, but a 15 minute walk to the nice shopping central district. Recommended. Very nice staff!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

Friends hostel is in a really handy location in a lovely old building. Over our stay (we came back and forth) we sampled three different rooms all of which were clean and pleasent. The small double room has only a small window which looks out onto the stairwell but the room itself was really cute and the bed very comfy! The dorms are big, bright and spacious. The bathrooms and kitchen were kept spotless.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,873 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Avenue Hostel
#38 of 559 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#21 of 559 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#29 of 559 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hostel Budapest

Address: Terez korut 4, 2nd floor | 6th District, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Friends Hostel Budapest 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Friends Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Hostel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.