We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hassle free and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dominik Panzio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dominik Panzio to your Saves list
Dominik Panzio
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Chazar Andras u.3, Budapest 1146, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 176 Budapest B&B and Inns
wisconsin
1 review
“hassle free and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed here for close to 2 weeks in Dec-Jan. Sure it's no luxury, but it was completely fine - I was worried about the beds from the reviews here but the bed was perfectly comfortable to me. The heating was extremely good, so good that you have to open the window. Everything was kept pretty clean, the bathrooms had a minor odor but were pretty much always clean. There were always showers available to use. It was also extremely quiet except for 1 night, which was because a group of annoying people were out in the hallway. The walls of the rooms themselves are solid concrete so you hear nothing except through the door to the hallway. There were some bells and children playing in the courtyard as the hotel is attached to a school and church. The location was actually much better than I expected, it's a few steps from a bus stop, walking distance or 1 minute by bus to Keleti station, and you can pretty much get anywhere further downtown in Pest or beyond within 15 minutes thanks to the amazing transit system. Also only 2 blocks from the Varosliget and all the attractions to be found there. Internet (lobby only) was ok, sometimes didn't work and there were usually several people camped out in the lobby using it. Would definitely come back again - I probably will.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    23
    11
    18
See reviews for
8
33
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I just checked in at Dominik about an hour ago and although the guy at the reception is not at its best today - but does speak enough English - , the wi fi is absolutely awesome. Made a call via Skype to a cell in romania and worked brilliantly. The rooms are warm and the lobby is also warm. Close to the train station

Room Tip: books on the courtyard side are more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I read a lot of bad reviews before I went to Dominik so I was a little nervous, but I had no choice because it was the last place where we found a free room for Easter. I can gladly say that there is no problem with the place: it is safe, clean, pretty near to the international train station, the staff was nice and polite. We had a great experience there, and for a traveler the prices are unbeatable. I highly recommend if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brum
Level Contributor
273 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The location is near to Budapest for those who like to be near the city. Near Keleti Palyaudvar (Main railway station) Walking 800 metres. Or number 7 bus stop get off and walk near. Room very basic share toilet and bathroom. Clean and ok. But comfortable. No luxury with fridge or TV in the room. 24 hours shop nearby to buy things. We stayed there second times now. Had to pay tax upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
279 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

During 2010 I stayed 3 times at Dominik Panzio, it always was short stays for 1 or 2 days. I found this hostel pretty good. The price is low, the room (though with shower and toilet outside) are good enough. They serve a breakfast for additional money, it is not big, but quite enough to start a day.
The hostel is situated a little bit far from the city center and walking from metro station to the hostel is not a pleasant trip. A number of beggars, criminals (I even witnessed a robbery of a shop!), many buildings are neglected – this all is rather depressing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Apart from the location (about 5 minute walk form city park and about 10 minutes from heroes square) and the one nice member of staff (others were pretty grumpy/rude) the hotel was rubbish. If they had called it a hostel i may have been a bit nicer as it has much more in common with a hostel than any hotel i've ever stayed in. The worst bit about the hotel was definitely the room.. no frills - literally only had beds in, and they were like rocks with the thinnest duvets covering them, but because the room was so boiling most of the time this didn't matter. The sheets on the beds had rips and holes in and didn't even cover the whole bed, i could see the old foam mattress underneath. The window also had a crack in it and didn't close properly and the walls were dirty. We were there for 4 nights and they attempted to clean the room once, giving up half way through. The shared bathroom was also poor, it didn't have toilet paper for at least 2 days and the smell wasn't that great either, in fact the whole hotel smelled of smoke/damp. The price of the hotel was very cheap but for pretty much the same amount we'd been staying in the hotel chesscom the previous few days and they were a world apart (if chesscom hadn't been full at the weekend we would've stayed there). At chesscom the rooms were really nice, real beds, tv, en suite and a lift, despite being quite far out it's definitely the better hotel, if you're on a budget go chesscom not here! The best thing about dominik panzio was the coffee machine and when we left.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The hotel is like a hostel. The room was small, the beds are hard as rocks and my boyfriend's sheet had a rip in it. The pillow was so uncomfortable I woke up with a stiff neck and had to use my own pillow (as we'd also been camping on the same trip so had it with me). The hotel smells, it's quite smoky. The staff - one lady who greeted us at the beginning was nice but others were quite rude - when we left my boyfriend said thanks to the guy at reception and he didn't even look up from his desk. The hotel is very noisy and the walls are paper thin. The cleaning staff had obviously entered our room to change the bin and had moved stuff around a bit but sheets were not changed. In future I would pay a little extra for something nicer as despite the free parking and ok location, this 'hotel' is not great at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Rila Hotel
#257 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Korona Panzio
#128 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Hotel Gloria
#190 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Hotel
Marco Polo Top Hotel
#142 of 556 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Gellert Hill
Bara Junior Hotel
Bara Junior Hotel
#355 of 556 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Hungaria Guesthouse
#90 of 176 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dominik Panzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dominik Panzio

Address: Chazar Andras u.3, Budapest 1146, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dominik Panzio 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, Venere, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dominik Panzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominik Panzio Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dominik Panzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.