We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Atlas City Hotel to your Saves list
Atlas City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nepszinhaz u. 39 - 41, Budapest 1081, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“City break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean room, basic amenities but ideal for a short city break with friends as you don't spend much time in the room anyway. Close to transport links. Breakfast has little variety but is edible. Basically, you get what you pay for - a hotel near the city centre with breakfast at a decent price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Amy M,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that we could contribute to you having a pleasant time in Budapest.
The breakfast is up to the 3-star standards, however we are continuously trying to make it more varied and to increase the quality.
Should you have in mind visiting Budapest in the future it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    73
    46
    38
See reviews for
28
51
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Visoko, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. I was at a trip with a car, so I chose it primarily because of private parking. I have no complaints. Breakfast was good. The room
(718) was clean and comfortable. The location is very good. If you like long walk (2-3 km), you almost don't have to use public transportation which in Budapest isn't as expensive as in some other destinations. Yes, there are some suspicious persons in the street at night, but I didn't experience any problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Edi 1979,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive experience.
We are glad to read that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel and that you also enjoyed the breakfast.
We would be more than happy to welcome you next time, should you plan to visit Budapest again.

Yours sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was truly awful!!! Here's what was wrong with it:
1. Towels were not changed unless one threw them on the floor.
2. Sheets did not fit the bed, and were not changed for the duration.
3. The double bed sank in the middle!!
4. Only one lift worked for eight floors.
5. Incorrect information was given to us by the reception about how to get somewhere and it ended up that it took us 1 1/2 hours to get to somewhere which should not have taken more than 1/2 an hour. Then about something we wanted booked and they said it did not exist!!
6. The kitchen, absolutely amazing, felt just like Oliver Twist!
a. First morning I told the staff the scrambled eggs were cold. When he brought them back they were only half cooked!
b. There was very little choice, no healthy foods at all. Okay, so we say that's just Eastern European breakfasts!.
c. The bummer came on the last morning when I asked for bread. A very large man said; no, no bread left. I looked at him, and said; that's disgusting. Five minutes later he was back with break that had suddenly come to light???
So all in all, DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL. Cheers.

Room Tip: Research your hotels well before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Shouav 1952

We are truly sorry to read that Atlas City Hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay in Budapest.
However, please allow me to clarify a few issues mentioned in your comment.
First of all please be informed that according to Hotelstars Union regulations even in higher ranked hotels the towels requested to be changed have to be dropped on the floor because of environmental protection reasons. In 3-star category hotels the bedlinen are changed twice a week, first time after the third night. The problem with the elevator was a techical failure of the operator company which we could not do anything against unfortunately and for that I would like to apologize.
I am almost sure that there has been a misunderstanding between you and the reception that caused you inconvenience, if this is not the case I apologize and I assure you that I will personally look into this matter to avoid any future mistakes.
I would like to express my gratitude for sharing your observations, that draw our attention to the things that will have to be improved.
However, we are still looking forward to welcoming you in the future, please contact us directly in advance.

Yours sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I liked the hotel, service and food. Great value. Yet the location is quiet disturbing especially at night. Despite the fact that transportation is quie easy and very close to the hotel the street is quite desolate at night. If you are looking for bars coffee shops and night life you have to go to other areas which are not really near by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Anat D,

Thank you for the nice review. We are glad to read that you were satisfied with the services of our hotel. It is true unfortunately that the area is not the most picturesque one, yet it shows signs of improvement, but we are trying to balance this by treating our guests with utmost attention.
We would be delighted to welcome you back soon in the Atlas City Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from atlas, a very reasonably priced hotel. It's not the plushest hotel in the city but for the money no complaints. The bar is cheap with some even cheaper bars nearby so perfect for groups. The rooms comfortably accommodated 4 per room. Not sure what other reviews meant by no staff, there was an army of cleaners each day and very helpful reception staff. Would return if I was re visiting in a group

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited this hotel on a college trip with 20 students and 3 teachers. We paid roughly £350 for 3 nights. The hotel was horrible. The staff were fine but we only saw about 3 members of staff the whole time we were there.
Firstly the hotel is in a rough neighbourhood and even our tour guide on the first day (who was born in budapest) told us to not go out on our own or in small groups at night because the street was dangerous. We encountered many drunk/homeless people living on the side of the street.
The reception was fine but the bar was extremely small even though the drinks were very cheap. We paid for bed and breakfast but we only went to breakfast on the first day as it was so poor. There was minimal cooked breakfast and mainly just bread and butter as there was no toaster to make toast. The orange/apple juice machine was completely empty and only dispensed left over water so the remaining three mornings we went to the tesco down the road and bought breakfast from there. The rooms were small but our view was horrible, just run down high rise buildings. The bed's weren't comfy and the sheets didn't smell particularly nice either. The bathroom was better but the shower was broken as you could not turn it on without it spraying out of the door and soaking the floor every morning. But the shower/toilet/sink were good quality. The hallways were lit by motion sensor lighting which very often was turned off so you had to find a light switch or try to get into your room in the dark. The corridors/landings were often filled with groups of students staying up late, which was fine because we were one of them but for other people staying here I can imagine this is horrible. The stairways were never lit either so it was quite scary walking up flights of stairs in the dark. Overall the hotel was horrible and had I not been with my friends I would have hated this, if i went with my family or on a trip outside of college I would have been horrified to stay in these conditions.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a street view, this won't be nice but it will be better than a view of the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on a street not so nice, but at the same time around the corner from cafe New York. The breakfast at the hotel is scarce, the staff are very helpful, the hotel in itself could do with some refurbishing, but considering the price it was fine for 3 nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Atlantic Hotel
#192 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#173 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#143 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Budapest Millennium
#177 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#158 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#161 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Address: Nepszinhaz u. 39 - 41, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Atlas City Hotel is located in Budapest city centre, adjacent to the Grand Boulevard, only 600m away from Blaha Lujza M2 red metro station and a 15-minute walk from Keleti Pályaudvar, international railway station, near pubs, restaurants and popular public areas. Atlas City Hotel’s spacious, well-equipped rooms, all with adjustable air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms, are ideal for individual travellers, groups and business travellers alike. There are non-smoking rooms. The hotel has enclosed secure parking facilities for guests arriving by car. The popularity of the Atlas City Hotel is due to the highest level of service, homely atmosphere, central location in Budapest, as well as our competitive prices. The staff’s goal is to satisfy our guests’ needs and we sincerely hope to win your approval, and welcome you at the Atlas City Hotel Budapest in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.