We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Swing City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Swing City to your Saves list
Hotel Swing City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferenc krt 19-21, Budapest H-1094, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed bugs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

They got bed bugs, so i cant recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    35
    22
    25
See reviews for
14
39
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Very well located near the center of Pest, near metro and tram stations.
The rooms were large, clean but very poor.The parking for the car was expensine (12 euros per night) the breakfast very poor too.The main advantage is the price, we paid 49 euros per night, breakfast included, for a triple room in high season

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konya, Turkey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed for two nights on the dates of 24-25 October 2010. We had 3 receptionists but two of them were really rude and didn't even answer your questions. First night we slept well but the second night the heating was not on and when I asked about it, the one with the beard said it was automatic but alas! No heating! The bas was closed was what they said. So we regretted staying in that terrible hotel. I would never recommend that place. Try to find something better. The only advantage was that it is located in the center, that's it. They should change something quickly I guess.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel is very tired and while the bedding & bathroom was clean, the rest of the room would benefit from new carpets and re-decorating. The toilet facilities in reception were extremely poor and dirty.

The pictures on the website are very misleading, the rooms do not bear any resemblance to the pictures. There is no bar, no Hungarian & Chinese restaurant, as advertised, and the fitness centre is not part of the hotel. If you want to use it, you have to pay and enter through a different entrance.

We had several power cuts during our stay and it took the hotel quite some time to sort out the problem.

The staff are not particularly helpful either, with the exception of the receptionist who booked us in on our arrival, he was helpful and the ladies who served breakfast were pleasant. The rest of the staff were quite unhelpful and unfriendly.

I would not recommend this hotel and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was by far the dirtiest little hotel I've stayed at in quite some time. We booked it thru a travel website that had rated in 3 out of five stars. What they conveniently forgot to mention was the fact that it shares a wall with a sex shop and they have "special" rooms that they rent by the hour. Oh yeah, the cockroaches in the bathroom were a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I stayed with my partner and brother in February 2009. We travelled through easyjet and stayed bed and breakfast. The location is ideal when you are on a budget. Having read the reviews we were a little worried about "sex shows" on our street! They are there but are low key and you wouldn't notice them. The hotel is a nice walk to the river and two different tram stops depending where you are going. You can also walk to metro stops or you can go two stops on the tram and then catch the metro. We caught the tram in the snow but once the snow disappeared it wasn't a bad walk to the metro.
The hotel isn't too far from the Holocaust Memorial which we visited. It is very moving and the synagogue is one of the most beautiful things I have seen.
The firt night we arrived we walked to the river in the snow and then turned left and walked into town. You will pass the market hall which is amazing when it is open and full of everything you can imagine. Lace, paprika, meats, veg, souvenirs!
The best places we ate were small restaurants around the main town. Potato soup and paprika chicken were my favourites. The restaurant prices were reasonable but some were expensive.
A good walk up Buda Hill into the old town will burn off the calories and not recomended if you can't walk far or wheelchairs, take the tram instead. Beautiful views from the top of the hill and look for the bullet holes in the buildings!
There is a cafe in the shopping mall at the end of the tram stops behind Buda which does every hot chocolate flavour you can think of! It is also very warm so you can thaw out when the snow is coming down!
The szechenyi baths are awesome! My favourite thing! Swimming outside surrounded by snow in water that is around 38! Like taking a bath outside! Lovely! There are also hot baths, sulphur baths and pools of various temperatures inside. Everyone uses them, tourists and locals and I'm glad we went!
Hotel - The hotel is quiet and tucked away from the town but has big rooms with ed and tv which we never watched. The bathroom was nice and clean and shower was great. There was no bath. It is an old higgledy piggeldy building and you go up and around corridors to your rooms but it is well sign posted. There were lifts I think but not ideal for infirm. The breakfast by all acounts was good, I didn't have it as I don't get up on holiday but my brother had his fill and said there were breads meats yoghurt, some cereals, fruit. He said it was a small selection but was good and fresh everyday. You are only a short walk from a little corner shop if you need anything extra and there are various bigger shops in town.
Oh and go to the biggest flea market in Budapest which involves a tram and then a bus. The flea market is full of antiques, old furniture, clothes, bric a brac, militaria.... My brother bought an accordian and we bought some old military medals for my Grandad for his birthday! Very random but lovely to browse and you can buy tea from a hut but it was bitterly cold so wrap up warm!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Hotel is a walk away from the main train station, the Bridge, and the tourist areas. Messed up our reservations, but the a/c was cold. Be ready to walk up weirdly placed stairwells if you get room #'s 40 and above. Breakfast was so-so for European hotel, TV is a joke, but room was clean. Price was good, but you get what you pay for. Forget the advertised bar and restaurant here- fast food Chinese and drinks in the cubbyhole of a lobby. Reminds me of a bad Club Quarters in the U.S.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.9 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#260 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thomas
Hotel Thomas
#173 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#190 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#217 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#211 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corvin
Hotel Corvin
#128 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swing City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swing City

Address: Ferenc krt 19-21, Budapest H-1094, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swing City 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three-star hotel, which is situated within the heart of Budapest, on the main boulevard, offers our guests a pleasant stay with its friendly atmosphere of intimacy. We ensure closed parking place to those guests who arrive by car. All of our hotelrooms are air-conditioned and equipped with shower, lavatory, television, telephone, mini bar, and safe box . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Swing City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swing City Pension Hotel Budapest
Swing City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Swing City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.