We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leo Panzio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leo Panzio Hotel to your Saves list
Leo Panzio Hotel
Kossuth Lajos utca 2/A | H-1053 Budapest V., Budapest, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Dromiskin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Quality and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

We really liked this hotel. It was almost like a little hidden gem in the middle of a busy pest. I would agree with a lot of the previous comments. As you walk in the door you feel a little lost as if in someones communal apartment block. The hotel is on the second floor to the left reached by an old looking, but functional lift, or you can climb the long stairs, which are a bit dark. But once you reach the foyar of the hotel all is forgiven.

Its a great central spot overlooking one of the busy roads of pest. The hotel is very well presented and clean. We also had room 10 funnyly enough and found it large enough for two. It was clean, neat and cleaned every day. Even though we overlooked the main road and had a bright light illuminating a sign outside our window, we found neither a problem as the windows kept out the noise and the curtains kept out all of the light.

Breakfast is a simple affair, bread rolls, fruit, cereals, toast, tea - coffee, very strong coffee etc. No fry I'am afraid, but perfectly adequate.

Overall we found the hotel to be perfect, of good clean quality and very well priced for its location. We found the staff to be very friendly, communicative, spoke english and always said hello or goodbye. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Budapest for its location, quality and price.

Ian Russell, Dromiskin, Ireland.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodation, price and presetation.
  • Disliked — Limited breakfast, size of hotel and breakfast room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you know the door code on the way out / in.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
53
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, CA USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

We like to find those little jewels that are fun to discover and leave you feeling that you beat the system of unimaginative and expensive hotels. I won't repeat prevously posted comments just read them yourself to get the flavor of this quaint small hotel. The location is excellent, price is right, and the rooms were neat and clean with a very comfortable bed. As previously mentioned in other reviews, don't be put off by the outside appearance of the building or the old elevator, when you arrive in the hotel itself you will be pleasantly surprised! Good basic no frills accommodations, breakfast included, and a good rate, you won't go wrong here!

  • Liked — Price, Location, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Outside appearance
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be put off by outside appearance
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed at the Leo Panzio for 2 nights. We chose it for its location and cost and were not disappointed. I first read about this hotel in a Lonely Planet Guide to Budapest and then checked the Trip Advisor comments.
We were a bit concerned when we first saw the building and the lift! They were very old and the building looked worse for wear. The hotel does not take up the whole building so you must catch the lift (or walk up the stairs when you have no luggage) to get to the reception desk.
However the hotel has been redecorated and was clean and fresh looking. It was right in the centre of Pest so it was easy to walk everywhere. The guy at reception for most of our stay was not terribly welcoming but the chap on duty as we checked out was great so guess it depends who you strike! We stayed in Room 10 (after requesting 12, 11 or 10 after reading a T.A. review) which had a great view over the city and was large by European standards. The bathroom was pretty small (no tub) but functional. We didn't find traffic noise a problem.
The breakfast room was small but the waitress friendly & helpful. It was basically help yourself - cereal, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, meat, jam, rolls, coffee & tea with toast always offered.
For its location and price I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The old building from the outside.
  • Tips/Secrets — Rooms 10, 11 or 12.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nighs in September and loved it. STAY HERE.

Room: First, the bulding itself is amazing, as is the old style elevator. The room is decent size, with plenty of storage space for clothes. It has a t.v., desk and mini bar. The bathroom was also decent size. The room was clean, and had great views (we did not have a balcony). Our only negative was the pillows, however we travelled to several Eastern European countries this trip, and the lousy pillows seemed to be par for the course.

Service: Service was pleasant, and you must leave your keys there when you go out. Upon returning late night, the Leo provides you with a security code to type in to open the (two) entry doors at street level. The breakfast was also above average, with toast, jam, granola, yogurt, juices, coffee and tea. (although the breakfast room was a bit small).

Location: Tough to beat this location. Right above the metro station and a short walk (or one metro stop) to the "up and coming" Raday street which is full of cafes, restaurants, and pubs. It is also a 2 minute walk to the Danube and the Elizabeth Bridge. Across the street is a supermarket, where the locals shop, offering cheap water, beer, wine, and deli sandwiches - which we stored in our refidgerator.

miscellaneous: The t.v. does not get many (if any) English speaking channels, beware, however, after 10pm, one channel offers hard core pornography, odd and pretty random, as was the live feed of the New England Patriots / New York Jets game.

Cheap,Self serve Laundrymat on the corner (English Speaking)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing worth mentioning
  • Tips/Secrets — Raday street. Laundromat,which hand you a form in English with directions, & Supermarket
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leo Panzio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo Panzio Hotel

Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 2/A | H-1053 Budapest V., Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LEO Boutique Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in downtown Budapest in the heart of the business and shopping area. The Hotel is equally suitable for businessmen and tourists looking for central location and elegant furnished rooms. The hotel is close to Vaci utca, the main luxury shopping street, where upscale stores, romantic restaurants, and many old historical buildings can be found. The CORSO (promenade) on the bank of the Danube is a two minute walk. The ships and buses also leave from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Leo Panzio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo Panzio Budapest
Leo Panzio Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo Panzio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.