We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budapest jewel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casati Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casati Budapest Hotel to your Saves list
Casati Budapest Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paulay Ede u. 31., Budapest 1061, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Pest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€118 (EUR)
Ranked #6 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Siena, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Budapest jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fantastic hotel - perfect location, great room, trendy, new, clean,great service, fabulous breakfast. The hotel lobby was lovely, the room was spacious and very comfortable, as was the bathroom. The breakfast room was beautiful and the selection of food was superb.
Highly reccomended!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear FlaviaItaly,
Thank you for your review regarding to Casati Budapest Hotel. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our services, including the wide selection of breakfast. Have you seen our Art Corner? Our contemporary exhibition has changed recently! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    135
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
359
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Located in a street parallel to the main street on which stands the State Opera and excellent transport, this unusually decorated hotel provided excellent service. Very recently refurbished in a generally very modern style which some may find a bit confronting, in a traditional probably 18th-century building, we found it an ideal base for exploring the city. There are four styles of rooms and our room was modern with unusually the bathroom facilities encased in glass, partly frosted for privacy. The downside was an inability to turn on the light without disturbing one's partner.

Although sometimes run with relatively few staff, this did not prove a hindrance to us. One night we asked for a drink from the bar and only the front office was manned, leading to some delay which was apologised for profusely but did not worry us as we were on vacation. There is a gymnasium which we did not use because of pressure of time.

The breakfast area is stylishly decorated with a very full European spread and very cooperative staff who did everything to ensure that the complexities of the automatic coffee machine did not overwhelm us!

It is only a block and a half to 2 blocks to a considerable variety of restaurants.

We loved Budapest and on our next trip we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: because rooms are in different decors, check their website to find one which harmonises with individ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Maxmagusn44,
Thank you for your feedback regarding to Casati Budapest Hotel. We are happy to inform you that the facade of our hotel will be renovated this winter, you should come back to see the difference! Our friendly and familiar staff is ready to help you and satisfy all your wishes day and night.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick St John
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is newly refurbished so do not be swayed by the 1 or 2 poor reviews as they are many years old and relate to the hotel's previous incarnation. It is now an extremely stylish hotel in a good location. We got a great deal on-line and the Junior Suite was only slightly dearer than a double room and we were both totally impressed with our 'natural' design suite (32) with a little terrace looking over the street. It was all very comfortable and well appointed with fridge, free wi-fi, plenty of wardrobe space, desk and safe.
There is a nice little gym in the basement and a very funky bar with daily happy hours and a great barman Benjie.
The breakfast was pretty good though the breakfast area could get busy at times.
There are smoking balconies on the 2nd and 3rd floor landings which my husband used and so he was slightly offended to get 2 notes in the room 'reminding' us that rooms are non-smoking and fines may be imposed for breaking these rules. I think however that these were probably given to everybody and certainly nobody tried to impose any fines.
There are some very nice restaurants and the Kadarka Wine Bar within a couple of hundred yards and of course nowhere is too hard to get to in Budapest.
We had a great 4 nights at the Casati and still didn't get to do everything we wanted and will definitely be returning, and this lovely little hotel will be the place we want to stay when we do.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite, well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear AttitudeAdjuster,
Thank you for taking the time to write us your opinion. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our services and the freshly designed accommodation. Sorry for having overreacted the smoking issue, but one of our main issue is to keep the rooms spotlessly clean. We hope we can welcome you again in Casati Hotel during your next visit in Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I would srtrongly reccomend this spotless boutique hotel located right in the heart of the city. This place is more than just 'nice' or 'clean', it offers a unique experience in terms of style and atmosphere with unique features such as an art gallery, design furniture and differently decorated rooms.
We stayed at Casati Budapest though an amazing offer on Booking (the room costed us about 50 GBP per night only, and including continental breakfast! So look out for these exceptional value for money offers), and we arrived quite late in the evening because of a late flight. The reception was open 24/7 (and so the hotel bar!) , so we had no issues at all and after the very kind gentleman at the reception explained us a few practical information, we were assigned room 21.

The style of our room was 'classic' with dark grey walls , soft lighting (amazing gold lamps on the walls) and a huge walk in shower. The room and the bathroom where spotless clean, there was also another smaller WC room separated from the shower/sink area. We had a nice soft round rug on the wood floor, and tv, hairdrier, minibar etc.

Breakfast was served from 7-10 from Monday to Friday and 8-11 during the weekend: offering a selection of cold meats, cheese, sausages, eggs, bread (I really liked the pumpkin seeds bread!), yogurt, cereals, hot drinks and juices. More than enough!

The hotel also has other facilities such as a gym and a sauna. But we did not have the chance to try them.

The location as well is superbe, just a few steps away from Opera subway station. We bought a 3 days pass and used it to visit the whole city whithout any problem. It's on the yellow line so it will take you right to Vaci Utca or the beautiful Szechenyi baths (do not miss this experience) in a matter of minutes.

Overall excellent experience and no complaints at all, and...the bed was super comfortable too!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 21 (classic decor) with view on the street. There are rooms on the internal court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
DearTripsyuk,
Thank you four your positive review. Rudas, Király other elegant, art nouveau style Gellért Bath are also worth visiting.
We hope to welcome you again soon in Casati!
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having Just stayed for 5 days at this wonderful hotel we have nothing but praise for the whole experience. We stayed in room 34 which overlooked the inner courtyard, The room was modern with a funky style which made it different to other hotels we have stayed in, coffee and tea facilities as well as a mini bar were available in the room, and all toilettries and a hairdryer in the bathroom. The continental breakfast offered a good variety which would suit most people,the breakfast area and bar area again decorated in the same modern funky style. All staff were polite and very helpful.The hotel is situated just a short stroll from St Stephens Basillica and only 200 metres from the Opera house, nice bars and restaurants also close by. This is a great city to visit and the CASATI hotel is the gem in the city give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Angelas1966,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Have you also seen our ’Classic’, ’Natural’ and ’Heaven’ style rooms? You should come back to experience their unique design!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed 1 week at Casati Budapest Hotel, and I had an excellent experience.
Staff is very friendly, helpful and professional.
Rooms are very well furnished, and the style distinguishes itself from the other 3 stars hotels I experienced in Budapest in the past.
Beds are very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom offers all items, so that I didn't need to take my own toilette products.
The hotel is located in Paulay Ede, which is the road just behind Andrassy utca (the hungarian "champs élysées"), the Opera and the Basilica are situated just 1 minute walking and there are lots of nice restaurants, pubs and the typical ruin bars in the area. Vaci Utca, the touristic pedestrian zone is also very close, it takes just 5-10 minutes walking, as well as the parliament and the great Margrit Island.
I went to Szecheny baths which are very easy to access by feet as well (eventually by tube is also possible), and it worths once there (there are 3 big pools outdoor, and more than 20 internal pools).
Just close to the hotel there is a very nice ruin bar, Anker, that unfortunately will be closed during the winter season. It is a very attractive young style pub; music is cool with a friendly relaxing atmosphere. Sound was well isolated once returned in the hotel, so that I could take advantage of both, the ruin bar (to enjoy my evening) & my stay at the hotel (to spend my nights) :-)
I strongly recommend this hotel and hope your experience will be great as mine.

Room Tip: Junior suites are just marvelous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Alessandro B,
Thank you for sharing your experiences concerning your stay at Casati. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you in our hotel. During winter time Budapest offers a wide choice of programs. You have to come back to try the best mulled wine in the Christmas Market, the winter-the med gastro festivals, or the pool parties in Széchenyi bath during a snowy night, not to mention New Year’s Eve!
We are looking forward to meeting you again here!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This recently remodeled hotel 1 block from the Budapest Opera is beautiful and affordable. The complimentary breakfast offers a nice variety of food. One block away is a delightful restaurant with some of the best food we had. We suggested a few minor improvements but this was one of the nicest places we stayed in our 4-week visit in 7 different cities/towns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear samrlloyd,

Thank you for writing about your experiences concerning our hotel.
We are just about to improve our breakfast, we would like to offer more hot food and new bakeries and cheese. You should come back, check it again and tell the difference.

Best regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casati Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casati Budapest Hotel

Address: Paulay Ede u. 31., Budapest 1061, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Pest)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#38 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casati Budapest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Casati Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pest Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casati Budapest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.