We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matrjoska bisztro

Matrjoska bisztro
Lorinc pap ter 3., Budapest 1088, Hungary
+36 1 796 8496
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International, Pub, Fusion, Bistro, Gastropub, Russian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff if sometimes a little inexperienced. Good atmosphere and prompt service. Our waiter happily fetched a colleague to explain some of the options to us in English - no complaints, we don't speak Hungarian.
Pleasant, fresh decor, bistro like. Menu had lots of tempting choices and we were all very happy with our own dishes. All were beautifully and imaginatively presented and the quality was excellent. Deserts were attractive and more-ish. We had a very good bottle of Hungarian wine and they were happy to provide tap water.
We left hoping to book for the next night but were disappointed to find they closed on Sundays and Mondays. If staying at the Palazzo Zichy this is so convenient, you literally have a dozen steps from the front door, you don't need to wrap up!

This was by far the best meal we had in Budapest.

They take credit cards and don't add a tip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    51
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The place you hope you'll find on holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Like a few other reviewers I nearly didn't go to this restaurant as it was directly opposite the hotel. I'm so glad I did though. The decor and layout is more like a bistro (as the name says) and we were slightly put off by the rearranging of tables when we said hadn't reserved, which seemed a bit odd. However, when the food was served it all became clear - the food was incredible. Beautifully prepared and served, and absolutely delicious (to those who said it was small servings on large plates- that's how haute cuisine is meant to be served!) with more than enough to fill you up.
The wine list had a good range of local Hungarian wines and the really amazing part was getting a bill for £40 for 3 people including drinks...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
264 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“You pay for an image...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We didn't expect too much from this place because it was not available during holidays. It looks like that they prefered to celebrate both Western and Eastern holidays and didn't work for almost a month during high season in winter. How lazy, hah?

When we came, the waiter asked us to sit at the table for "second sort of people," due to the lack of reservation. This place didn't look full during the time of our stay. It is interesting, that at least 3 companies were denied to sit inside because they didn't like the idea to share the same table with other customers of "second sort." Well, they had a point!

Because of stupidly expensive prices, we decided to have two soups (1,100 HUF each), two drinks and to order 32 cm. pizza (1090 HUF) from other place later at home. 2,600 HUF per meal seemed too much for this type of place and this type of food. Common, it is not that crazy gourme menu that they had at all.

We are not evil people, we are just honest, and we believe that the purpose of a restaurant is not to go there and look around, but to go and eat and be full and satisfied, but not with empty pockets and stomach in the end!!!

Well, to be honest, the two soups that we ordered tasted very nice and they were very well cooked. However, the propotion was very little, and the price was very big. When your plate is 4 times bigger than the food inside it, it is not a good sign...

Last but not least, we don't know why this restaurant is supposed to be a "Russian Gourmet"?! How can it be a Russian restaurant with no Russian cakes/pastery/pancakes (for instance)? Instead, they have sparkling Kvas (Russian barrel drink) from plastic bottle, which does not make any sense. Just the decoration with Russian elements (which were bought in the neighbor Russian immigrant store) is not enough... Ok, they had some Russian candies and cans with caviar, but for God's sake you can buy these stuff for half price in a normal Hungarian shop!

Service was horrible and impolite with more than half an hour of waiting for a simple soup. And expect to have not working terminal for your working credit card at the end of their service! 3/5 is a very big favor for this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited this restaurant because we were staying in a nearby hotel. I tasted Russian food in the first time in my life and I must say it was delicious! I recommend this restaurant to all who like to try new tastes, there is a very pleasant atmosphere and nice stuff. Another plus was their own beer Matrjoska, was very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I'm not an expert of Russian cuisine, so I won't be able to tell you about the authenticity of the place. What I know though that we had a superb time here with friends, and we long to return. The food is great - let it be a little tapas dinner you wish for or something hearty. There are not much choice, but they all sound so lovely that we actually had a problem of picking after all. I have to mention the caviar was also very nice, and the guys, well, they were the happiest about the quality vodka flight that we would recommend to people who think of vodka as unpleasent burning water.
Also, we loved the decoration and atmosphere, too, it makes you feel very cozy from the first moment on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matrjoska bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Matrjoska bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matrjoska bisztro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.