We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My, those beds were hard!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bara to your Saves list
Hotel Bara
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hegyalja u. 34-36, Budapest 1118, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 169 Budapest B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“My, those beds were hard!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Hotel is actually fine apart from 2 things: the beds are near impossible to get a good nights sleep in as they are so hard it's back-breaking, and the girl working the breakfast kept telling people off for all kinds of things. Seriously, there is no need to shout at people because they get things wrong! Location is a little out of central Budapest as it's on the Buda side, but transport into town is easy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    31
    15
    21
See reviews for
7
29
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alba Iulia, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Let me try to be as objective as possible:
- Made the reservation online, once you do it, you can't go back and cancel it if you dislike the rooms. You can cancel but they'll charge you 1 night.
- The rooms are incredibly small and ugly (I felt the walls were about to fall over me)
- One of the beds was broken
- The double room is actually two very small beds and some extra space.
- No TV
- No Air conditioning
- Shower and bathroom are VERY small and they look dirty
- Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby for 1€ / hour but doesn't work and you don't get a refund even if you beg for one.

I regret my entire existence for even knowing such hotels exist in Europe. Almost bearable if you absolutely need to be near the highway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We spend several days in Eastern Europe, staying in three hotels during that time. The Bara was the least of the three-but was adequate for sleeping, which was what we needed the room for, and was relatively inexpensive. Our biggest concern was the lack of air conditioning, which in late July became somewhat of a problem. Opening the windows at night provided some relief, but since there was no ventilation, it was minimal. Our room was basic. Two beds, two chairs, a dresser. There was a TV but it did not work. I'm 6'3" and the shower was very small for me. The bed was nice-on the hard side, but good. I liked the large, feather pillow. The duvet took some getting used to-there was no top sheet. The entire hotel was not handicap accessible. We had a significant amount of walking and climbing stairs in order to get to our rooms. The elevator was only large enough to accommodate two people at the time. There was secured parking under the hotel-the gate was kept locked at all times, and a staff member opened it when you needed to leave. The breakfast was probably a typical Eastern European meal, certainly not American. Macaroni and cheese with hot dogs on the buffet? We also ate at the restaurant one evening. We were the only people in the restaurant, but it took quite a long time for us to receive our food. When we got it, the food was fine. One of my pieces of luggage did not arrive at the airport with me, but the staff helped with the situation, even going to the extent of calling the airport and inquiring about it. I found the staff pleasant, some people spoke better English than others, but one of my traveling companions was fluent enough in Hungarian that it did not matter. Here's the bottom line. If you are used to a Hilton, a Holiday Inn; any of those luxury or semi-luxury places, you will NOT appreciate this place. If you are satisfied with average accommodations typical of Western Europe, things will be fine. Simply don't have high expectation compared to hotels in the US. Were I to return to Budapest during a different season, I would be perfectly satisfied in staying at the Hotel Bara.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed at the hotel Bara for four nights with my wife and elderley parents on a sight seeing trip to this beautiful city. Alarm bells began to ring when the taxi from the airport dropped us off at the hotel Bara, but looks can be deceiving. Not this time. The hotel is very basic & uninviting, & in our experience the majority of the staff were unhelpful. i.e. We came in one evening & asked for drinks at the bar (20 minutes before the bar was due to close) & were refused. The barman then proceeded to close the bar while we stood there! Breakfast was very poor every morning with a very limited choice. We got all our help & advice from the hotel Charles just over the road, The staff here were more than happy to help with our queries, even though we were not staying there. They also had an excellent restaurant in pleasant surroundings, & they served drinks until midnght. (Hotel Bara bar closed at 22:00, & no evening meals were available during our stay). We bought Budapest cards from hotel Charles which allowed 72 hours travel on trams, buses, & the Metro system, which we found to be an easy way of getting around the city. Rooms at the hotel Bara are basic. One good point however, is the location of the hotel. It is on a regular bus route into the city centre & provides easy access to the Metro.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

We didn't expect much; we were only staying for one night and it was cheap BUT, there's cheap and there's Hotel Bara. After a route march and climbing many many stairs both up and down we eventually reached our room. There was a tiny lift that made several "disturbing" sounds and was just a bit bigger than a telephone box. Room for one and one bag only.

The room was very basic and I don't think it has seen a paintbrush since the Russians left in 1990; the sheets were clean but that's it. The TV didn't work and you had to use the key to lock the door on the way out and to secure the door from the inside for overnight. No tea or coffee making facilities. Could have easily been a Barracks or Hospital or Prison in a former life...and the Bar closed early.

It's a long way to the other side of the Elizabeth Bridge where the City Centre begins. The road is noisy and in constant use by all manner of traffic. The location is not enhanced by the Mambo Club strip club just a few yards away. Okay if that's what you've come to Budapest for but not for us.

In short, think Backpackers in the middle of nowhere and then deduct 3 stars. That's about what we got.

  • Liked — The Exit and there was some natural light overlooking a building site and many roofs
  • Disliked — The Hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Minnesota USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

This is a great little hotel with a great big plus in service. Attila, the person at the front desk for most of our 2 day stay was so helpful. He spoke and understood English quite well and never seemed impatient or stressed. He answered all our multiple questions and gave us good advice. The room was very adequate and comfortable. No air conditioning. With the window closed there was zero street noise. A nice buffet breakfast was included. Not in the main area but easy transportation. Must buy bus/metro tickets in advance, not available on bus. There is a lovely restaurant down the street, a beer garden next door and a shopping mall within reasonable walking distance. There is a bank about a block away also. JUDY

  • Liked — the value and the front desk person Attila
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

Our flights were delayed by a few hours getting to budapest and even though we weren't expecting 5* comfort, getting into the room at 2am was a real disappointment. We had booked a double room but had twin beds with a large gap in between them, the decor was very uninviting and even though we were not facing the road you could still hear cars driving by and more importantly almost every other guest stomping around their rooms. Not wanting to bother with changing rooms at that time in the morning we left it and managed to change to a double the next morning.
The double room was much more comfortable but being on a main road meant that we did not get a good nights sleep for the 4 nights we were there. The hotel is way out of the main city centre and even though we didn't mind walking the first couple of days it got a real drag after a while.
We were very pleased to be moving on after 4 days.

  • Liked — relatively cheap
  • Disliked — The Noise!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bara

Address: Hegyalja u. 34-36, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bara 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bara Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.