We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for that price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Hotel Amadeus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fogarasi ut. 123, Budapest 1141, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
1 review
“Good value for that price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one rainy night in December, so Amadeus welcomed us with warm clean rooms and friendly stuff. The breakfast was also good and tasty. The location is not among the Budapest touristic attractions, but not far from them.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Ügyvezető igazgató at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing these nice thoughts. We are really happy if you think the value of our service and the costs of the stay are both adequate. We hope we can greet you next time - hopefully on a very sunshiny day - in our hotel.

Best regards,

Ildikó Bazsó
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
26
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finneidfjord, Norway, Nordland, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything is for us, very good. We have both been herer several times and we will choose this hotel every time as long as we are going to this city. Thanks for a good holiday. And a BIG thank you to all og the staff. The little negative thing is the madrass in the bed - it's to us - to hard - a 5 cm overmadrass would have done the stay perfect. Rom 210. Mrs T and T.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Ügyvezető igazgató at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice comment. We highly appreciate this as a satisfied customer's whole-hearted words. As the mattresses we gladly confirm this project (change these equipments in rooms) are in progress, at your next visit you are going to enjoy the result of these changes. See you soon!

Sincerely

Ildikó Bazsó
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just got back from a trip to the Kreative clinic & stayed at the Amadeus hotel for convenience as very close to the clinic. The staff is very friendly, polite & helpful. The hotel is situated at the junction of a busy roads & therefore very noisy if your room is on the road side. This is more of a warning than a complaint as I understand it cant be moved & the staff friendliness makes up for it. The hotel is old but the rooms overall cleanliness is ok. However there is one thing that the management could very easily change & for which I am very disappointed about...the pillows!!! Very old, goes out of shape & its impossible to have a good night sleep with those. If you look inside the pillow case you will see that the pillow (I am not sure we can call it this way) is stained of probably the thousands people dribble that have used it before you. I asked for another but was given just another old antics. These are so bad, uncomfortable & dirty that I would not let my dog sleep on it. For that reason only I will not return to the hotel on my next visit. As I said this is something that could so easily be changed...come on there is an Ikea down the road!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Ügyvezető igazgató at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this notice. Concerning the containt of your comment there are couple things you were satisfied with and it's a pleasure for us. We are glad if you think our staff nice and helpful, this is one of the most important rule in a hotel. About the pillows, we are sorry if you felt uncomfortable because of this. Usually there are no complaints for it, but the comfort feeling is not the same by everybody. People who like to hold their neck and head in an upper position might use double pillows, it used to work this way.

Sincerely,

Ildikó Bazsó
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to few hotels in Budapest and of all Amadeus tops them all! We had very enjoyable stay here. The staff here is excellent and helpful. We definiately recommend our friends. The food is superb, very good menu for every taste.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Ügyvezető igazgató at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. As we did in the past we will do always our best to give you reasons to choose us again. We are glad if we could provide assistance for your excellent stay in Budapest. See you next time, too!

Sincerely,

Ildikó Bazsó
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Looking at some of the previous reviews I do wonder what kind of conditions people find acceptable! I stayed here as many do to attend the Dental Clinic- Kreativ just down the road, I did have a choice of 3 but chose this hotel because it was very close and I was travelling alone, please note that if you do stay further out you have to pay for Taxis each way to and from the clinic and its approx £20 per journey (£40 per day!) for a 20 minute car journey - London prices so take that into account because over a week it will really mount up. So the Hotel - as someone mentioned earlier where do I start! it would have been cutting edge in the 1950's and the place needs some serious investment or knocking down and re-buliding, rooms are dank, dark & noisey especially if you are located near the bus stop outside, I had to open the door for some fresh air but the smoke from people below at the bus stop just comes up into the room along with the heavy traffic noise day and night- horrible! Rooms are old and run down although I think the cleaners do their best but its a case of trying to turn a pigs ear into a silk purse. The Staff vary, some pleasant some miserable and some rude, I asked to move rooms but the hotel was full (cant imagine why) so it was impossible and they didnt seem interested either - I decided to check out! As for the Kreativ - well its a modern facility but very very busy- standing room only, I suggest this place is good for simple dental repairs or simple cosmetic work but more complex work needs to be done on home soil, there is nothing personel about the service, you are a commodity and they are there to make money and lots of it, the prices are slightly cheaper than the UK but you have to take into account the inconvenience of travelling, time off work, hotels, flights, food and spending money plus you are staying in a very poor surpressed country , the people are unfriendly and cold and I've travelled all over the world but would never return here for any reason whatsoever!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor facing the road near the bus stop - no idea what other ooms are like but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Ügyvezető igazgató at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment anyhow. We received your thoughts regrettably, sadly and surprisingly. We understand guests are not the same and conditions in a facility can be acceptable by some and rejected by others. Location, distance from the downtown and the taxi carfare cost are circumstances beyond our control.(Just a small complement: taxi price is less than 10 pounds if called by reception...).
We are very sorry if you were disturbed by cigarette smoke from the street, but we have no permission to warn passers what to do on the sidewalk. Is the room dank, really? Sorry, but nobody claimed about it before.
About the noise: me and my colleagues used to do everything to solve situations like this - if we can. It's comprehensible some people spend the night very sensitively and the streetnoise disturbs them while sleeping. Unfortunately the occupancy doesn't allow to change rooms immediately upon the guest' request, but I'm sure we could have figured out a solution the next day for you. Such a pity, that you did not give us a chance to prove our hospitality.

Sincerely,

Ildikó Bazsó
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Another wonderful stay.
From the minute you walk into the front door you are made welcome
It's just a short walk to Kreativ Dental so if have treatment it's really handy.
I've eaten in the restaurant numerous times and always enjoyed the food ( especially the Goulash soup ) and very nice wine !!!
Last but not least !! the staff make the hotel the great place that it is .

Room Tip: 109 has a big balcony at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Ügyvezető igazgató at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Angela,

Thank you so much for your kindness. As a long time returning guest you are always warmly welcomed in Amadeus. You and the similar frequenters have a very special place in our heart. We hope you have valued the innovations in the appearance and we are glad if you were satisfied with our service and attitude.

Best regards,

Ildikó Bazsó
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I don't know where to start. I suppose I could start at check-in. A very dour night manager. Told me nothing about hotel facilities/breakfast/directions to room. My room resembles a prison cell from 1980's Eastern Europe. No curtains, one pillow, bottles of water requiring a bottle opener but no bottle opener in the room. The beds are small with the oddest bedding. There is a personalised letter from the director which in my case was written to someone else.

The air con works fine. The wifi signal is good too. The food in the restaurant is very rich, I enjoyed it and the staff in the restaurant is lovely too. The breakfast wasn't great. Why can't they provide normal coffee/teacups instead of soup bowls?! Get down early if you can.

What I can say is that it was clean! That was a relief. The only filth in the room was the manky blinds. The front of house staff let this hotel down the most. The day manager is rather abrupt and rolled his eyes at me at one stage. Considering this hotel is linked to the dentists, you'd imagine they would make more of an effort with the patients.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Ügyvezető igazgató at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this comment even if it's not the best for us. It seems some unfortunate coincidences have occured during your stay, what should have been avoided or corrected.
You have found a couple deficiencies in our service, like cups in the restaurant or a bottle opener, but these things are replacable by request.
Regarding the main service - aircon, wifi, restaurant food, cleanliness - we still received good points from you what shows you could find appropriate things as well.

Sincerely,

Ildikó Bazsó
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Fogarasi ut. 123, Budapest 1141, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amadeus 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.