We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly museum, beuatiful sculptures.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imre Varga Collection (Gyujtemeny)

Imre Varga Collection (Gyujtemeny)
III. Laktanya u. 7, Budapest 1033, Hungary
1 2500274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 223 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly museum, beuatiful sculptures.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The museum is understated in its frontal presentation. We walked past it several times.
The staff are very friendly and despite having limited English, the lady tried to give us a guided tour and took photos for us. She gave my wife a postcard of St. Stephen.

The sculptures are fascinating and touching. They present facettes of Hungarian history. We have endeavoured to find out more about Imre Varga since our visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Modern and exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

One of the most amazing little exhibitions in Budapest. The metal statues of Imre Varga can be seen in many public places, this collection shows a good selection of them. It’s somewhat off the beaten track for tourists, but you may combine your visit with another one to the Vasarely museum only a few hundred yards away, and it is well worth a half-day visit. On the way to the Imre Varga collection (just at the edge of Fö tér) you’ll walk by a group of lovely iron ladies with umbrellas – also made by Imre Varga. The collection itself is somewhat crowded, but the sculptures – most of them of well-known figures of past and present Hungarian public figures -are impressive. Don’t miss it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
294 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Fabulous sculptures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

On approaching we saw the figures sheltering under raised umbrellas so we knew we were close to this marvellous museum of sculptures. We were the only visitors at the time so we were able to move around quite relaxed and slowly appreciating the works of art.

There are some superb creations such as creatures in the form of a tree, a figure holding aloft jagged pieces of metal and the impressive St. Istvan (Stephan). The garden at the back has further pieces. We liked the figure reclining on a bench (possibly Newton) and the three figures with 2 women lying somewhat dissolutely on the ground.

Another day we visited the Dohány Street Great Synagogue where we saw the Memorial of the Hungarian Jewish Martyrs also by Varga. It is in the form of a weeping willow whose leaves honour the hundreds of thousands of Hungarian Jews murdered during WWII.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth going off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Wow, is all I can say. I am in love with Imre Varga's sculptures. They range in scope from religious and political commentary on the Holocaust and communist era, to realistic busts, to whimsical non-representational portraiture (check out the one of Cezanne, or the ballerina). All amazing, rich, soulful, and capturing the essence of his subject in a way that speaks to your soul. Don't miss it. If it's a nice day, walk to the far end of Margaret Island, cross the Arpad bridge into Obuda, and walk though the town square, till you reach the museum. If you're feeling lazy, take the HEV from Batthyany Ter. But GO!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Vradim, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Varga Imre exhibition - a hidden pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

It is a little off city center, but very recomended. You should take the green line train to OBUDA (old Buda), it is a 5 minutes ride, just across the northern part of Margete Island. There are a few old buildings, a famous fish resturant in which you can have lunch, and the small house in which the Gallery is located.
The metal statues of Varga are impressing, touching, and will stay with you for a lng time. The exhibition includes models of statues that ae placed in squares all over Europe, including the Vatican, and you can also see some of them in Budapest, like the one on the back of the Synagoge, in memory of the Holocost.
Recommended half-day trip. From there we took the train to St, Enders.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imre Varga Collection (Gyujtemeny) also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Imre Varga Collection (Gyujtemeny)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imre Varga Collection (Gyujtemeny), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.