We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit strange experience...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piknik Pavilon

Piknik Pavilon
15 Tarnok Utca | H-1014, Budapest, Hungary
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,044 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $2 - $22
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Piknik Pavilon is a more than a restaurant&deli. It is the home of traditional Hungarian delicacies. This premium quality kiosk is located in the middle of the Matthias Church park at Buda Castel Hill. You can definitely feel the special athmosphere of this historical district while you are eating marvellous and traditional Hungarian foods like homemade roasted sausages and Goulash soup or drinking great local wines. Our huge terrace is perfect for a rest after or before a trip. We have wide range of drinks from coffee specialities to various lemonades or local beverages. Our staff is fluent in English and they will kindly help you. See you soon!
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bit strange experience...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The place itself is very pleasantly designed, and you can see Mátyás Church from you seat. For dinner, we ate a meat salad (chicken, eggs, apple, tomato and salad) with baguette, it was wonderful! For drink we ordered Rosé Spritzer. We thought the place was perfect by all means, but then... First of all, the lights went off several times. Then, the staff suddenly started to put up the chairs, taking in the flowers from the empty tables, etc. as if they were about to close. It was only 10.30 pm, so we asked the waiter when did they close. He said it differs. (I checked it later, their facebook page says they close at midnight). So we sat there for about half an hour more, but when the cook and several waiters left the place (quite conspicuously, in my opinion), we decided to leave as well. If you are not bothered easily by such things, I would recommend the place. But if you like to be served as you payed for it, well I do not suggest to go there for dinner...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKata, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Piknik Pavilon, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Eva S,

First of all we would like to say thank you for your rewiev.
We take very seriously the reviews from our guests and we are sorry if you felt a bit uncomfortable at our restaurant.
If you don't mind, we would like to explain a few things.
There are some government regulation what we have to follow. One of these is turning the background music down on the terrace after 10 PM. That's why we turn it down when you where there.
Furthermore we have a big staff, with more than one cook and waiter. If there are a few guests and we are going to close in the next hours, we let some employee go home, because they are in hourly rate.
As we know our staff really started to pack up, but in the background and not in the guest area.
After all thank you for sharing your experience and we are going to pay more attention to these things.
Hope we see you later!

Kind regards,
Piknik Pavilon Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    13
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Romance and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice plate with cold snacks for two, good en fast service with polite waiters. They advised us in the food that we realy enjoyd this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fenomenal -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

real local taste, typically Hungarian food, charismatic place... the owners are sweet and funny people, welcoming everyone, they are in this business for more than 20 years, they had the famous Nincs Pardon (No Pardon) bar in central Pest, the Szepare bistro...high quality design and amazing food...I don't need more...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous kiosk in the historical downtown of Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Piknik Pavilon is definitely one of the best restaurants in the Buda Castle Hill.
We ate fantastic wild game and Hungarian deli plate with some great local wine. The huge terrace in the middle of the park just few steps far from Matthias Church is a really special place where you can take a rest after sightseeing. The staff is really-really so kind and they speak fluent English. We really enjoyed our time there, so don't miss the opportunity to visit this great place if you are at Budapest!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Terrible customer service. Staff incredibly unhelpful and ignorant. Really unpleasant experience. Do not pay to use their toilets!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKata, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Piknik Pavilon, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
First of all thank you for sharing your honest opinion.
We take reviews of our guests very seriously and we are sorry if you felt uncomfortable at our restaurant.
We would be so glad if you could help our work and try to remember when was this and how the waiter/waitress looked like who served you.
After your answer we could thoroughly investigate what happened.
You don't have to pay to use our toilets. It is free for our guests!
Kind regards,
Piknik Pavilon Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piknik Pavilon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Piknik Pavilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piknik Pavilon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.