We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and strange” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Oriental Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fay Street 61, Budapest 1135, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average and strange”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel had the best times when nearby there was a Chinese market. But now now it is a little thrown. The strangest here is the breakfast menu. We lived 18 days in this hotel and every day have been compelled to ask on reception cards for a breakfast :) But rooms are spacious. And if you are not disturbed by necessity to reach to city center for half an hour that is possible to live there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    13
    31
See reviews for
5
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beograd,Serbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Don't go there if you have better solultions, not perfect location for sure, hotel inside is pretty spooky, very old-fashioned, without positive meanings. The worst of all, if you stay there during the period of excursion inviders, your nights will be sleepless.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

A visit to Budapest is to be recommended. A beautiful city, wonderful sights( the Danube cruise at night excellent ) The residents are most helpful & english is spoken bt all. The hotel is a short distance from the city, but trams and buses stop just outside the hotel which is clean and confortable, breakfast ok. We ate in the town and got back to hotel about 10.30pm would go back to the hotel value for money Cold at night but you get a blanket at most of the pubs and they have gas heaters

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

a large group of 15 family and friends stopped at this hotel, we loved the food , it was great that it was cooked to order, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were good, lovely hot showers and warm rooms, had very good links to the centre and nothing was to much trouble for the staff, we will be returning with a larger group this year as a lot of our friends stopped at the ibis and said the service was terrible, money doesnt buy everything .

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

I stayed five nights in Hotel Oriental in March 2008 with my wife. The room was a basic level room. For TV we didn´t find any remote control. Temperature was OK ( it was some + 10 C degrees outside). I asked for sauna as we arrived, but t was told to be "out of order". No problem, it would have cost 7 €/person/hour. Personal was very helpful and friendly people. Breakfast was Ok, but we normally took only coffee with bread and jam, since all the sallads, sausages etc were so "exotic/ national" for our taste. Also we didn´t find any mysli, youghurt, fresh vegetables, fruits etc. what you normally can expect. But pizzas in the same restaurant in the evening were cheap and tasty. The location is in suburbs, but if you only use the hotel for sleeping, this is a cheap choice. Bus connection to e.g. Schechnyi bats goes directly next to the hotel. To Metro M3 station Forgach you have to walk some 500 meters.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — breakfast wa quite poor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

This hotel was awful and cheap. Apart from being located in a very weird-looking area of Budapest, it was cold... I practically froze under my blanket (it was the end of December and there were approx. 10 degrees Celsius in the room). The only good thing about this hotel: the food was great.

  • Liked — The food.
  • Disliked — The cold.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimäki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

Hotel was OK, rooms were quite tidy but no A/C was a big problem when you have +36 degrees outside. Breakfast wasnt, at least to my scandinavian taste, so good but at least there was one. Hotel staff was VERY polite and helpfull! The neighbourhood wasnt too bad to my opinion. I was there 5 days with my girlfriend and at least we didnt have any problems. I didnt see that anyone else had them either. Of course the location isnt the best one ( takes approx 15 minutes to city centre with bus etc) but at least this hotel is cheaper than those in the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: Fay Street 61, Budapest 1135, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.