We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, beautiful place, excelente service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baltazar Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Baltazar Budapest to your Saves list
Baltazar Budapest
Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Greenville, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, beautiful place, excelente service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 3 days in Baltazar Budapest Hotel. I would personally not stay in any other hotel in Budapest, Baltazar is the best no question ask!!! Located at the beautiful castle district within waling distance to the metro station. You could spend the day going out and about in the city, then come back to the hotel area, have a nice dinner and walk around the hotel surroundings. The hotel is a beautiful, well designed and maintained boutique with superb service, the staff is very helpful and the service in general exceeded my expectation. The icing on the cake, the restaurant, nothing to say.......you have to try it!!!! Kuddos for the hotel manager, he is always there going the extra mile to help and give the best service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
126
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

From the bright red awning you see from afar, one feels welcome and comfortable. The staff members like Daniel and Agnes, as well as Manager Kalman, make this place the totally relaxed, attentive, warm place it is. The restaurant choices, especially for breakfast, could vary some more, the location is way out of the way, and some tightening of housekeeping routines could improve this really Wonderful hotel. Everyone, starting from Lilla in reservations, really made one feel deserving of a very nice stay at a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Eleven rooms - trust them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Baltazar Hotel in Budapest is the only hotel that I have felt compelled to write a review before checking out. I love boutique hotels and the Baltazar is the reason why. I have stayed at many five star hotels including the Mandarin Oriental and this boutique hotel is even better. There is a genuine friendliness with the management and staff and they try very hard to make our stay fantastic. There is nothing better than travelling far and then checking into a hotel that feels like home, but with the best amenities. I love the hotel room's layout. It is not a huge room but the layout and decor is done very well. We have a view of the cathedral and it is beautiful at night. The windows keep any street noise out, not that there is very much street noise to begin with. Our room also looks out to the archives museum which adds a lot of charm to the place. The bed is firm and super comfortable. Lastly, I love the l'occitane products. Many places don't provide conditioner but this one has top of the line products on top of that. It is really easy to get into Pest as well. A simple bus ride 5-10 minutes takes you right into Pest and it is just around the corner from the hotel, a one minute walk. Finally, we have eaten at the restaurant twice and it is reasonably priced. The food is very fresh and delicious. It is better than the ones recommended by our tour book. I can't think of anything negative to say and would not be surprised if this became the number one hotel soon. I would highly recommend this place ... No need to look any further. Believe All the other five star reviews-this place is the real deal but at an extremely fair and reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our stay was exactly what we wanted in terms of decor, service and location. Lovely. We will come back and we hope to bring friends but it is a boutique hotel of approximately 21 rooms. We hope every trip to Budapest includes a night here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Baltazar over Easter weekend. It was fantastic. The boutique feel was perfect for a romantic weekend. The room was a good size, beautifully decorated, very unique! Large and comfortable bed, a seating area and the bathroom was well designed, modern and spotless. Overlooking an internal courtyard and completely quiet. Full size L'Occitane toiletries provided. Plenty of storage, flat screen TV (that we never used!), and a bluetooth music player that you can use with your iphone (that we did!). Overall, truly excellent five star quality room that was a pleasure to come back to at night. But the real pull of this place is the experience - it's perfectly located in the romantic cobbled area of old town Buda, away from the bulk of the tourists. Wandering down to Fisherman's Bastion at night was a real pleasure! Oh - and reception is a bar, ideal for a nightcap of Tokaji. :) The staff were absolutely fantastic - we had a disaster with our taxi on the way there that potentially could have wrecked our weekend, and the concierge just took over and sorted everything out for us. The restaurant is great, (lovely breakfast if a little pricey) but do try the other restaurants that the group own - we tried Pest-Buda, Pierrot, 21 and Spiler and loved all of them for different reasons. 21 was my favourite. Having dropped by the Marriott for a drink while waiting for a river cruise, I am so glad we chose to stay here!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Baltazar is a boutique hotel, which strikes you not only with its outstanding appearance and design but with this extraordinary vibe which runs through the place. The service was excellent, friendly and just there when you need them. I felt like home. May be the only drawback would be that it is on top of the Buda side and you would have to travel a bit longer to get to the Pest where most bars and restaurants are.

Room Tip: Room 42 is my favorite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We visited Budapest and stayed at this hotel which was fantastic. We travelled with our 9 yr old and were impressed. Fantastic staff plus beautiful and modern rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the room spacious, bathroom was very modern and clean. The area is great and the property is very modern as well. WE loved the open kitchen and the restaurant, food was delicious. The surroundings of the property are gorgeous with the Castle and St Matias church nearby. The staff was very nice and warm welcoming. The hotel has three other restaurants nearby which are excellent. I highly recommend this place if you want to visit and spend a long weekend or a week in Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltazar Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest

Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Baltazar Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltazar Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.