We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hungarian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aszu Etterem

Aszu Etterem
Sas utca 4., Budapest 1051, Hungary
3613280360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #722 of 1,582 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: What can you expect at Aszú?We strive to be what we set out to be: a purveyor of modern cuisine that understands it's sources, while gazing out from Tokaj upon the world. Where the wine list offers numerous special selections exclusively to our establishment. Where service means painstaking attention to courtesy in every detail...where the artistically carved and gilded wooden interior plays an integral part in the concept, that will make your evening an unforgettable experience. Have our efforts been crowned with success? Come and see yourself! We will be expecting you!
Hexham
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Modern Hungarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This modern restaurant gives you an interesting choice of dishes with some unusual combinations of ingredients. The staff are very friendly and efficient and helpful to those who are new Hungarian cuisine. There was a lack of atmosphere in the restaurant mainly due to there not being many diners.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here! It was a complete delight to read that you had a fantastic time with us! Your praising words ensured us, that we are on the right way. Quality is our first priority, and I am very grateful that our work has been appreciated. It would be honestly a privilige to host you again, when you are next in Budapest.

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    126
    55
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner at the end of our Christmas Market Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Dinner at Aszu was superb. Our wait staff was very attentive and and quite helpful in answering all of our questions about the menu. The wild boar that we both had was delicious as was the mushroom soup that I had for an appetizer. Everything about our evening at Aszu was wonderful down to the doorman who offered to take our pictures in front of the restaurant as we left. Our evening at Aszu was at the end of our Christmas Market Cruise and extension in Budapest and was a perfect end to our fabulous trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice a feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thankyou Santa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our group of 4 enjoyed a wonderful Christmas lunch experience at Aszu. Beautiful interior, very attentive staff, waitress had excellent wine knowledge and helped us choose our way through 5 bottles of wonderful Hungarian wine, and last but not least… the food, interesting and innovative. The portion sizes for our long lazy 5 course lunch were just right.
We lingered over our lunch for 5 hours, and this was perfectly fine with the staff, even once the restaurant started to quickly fill with dinner guests. ASZU was the highlight of our Budapest eating choices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences regarding to our restaurant!
It was a complete delight to read your kind thoughts. We strive to provide excellence for our guests in every way, and I can see that we have exceeded your expectations! Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that you were satisfied with our services. I am looking forward to your next visit to Aszú Étterem!

With kind regards,
ANita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ok food, nothing special, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nouvelle cuisine with prefabricated desserts. OK food, small portions.

The responsible waiter is changing all the times, no assignments to tables or tasks, as I could tell.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Roman or Competitor Restaurant,

This review was first posted on July 13th, one and a half month after our opening. We have reported our problem with the originalility and irrelevancy of your review on the very next day. Thanks for the correction and professionality of the TripAdvisor team, your review was succesfully removed from our page. Long after this, before Christmas, you have corrected some details, and have reposted here. Interesting that first time you gave average, this time you have given poor. Of course we have reported our problem again, and the TripAdvisor team removed your "kind" review again, with irrelevancy. The very next day, you posted it again, changing some of your words... I hope you will understand, that we don't want to react to your feedback, as it can't be taken as an original experience of yours. We know everyone has to take a sum of his own conscience, I personally hope that once, you will do the same. We are going to continue our hard work, with doing our best, in this small family business of ours, and we strongly believe, that all of this hard work will be rewarded with happy and satisfied guest. This is our aim, nothing more.

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I did a Christmas market cruise on the Danube River that ended in Budapest, where we stayed a few extra days before flying back to the U.S. After we had booked our flights, we learned that much of Budapest is "closed" on Christmas Eve, including restaurants. Given that December 24 is also my husband's birthday, I started researching restaurants and emailing about December 24 hours. Aszu Etterem responded that they would be open and even asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. It turned out to be the perfect choice. The restaurant is gorgeous, the food was delicious, the service was top notch, and at the end of the meal (after ordering and consuming our desserts), my hustand and I were given a third dessert, complete with a birthday candle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! It was our pleasure to host you in our restaurant on Christmas Eve! I am glad, that you have found everything perfect, all the staff will be very happy, that their work has been so much appreciated! I am looking forward to your next visit to the Aszú Étterem!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aszu Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Aszu Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aszu Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.