We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely satisfying!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ES Bisztro

ES Bisztro
Deak Ferenc utca 12., Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 1 429 3990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 1,987 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Grill, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Az ÉS egy laza magyar vendéglő és pecsenyesütöde, ahol a hagyományos éttermi formai megkötésektől mentesen is jól érezheted magad sörözés, borozás, beszélgetés közben falatozgatva. A klasszikus magyar fogások mellett izgalmas falatozós ételeket alkottunk, emellett húsokat, halakat grillezünk. A már ismert monarchiabeli ételek, különleges grillek ÉS falatok mellett izgalmas bor- ÉS kézműves sörválaszték vár. ***Wine bar, beer pub, terrace, bistro, restaurant, brasserie. In ÉS you don’t need to have traditional dishes and follow dining traditions. The menu has three separate parts: nibbles to share, typical dishes of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy and grilled meat and fish. A unique, unconventional wine and beer selection rounds off this delicious gastro experience. Breaking with the formality of dining traditions, i.e., the sequence of starter, main course and dessert, guests can have nibbles while enjoying a glass of wine or beer. Night and day. With friends and family.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Completely satisfying!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A contemporary styled bistro/restaurant with excellent wine selection, food and service. The staff are friendly. We had the rump steak with truffle mash and grilled season vegetables. Enjoy quality food in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    84
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good for a quick lunch or socializing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at Kempinski Hotel, that is why it was easy for us to dine at ES.
Good beef tartar, duck-lever burger, spare-ribs.
Good lunch place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trendy, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were with a group of 5 friends at lunchtime. A rather new but very nice restaurant. Staff is very friendly, we had very good food. The setting is very hip amd trendy and seems to cater to businesspeople (possibly given its location in the Kandinski hotel), which is a quality label too. Definetely recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Only had the breakfast due to the fact that we were staying at the Kempinski and it's in the Kempinski. But very nice spread!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Looking for dinner on a Tuesday night we came upon Es and stopped in to see if we could be seated. They were fairly full and had a table available that would be needed within a 90 minute window for a large party... we opted to take it and if needed would forego dessert. The waitstaff was actually quite fun and we had a great interaction with them them throughout the entire meal. We had a delicious Riesling to start... the meal that followed was delicious every step of the way. We realized our time was almost up and decided to move to the bar for dessert and an after dinner drink... loved it! Thank you Es...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ES Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to ES Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ES Bisztro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.