We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than air conditioning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilvax Bisztro

Pilvax Bisztro
Pilvax koz 3 | Only 500 meters away from the Vaci Street, main tourist area, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 1 266 0293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #324 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $20 - $52
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Budapest sights of the city center Pilvax is an important event in the history of Hungary was the scene of a traditional restaurant, cafe was justly famous. The old restaurant from 1841 until 2009 and then forgotten. Bearing in mind the restaurant's inner values, preserving the historic character of the interior of a push for renewal, transformation and re-opened, as Pilvax Bisztro. Our menu offerings are used in domestic and international cuisine. Very important to us in good quality and healthy choice of materials: the Mangalica, Lake Balaton pike perch and trout, the goose liver are all materials that are in the world kitchens are welcome. In our shoppers a selection of quality wines to choose from, the country's famous and less well-known products of wine makers. We want you to be handled with care and competent hands prepared food served on quality service and an unforgettable experience for us would be spending a few hours. Working on this every day...
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“better than air conditioning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Budapest was unseasonably hot, and we ducked into this establishment for a break one afternoon when we noticed it was air conditioned. We had only planned on a cool drink but ended up ordering a meal. The first surprise was that the drinks came with adequate ice. A boon for Americans! The food was the best we had in Budapest; presentation was creative, service personal. We were just sorry it was discovered at the end of our visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan T, Manager at Pilvax Bisztro, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed your time in our Restaurant and were very satisfied with the meal you had. Our Chef and his entire team always pay special attention on the quality and presentation of the dishes they prepare. It is our hope that you will return and have more of their delicious creations.

With kind regards,
Zoltán Tábori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    36
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Pilvax has indoor and outdoor seating. We found the Hungarian food to be very good and reasonably priced. There were smoking and non-smoking areas. The waiters were very friendly and service was very good. Menus are printed in Hungarian with English sub-titles. A 13% service charge is automatically added to your bill and this is clearly stated on the menu. Credit cards are accepted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan T, Manager at Pilvax Bisztro, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice a feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Zoltán Tábori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal here with a choice of Hungarian and non-Hungarian cuisine. Service was very friendly and quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan T, Manager at Pilvax Bisztro, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here! It was a complete delight to read that you had a fantastic time with us! Your praising words ensured us, that we are on the right way. Quality is our first priority, and I am very grateful that our work has been appreciated. It would be honestly a privilige to host you again, when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Zoltán Tábori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Dining experience was superb..staff very friendly, food delicious & well presented..beef cheek stew and grilled gooseliver were amazing..local wine was excellent..would go back..highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan T, Manager at Pilvax Bisztro, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time, and sharing your honorific review here! I was delighted to read that you had a great time with us. My team will be more than happy to know, that their work has been so much appreciated. It would be great if we could host you again in the Pilvax Bisztró!

With kind regards,
Zoltán Tábori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food so good that we had to go twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband did a lot of research before we went to Budapest and was pretty adamant that we had to try this place. We set out on our second night, in the middle of a snowstorm, and finally made it. I'm glad that we did. Our meal was amazing and such a great deal, even with a full bottle of wine and after dinner drinks. The atmosphere was casual, so you didn't feel bad that you were maybe in jeans and still a bit jet-lagged. The service was friendly and beyond efficient, without being intrusive. We came back here our last night too just because we could not stop thinking about it. I thought that what they did really well were their sauces. All of the meat we had was perfectly cooked, but it was the sauces on the plate that pushed it to the next level. We could have licked our plates (but didn't!). We will go back to Budapest just to eat here again. And I will be surprised if they don't have a Michelin Star, or at the very least Bib Gourmand recognition.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan T, Manager at Pilvax Bisztro, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priotity, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Zoltán Tábori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilvax Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pilvax Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilvax Bisztro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.