We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangalica Pork!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar

KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar
Oktober 6. u. 15, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 1 788 1685
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New York style Steakhouse in the heart of Budapest, near the Basilica. Proudly serving USDA Prime Black Angus cuts dry aged on premises, BMS 9+ Wagyu beef from Australia, Hungarian Mangalica pork, Bahamian rock lobster tails, Scottish salmon, Joselito Gran Reserva ham, etc. Our wine list offers beside the most important Hungarian wines an extensive selection of the world's most important wine regions.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mangalica Pork!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The restaurant's name says it's "American Steakhouse", but the place is about way much more than just American steak. The menu offers serious quality continental cuisine including meat, seafood, and vegetable dishes. The must have dish is their grilled bone-in Mangalica Pork loin...Hungary's finest could be world's best! It was the most succulent and flavorful pork I've ever had. KNRDY also offers impressive international wine list with top wines from Hungary.

The space is modern and beautiful. Service was excellent. It was truly a memorable dining experience and made me feel I had the best "slice" of Hungary in this short visit in town. Now I can say I had the best Mangalica pork in Budapest!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    54
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“fantastic vibe ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fantastic vibe, fantastic service and the food is very excellent! Everything on the menu is exceptional!! Great champagne selection and some fine wines, whiskies and other spirits. The design and decoration is comfortable and elegant. It may be expensive, but it is definitely worth it. :-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Best steak in Hungary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First of all the owner is a "meat-maniac" which is always a good sign... The restaurant has a very special selection of steaks and also a special selection of mangalica. International staff, friendly, professional service, eye-catching design and great atmosphere. If you like good meat, this place is a must...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant food and eye-catching design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Me and my English friends regularly visit the newly opened restaurants in Budapest.
The unique interior design has set the bar high in the KNRDY. We were hoping the food will also hit the international standards. I must tell, the menu outperformed our expectations. Although the restaurant calls itself a steak house, the fish supply is also inviting.
The fisherman’s chowder was an orgy of flavor and just pleasantly spicy. I had seared king scallops on cumin and coriander lentils as a main course. It was just amazing. I have experimented with the recipe since then. :)
Well, prices are much higher than average in Budapest, but the quality should be paid.
I'll visit from time to time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice good Quality Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is supposed to be new, so we decided to give it a shot...Need to mention that service was very very friendly....Despite the fact that we were kind of disappointed with the appetizer (Tartar steak), we kind of hoped that the steak that we ordered would be much better....and we were right.....meat was very nice and tender....apparently from Argentina....I've been to Argentina last year, and this steak was very close to it....will definitely come back....good job...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Owner at KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Maxximus 99,

First of all let me thank you for visiting our restaurant. Also thanks for the kind review. Please help us improving by letting us know what did you find disappointing in our steak tartare.

Best,

Zoltan Konrady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.