We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kispiac Bisztro

Kispiac Bisztro
Hold utca 13., Budapest, Hungary
+36 1 269 4231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

As others have testified this restaurant is quite special, it is very small and it's clientele are mainly locals but as a visitor you will not get a warmer welcome. My wife and I ate at Kispiac Bisztro on a Thursday night and the place was full so we like other would highly recommend booking. We had a great meal of dishes which we had not experienced before and this was complimented by superb, friendly and helpful service. We both had a 3 course meal with wine, I had the veal neck for the main course and my wife had the half duck both were exceptional. I could go on and on about the qualities of this restaurant but will stop now and just say it is a must if visiting Budapest and an experience we will never forget.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    80
    15
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really fabulous. Small and intimate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had 2 meals at Kispiac while in Budapest and both were genuinely fabulous. It punches significantly above its weight with food and wine of a quality that you'd expect to get at an expensive restaurant but at a very reasonable price.

The service was exceptionally helpful and all 3 wines recommended were excellent.

I'm a vegetarian and while the options were very limited the staff were helpful and happy to check with the kitchen about what was in every dish.

My boyfriend is an enthusiastic meat eater and says both meals were the best he has ever eaten.

It's sounds gushing but we really couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Simply delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I went there 2 weeks ago and I have to say that I'm still remembering the roasted duck! It was just perfectly cooked. As starter I opted for the Goulash soup equally delicious. Everything was accompained by a glass of red house wine. Perfect... after a stressful day it's what you need. Place is very clean and great service in a quite atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

After using tripadvisor all over the world I decided to try it in my city. I booked a table for 8 for my brother bday family lunch. The restaurant located next to a small market and have a feeling like no other I have visited in Bp. The food was very good but mostly very heavy not for people in diet :)
Service was very good and friendly. You can feel its a family business.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great intimate family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant on our stay in Budapest. We decided on visiting after seeing all the good reviews and the lovely photos on Facebook of all the meat.
Let me say we're not disappointed one bit. We didn't book until the day and we didn't have any problems but I would recommend booking as the bistro only has about 8 tables and is very small. When we arrived there were only two free tables but by the time we finished there were none and a couple were waiting to be seated.
The service was brilliant, all the staff accommodated speaking to us in English and explained the goose menu that was not in English on the board. There isn't a big menu which is great and it's all freshly cooked per order. I went for the goose leg with mash potato and my husband went for half a chicken with mash.
While we waiting we could smell it being cooked and we didn't have to wait long. It arrived and was nicely presented, the skin on both the goose and chicken was beautiful, seasoned to perfection and so crispy. I didn't think it would fill me up but the amount of meat was amazing, we were stuffed with no room for pudding.
In all this meal cost £22 English pounds which was two glasses of prosecco and two mains with a plate of pickles and a coffee to finish, the quality was excellent. Such a lovely little bistro with a great atmosphere. We would highly recommend this little gem!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kispiac Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kispiac Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kispiac Bisztro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.