We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Rooms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Rooms to your Saves list
City Rooms
Veres Palne utca 5., Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It was a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very average hostel. Free wifi, a small kitchen with a sink and washing machine and clean toilets, sheets and towels. However, we only saw the receptionist once when we were there and we were overcharged for our room when she exchanged the price given on the website into forints. Very average rooms and a lot of dust I noticed. Best part was the location, right near a great pub called For Sale Pub and the bridge. It was just right for me and my friend only staying 4 nights for a short city break.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

-Location is good and room is clean, but

Rude and impolite reception
-Charged 20 euro more for a half an hour late check-in, which is due to the bus delay
-No hot water in WINTER
-Always nobody present in the reception

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

It was my first time in a hostel and I didn't know what to expect but I'm very pleased. Very convenient location right in the middle of Pest, next to Vaci utca and the metro. Good neighborhood also. The hostel was clean and the room was comfortable. Good to have wifi and laundry services. Generally great value for money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

City rooms had the perfect location for the activities me and my girlfriend undertook. Downside of the hostel can be the long stairs up although it was no problem for us as we traveled light. We had a cozy little room with a fan, fridge and large bed. This all made our stay as expected. The owner is quite flexible with the check in and out.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Although the stairs are very long, (it is based on the 3rd floor) and the flights frequently turn off whilst climbing up, the hostel itself it very nice. The rooms and bathroom were fairly clean and the access to a basic kitchen was very helpful. It isn't a sociable place and acts more like an room apartment. But the location is perfect and there is a very nice local restaurant/bar just 15m down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a flat converted into a number of bedrooms with a shared shower room and toilet,two extra toilets and two extra showers as well as cooking/washing up facilities. We liked the location, the cooler in the room, the powerful hot showers and we were perfectly comfortable. The place was full but there were enough facilities that we did not have to queue.
We struggled a bit with the stairs, 3 floors up, and were glad we had virtually no luggage. We found it difficult to have to say several days in advance what time we would arrive, and would also have prefurred to get in straight away when we did, although to be fair we were earlier than we had said. It was kind of them to let us leave our bags and keep the keys after we left our room so we could use our last day then pick up our things post the keys back and go to catch our evening flight.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Dont look for glamour and luxury at City Rooms in Budapest. Actualy it is more a hostel than a hotel. The rooms are very basic with a bed, a table, a chair and a TV, that´s it.... But the place is clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff are friendly, and that is just what i need to have a nice sleep. There is a nice pantry where you can make coffe and simple cooking.
Showers and toiletts are shared, but no problems with that, it was clean and showers with lots of hot water.
The stairs up to the place was a bit long but gave me good exersice. But it is no place if you are handicaped or have problems with stairs.
The absolutley best with City Rooms is the situation just in the heart of Budapest with walking distance to museums, shopping, the famous baths, restaurants and all the places you want to see. Close to the Ferenc Place with metro, buses and the tram. Easy to come to the Airport.
This is the place i will stay when i come back to Budapest wich i am planning to do very soon again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Rooms

Address: Veres Palne utca 5., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your City Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.